Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable story!
Two cars collide one foggy night and the lives of 3 people change forever. Isabelle, the driver of one of the cars, Sam, the young son of April (the other driver who is killed in the crash) and Charlie, Sam's father and April's widower.
"Pictures of You" follows the lives of Sam, Charlie and Isabelle as they pick up the pieces after the crash and look for answers to...
Published on 4 Aug. 2011 by Gill

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Intriquing
Book was bit slow with an unexpected ending. Very good read,complete page turner.
Well written and interesting story line,worth a look.
Published on 9 Jan. 2013 by L. Keens


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable story!, 4 Aug. 2011
By 
Gill (Bangor, NI) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Pictures of You (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Two cars collide one foggy night and the lives of 3 people change forever. Isabelle, the driver of one of the cars, Sam, the young son of April (the other driver who is killed in the crash) and Charlie, Sam's father and April's widower.
"Pictures of You" follows the lives of Sam, Charlie and Isabelle as they pick up the pieces after the crash and look for answers to make sense of it all.
I don't want to give away any more about the storyline. It is well written and I found the characters totally believable and likable. I became immersed in their experiences which covered a range of emotions - sad, difficult, happy,angry, guilt ridden... All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable and moving story which I have no hesitation in recommending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Left me feeling sad for lost oppertunities, 25 July 2012
This review is from: Pictures of You (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
After a car crash which kills a young mum the survivors must move on in any way they can. April is killed while her son Sam survives, after their car is involved in a crash with Isabelle, who is leaving an unhappy marriage. While the premise is very sad, Sam and his dad Charlie are able to draw strength from the closeness of their relationship. When Sam develops a fascination with Isabelle Charlie tries to stop it, but eventually ends up falling for the woman who killed his wife. The emotions all three characters feel due to this situation are interesting and complex, and make for fascinating reading.

The moral dilemma is simplified for the reader as we learn more about April, and why she was on the road that day. The wife and mother Charlie had hoped she was gradually gets broken down to a lonely, damaged woman who handled her life the only way she knew how.

The book is a modern love story, of falling in love as a family when you're a single parent, and the three way balance required to make a relationship work when there is a child involved. The book balances the love story with exploring individual characters wants and desires, and how ultimately those wants lead to a great misunderstanding.

I really enjoyed this story, it is skilfully written with loveable but human characters. The author is adept at painting a clear and easily understandable narrative, with scenes which jump off the page.

The message this book left me with is that you should never leave something unsaid for fear of being embarrassed, as it just might be a mistake you don't even know you should regret. The ending seemed sad to me, and while I know in real life nothing ever wraps up neatly, I do like my fiction to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quick Easy Read, 6 Sept. 2011
By 
Lunar Shine "Moon Shadow" (Dorset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Pictures of You (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is made up of three main characters, Charlie, Sam and Isabelle linked together by one tragedy, that's all I have to say on the synopsis as it has been well outlined by other reviewers. Although the story was sad, I didn't find it too emotional or upsetting.

I thought the book was well written and flowed through so well I didn't want to put it down. As a result I read this book quite quickly. I agree with one reviewer who referred to some loose ends, but nothing which spoiled the overall novel. I have to say though I was really disappointed with the last few chapters of the book and particularly the ending, it just seemed to fade and left me feeling a bit cheated.

Having said that, if you want a book to read on the beach, or on a rainy afternoon, this will fit the bill. It's easy, predictable in places, but definitely worthy a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 7 Dec. 2013
By 
K. Wright - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pictures of You (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
After two cars collide on a foggy road, two families lives are changed forever. April, a young mum is killed but her son Sam survives. The other driver Isabelle, blames herself for the crash. April's husband Charlie is left shocked and confused, not only for the death of his wife and grief for his son but from the news that April had a suitcase in the car. As Charlie tries to piece together what April was doing that day, Sam develops a fascination with Isabelle and they form a connection over their interest in photography. As the story develops their lives become even more intertwined and although the plot is a little slow moving in the middle I was still interested to see how it ended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant read, 4 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pictures of You (Kindle Edition)
From the moment I started to read this book I was gripped and throughout the book it didn't lose its momentum. The author tackles grief, guilt and the complex feelings of a child really well. The story is set in America, mainly on the Cape. It tells the story of two women and their families and a horrific accident that has a major impact on them all. The plot is strong and the main characters are well developed by the author. I would imagine women of all ages would enjoy this book, it would be an ideal holiday read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pictures of You, 27 Mar. 2013
By 
This review is from: Pictures of You (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book immensely it gave me emotional thought beyond just a story. It was deep and thought provoking. I dint want to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A poignant story, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pictures of You (Kindle Edition)
A brilliant story of love and life and sacrifices that are made to help others even if it means heartache for yourself. An easy read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pictures of you, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pictures of You (Kindle Edition)
A great read could not put it down had me gripped . I say it's worth the money any day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sad but happy, 4 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pictures of You (Kindle Edition)
How precious life is and how we need to hold on to something s with both hand. One moment in time can change your life forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Intriquing, 9 Jan. 2013
By 
L. Keens (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pictures of You (Kindle Edition)
Book was bit slow with an unexpected ending. Very good read,complete page turner.
Well written and interesting story line,worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pictures of You
Pictures of You by Caroline Leavitt (Paperback - 1 Aug. 2011)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews