Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little gem!
This book is miniature like its title, and its novel in size. But that does not detract from the recipes within. These are clearly written with a colourful and pleasing photograph depicting the finished item.

Christmas Miniatures starts with recipes for finger food suitable for buffets and the like, perfect for that boxing day party or family get together. It...
Published on 8 Nov 2011 by Susan M McKenzie

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Really disappointed with this book
Really disappointed with this book, I am an avid follower of the woman's weekly cookbook series but this was a real letdown. I think there was 1 recipe that I would actually make, I understand that Christmas allows us to spend a little more than normal but after flicking through some of the pages I though I was going to be hit with a recipe with caviar in it! Not really...
Published 18 days ago by eve25


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little gem!, 8 Nov 2011
This review is from: Christmas Miniatures (The Australian Women's Weekly Minis) (Paperback)
This book is miniature like its title, and its novel in size. But that does not detract from the recipes within. These are clearly written with a colourful and pleasing photograph depicting the finished item.

Christmas Miniatures starts with recipes for finger food suitable for buffets and the like, perfect for that boxing day party or family get together. It then moves on to little pies and tarts, little cakes and puddings, biscuits and slices and chocolates and sweets (which are gifts of a sweet nature, ideal to give at Christmas).

The mince pies with a hazelnut pastry stood out for me and I will definitely be making these as they sound so good and I am always looking out for a new and interesting mince pie recipe.

Other delights include some of the biscuits (angel and coconut wreath designs) and mini hazelnut shortbread Christmas Trees made from other biscuit recipes in the book.

The notion of making miniature gingerbread houses is new to me but these look so effective with their shreddies inspired roof tops. AND so much easier than making a full sized gingerbread house.

A book to pop into your supermarket trolley for ideas at Christmas OR a lovely little stocking filler for a food lover or someone who likes to entertain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tiny treats good enough to eat and often pretty enough to hang on the tree!, 5 Nov 2011
This review is from: Christmas Miniatures (The Australian Women's Weekly Minis) (Paperback)
Quick - get this book!

"Christmas Miniatures - finger food and tiny treats" by Australian Women's Weekly (who have long been renowned for publishing great cookbooks) is a lovely little book which I urge you to buy asap. The sooner you get it the sooner you can start planning what to make as gifts and what to cook for the upcoming festive season; there's lots to choose from.

"Christmas Miniatures" gives over 50 recipes for nibbly treats, mostly sweet but some great savoury cocktail items too. There are, of course, some of the things one would expect in such a book; miniature Christmas puds, a few weeny versions of mince pies, including an Eccles cake version, and chocolatey delights but there are surprises too; Stained Glass Biscotti being one and Gingerbread Christmas Trees another to name just two - lovely presentations. In fact quite a few of these tiny treats are not only good enough to eat they are pretty enough to hang on the tree first.

The book is illustrated with some great photos, one per recipe, so you know what you are aiming for and in the back are some conversion charts and a useful glossary. I shall be sitting down with this book (and a brandy) to make my plans very soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fun, 4 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas Miniatures (The Australian Women's Weekly Minis) (Paperback)
bought this book as a stocking filler for my other half but ended up giving it to him a week early so we could do some of the fun recipes in the lead up to christmas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Really disappointed with this book, 31 Aug 2014
This review is from: Christmas Miniatures (The Australian Women's Weekly Minis) (Paperback)
Really disappointed with this book, I am an avid follower of the woman's weekly cookbook series but this was a real letdown. I think there was 1 recipe that I would actually make, I understand that Christmas allows us to spend a little more than normal but after flicking through some of the pages I though I was going to be hit with a recipe with caviar in it! Not really for the standard British family Christmas dinner and a huge part of the book had recipes with mincemeat or xmas pudding...not very original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas Miniatures (The Australian Women's Weekly Minis) (Paperback)
The book is a lovely book, but being a cookbook fanatic I would have liked to have seen a little more in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I hope to collect more in this series, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas Miniatures (The Australian Women's Weekly Minis) (Paperback)
A great selection of recipes and ideas. I hope I can find more of this series. Highly recommend. .. ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of Ideas, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas Miniatures (The Australian Women's Weekly Minis) (Paperback)
Great little book with massive ideas for Christmas treats. Hoping to make my own presents this year, lots of ideas in here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book Highly Rec, 6 July 2013
By 
Cherryblossom "Cherry" (West Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas Miniatures (The Australian Women's Weekly Minis) (Paperback)
Very nice little book full of innovative ideas. Highly recommended for Birthday and Christmas cooking. Very colourful pages with great recipies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas Miniatures (The Australian Women's Weekly Minis) (Paperback)
Lots of interesting creative treats to make in this one. Excellent service product and delivery. Certainly would recommend it to inspire you to get cooking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice little stocking filler and for edible gift ideas., 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas Miniatures (The Australian Women's Weekly Minis) (Paperback)
Very small book with lots of cute little treats. Size makes it hard to use, need to wedge open! Also lots of recipes repeated from other women weekly publications, would be annoying if you were expecting a whole bunch of new stuff! As always recipes work well and aren't overly complex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Christmas Miniatures (The Australian Women's Weekly Minis)
Christmas Miniatures (The Australian Women's Weekly Minis) by The Australian Women's Weekly (Paperback - 7 Nov 2011)
£3.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews