Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cakes & Decorating
Womens Weekly has been around forever!i think this book is pure magic,i love baking and do cakes over the year for different occasions,when you open this book it is pure class from the outset layed out into 3 chapters, the first being the easy chapter where little or no experience is needed to the second chapter where some skill may be needed to the third where you need...
Published on 25 Nov. 2012 by C. I. Smith

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Book
This book is lovely; hardback with good quality images throughout. It is full of beautiful ideas and step-by-step photographs to help you recreate them. It is separated into three sections, that take the reader through cake decoration from easy to difficult levels. In all honesty, the majority of readers would need to stay with the first two sections for quite some time...
Published on 24 April 2013 by H. Pierce


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 410 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for complete novices, 21 Nov. 2012
By 
Voracious for Books "Voraciousforbooks" (South London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Decorating Cakes: Cake decorating for every occasion: from simple to elaborate and weddings to special birthdays (The Australian Women's Weekly) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I can bake, but as those who have attended my children's parties can testify, I am about as able with an icing gun as a three year old. I've had to get crafty in other ways to decorate cakes.

This book is perfect for those who have taken classes in cake decorating and sugar craft and wish to have some new ideas about projects they can do to add to their skills. The pictures are gorgeous, and the designs are superb but since I dislike the taste of regal icing and am cack-handed with an icing gun, I'll leave this to those who know what they are doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too hardcore for me, 27 Nov. 2012
By 
Emma W (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Decorating Cakes: Cake decorating for every occasion: from simple to elaborate and weddings to special birthdays (The Australian Women's Weekly) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
When I chose this book, I was hoping for something that would show me how to whip up a nice informal cake and decorate it simply and quickly but prettily with a coat of buttercream and maybe some chocolate buttons or Maltesers - the kind of thing the children might be able to help with. I had thought the cake you see on the front cover would be the big finale - something you make for a very special occasion! What I got is a little more serious than I was really hoping for, at least for now.

It is presented beautifully, the photography is well done and the end results look stunning. If you are planning to make a wedding cake or similar - something immaculately iced which looks too good to eat, this book would be a really good buy as all the cakes are of that kind of ilk. All the cakes look like they require a bit of time and patience or at least some cake decorating experience to achieve the results you see on the pages. I have only picked up an icing bag three times in my life so I found it all a bit intimidating (and dare I say it, a little a bit too perfect).

If you are looking for inspiration for children's birthday cakes, every day cakes or that kind of thing, or you don't have a lot of time on your hands to practice the techniques, this is probably not the kind of thing you are after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Icing on the Cake - but not for the inexperienced!, 14 April 2013
By 
BusyReader "mrs28" (Midlands UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Decorating Cakes: Cake decorating for every occasion: from simple to elaborate and weddings to special birthdays (The Australian Women's Weekly) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
What a beautiful book - great colour photos of all of the finished cakes , and of elements of sugar craft and icing techniques in step by step detail and are all so beautifully crafted they are almost too beautiful to eat!!

The book is nicely sectioned into Easy, Experienced , Expert and The Mechanics section, and contains explanations of baking and decorating from simple cupcakes and biscuits, to wonderous tiered confections and celebration cakes for all occasions; and within the Mechanics section there are pages of tips and advice and the specific cake recipes with quantities for varying sizes and shapes of cake tin, and of quantities to cover them when baked. Recipes are included for ganache, frostings, "fluffy frosting" and icing , almond and sugar pastes and fondant and more , all beautifully sickly sticky sweet!!!

I particularly liked the hyacinth cupcakes which look stunning , the white and dark chocolate brownie wedding cakes and the chocolate box cake. Yum Yum .
I am a fairly experienced cake baker but have only lightly dipped my wooden spoon in the bowl of fancy icing (!!) and thus would certainly need practice to make some of even the novice cakes . It's a useful book to own and to inspire and I can certainly see I might use some of the ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Scary to look at but actually not that hard, 8 Feb. 2013
By 
Suzanne Moore "Suzanne" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Decorating Cakes: Cake decorating for every occasion: from simple to elaborate and weddings to special birthdays (The Australian Women's Weekly) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I like this book as it breaks down the making of the cakes into very easy steps, the instructions are easy to follow and clear. They also explain that practice makes perfect and have split the book into three chapters, easy, experienced and expert. The decorations in the expert chapter are quite scary.
There is a section at the mechanics which explains the basics stuff such as making almond paste, piping and tubing, melting chocolate, sugar syrups as well stacking and supporting tiers and preparing cakes for stacking. This is a hand section and whenever anything is mentioned about this techniques they give you the page number at the back. There is also a list of ingredients for several different cakes at the back of the book with different measurements for different tin sizes.

The only reason I haven't given this book five stars is because you need a lot of expensive equipment for some of these cakes which put trying them out of my range for the moment maybe if i win the lottery and can get a bigger kitchen.
The book is beautifully presented with clear pictures and a lovely finish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply stunning, 18 Mar. 2013
By 
Katfishh (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Decorating Cakes: Cake decorating for every occasion: from simple to elaborate and weddings to special birthdays (The Australian Women's Weekly) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is one of the most inspirational and stunning cake decorating books I have ever read.

It a very large hard cover coffee table book with stunning designs and illustrations. These are quite different to anything I have ever seen before and are on another level. There are designs in here that would not look out of place at a high society wedding or other major event.

The designs are in sections graded from easy, experienced to expert, and the focus is on design rather than recipes. The recipes are for basic cakes (tasty ones too) are are contained in a clever table where you look up the size of your cake tins and can easily see what you need for various sizes. There is a good section of these basics such as fruit cake, carrot cake, white and dark chocolate, coconut cake,and simple butter cake.

Cakes like these would cost you an absolute fortune to buy in the top stores, so how wonderful to be able to make them. If you love decorating and are catering for a very special event- this wonderful book will not dissapoint. Its quite simply beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 28 Jan. 2013
By 
HJK (Gomersal UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Decorating Cakes: Cake decorating for every occasion: from simple to elaborate and weddings to special birthdays (The Australian Women's Weekly) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Wonderful book - Gorgeous photographs - full of great ideas - big and small.

This book is inspirational - even if you do not intend to make huge celebration cakes - there are ideas here that you can use for small cakes, buns/cupcakes & biscuits - looking at the pictures makes you want to get baking & decorating straight away.

The book is divided into several sections:

Easy
Experienced
Expert

These cover many different types of cake decorating using: butter cream, frosting, almond paste, Royal icing, chocolate & piping - at different levels of skill. There are a variety of shapes and sizes.

Then there is a section called - The MECHANICS - this is most useful as it covers: 7 different cake recipes which are used in the book, adapting recipes for different cake tins, different types of cake coverings, piping techniques, assembling cakes and equipment needed.

Then there is a Glossary of terms.

The book is very detailed & comprehensive and just lovely to look at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational Ideas, 24 Jan. 2013
By 
Alison "Kindle Allie" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Decorating Cakes: Cake decorating for every occasion: from simple to elaborate and weddings to special birthdays (The Australian Women's Weekly) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is packed full of wonderful ideas, illustrated by gorgeous photography and lovely graphic design. The book is structured into an introduction, an easy section, an experienced section, an expert section, the mechanics of how to decorate cakes, a glossary, a conversion chart and index.

The mechanics section gives recipes for different cakes and the quantities depending on the size of tin that you are using, so it's highly adaptable to whatever you want to make. Cake pans, cake boards, ganache, tiers, icing, almond paste, butter cream, frosting, piping bags, chocolate are explained (along with photographs). Equipment is photographed with everything labelled.

Each cake (or collection of cakes) is photographed as a whole and as a close-up or slice detail. Equipment, ingredients and decoration are all listed and some of the technical aspects are photographed with some short explanation. Each recipe looks stunning and immaculately made and decorated.

It really is a lovely book with some fabulous ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely to look at, 19 April 2013
By 
Ms. M. Cheung (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Decorating Cakes: Cake decorating for every occasion: from simple to elaborate and weddings to special birthdays (The Australian Women's Weekly) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a gorgeous, gorgeous book, full of great-looking cakes all filled with wonderful detail. I have spent a fair bit of time just poring over the pages and drinking in the fantastic photos of the beautiful cakes.

As for making any of the cakes......well, maybe not. Many of them require specialist tools or equipment. It was also off-putting to be given the recipe in Australian measurements, which I concede is not a major fault, but it is still a grating irritation. I would also have liked to see more step-by-step photos for beginners like me, but I guess the target market for this book is people with quite a few years of cake-decorating experience.

If you are one of those people with several years of cake-decorating experience and you already have a lot of the specialist tools and equipment at home, then this is a great recipe book. If you don't have any experience and lack the required utensils, then this is a great coffee table book (one that would make you quite hungry perhaps).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Decorating Cakes: Cake Decorating for Every Occasion From Cupcakes to Three Tiered Triumphs. (Australian Women's Weekly), 25 Mar. 2013
By 
This review is from: Decorating Cakes: Cake decorating for every occasion: from simple to elaborate and weddings to special birthdays (The Australian Women's Weekly) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As with all Australian Womens Weekly publications you cannot fault this one for quality, the images and the recipes are all faultless. My reason for giving this book 4 out of 5 is that i think that some of the cakse are completely out of my league and actually a little intimidating. They are all really beautiful but not something i think i could make without getting very stressed.

There is one brilliant thing that i really loved about this book and that is at the end of the book there are different recipes for different sized cakes. I love this! I'm always worried when i'm up or down scaling a cake that i'll get the ingredients a little bit wrong or the cooking time wrong meaning i get a dry or a not cooked cake. This little bit of information at the end of the book is really valuable to me as a baker.

I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who is after making their own wedding cake or wants ideas in this area. This is not a cake decorating book for your kids birthday party.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good book but quite advanced, 15 Feb. 2013
By 
I. Clarke "isabellaclarke" (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Decorating Cakes: Cake decorating for every occasion: from simple to elaborate and weddings to special birthdays (The Australian Women's Weekly) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Decorating cakes is a great book - but very advanced for an amateur like me. The cakes in the book are beautiful but the designs and detail are so complex that I was totally put off by the book from first looking through it which is not a great start.

I was debating between a 3 or a 4 star rating because I am sure that this book is fabulous for the right person - someone who already has a fair bit of cake decorating experience - for me it was intimidating. Not something that I would expect from a "Women's Weekly" endorsed book.

It appears that you need a lot of equipment for these cakes.

A good section on the back tells you how to make almond paste, buttercream etc, how to do piping patterns. However it is really verbose & with a family I really do not have the time.

Maybe it is just for me that the book is not what I expected, I am sure for the right person with time and dedication this may be a great book for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 410 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews