Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top book if you like touring
I don't normally go for guide books that try and lead me by the nose but they've got this one about right, at Lonely Planet.

Yes, it's based mainly on prescribed routes, but they do a great job of linking them into longer itineraries, suggesting detours and listing highlights. In the description of each trip, they say what it's best for (outdoors, family,...
Published 16 months ago by Mr Gumby

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not enough detail for me
I love France - I really do but would I recommend this book?

The French countryside is some of the best in the world - and it is peppered with amazing villages, towns and cities. Each region has a distinct personality and much to offer.

This is an attempt to capture all of this in a series of driving holiday ideas. On the face of it - this is a...
Published 11 months ago by Simon Tavener


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top book if you like touring, 28 April 2013
By 
Mr Gumby "DH" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet France's Best Trips (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I don't normally go for guide books that try and lead me by the nose but they've got this one about right, at Lonely Planet.

Yes, it's based mainly on prescribed routes, but they do a great job of linking them into longer itineraries, suggesting detours and listing highlights. In the description of each trip, they say what it's best for (outdoors, family, walking, etc.), list photo opportunities and advise the ideal time to go. Trips range in length from two days to a fortnight. Recommendations for sleeping and eating are given.

They divide the country into six regions, something I don't much like (it's really annoying if you're going to be based where two or three regions meet) but can live with, given that there are only six of them (why DOES the National Trust insist on dividing England/Wales into ten regions in its Handbook? Grrr!). Each region has a map showing the trips, so you can see at a glance how you might combine them. In addition, each trip has suggestions for linking to other trips, and not just within the same region.

The trips are all linear. My own preference would be for shorter, circular trips based on central points, because I hate having to unpack/re-pack every day and would rather stay in one place for a few days, but others will have different views. The ideal might be linear routes with day-long circular detours from places with recommended accommodation.

I haven't used the book `in anger' yet but have spent a lot of time browsing it and making plans. Because of my preference for circular routes, I've only awarded four stars, but if you happen to like touring then this book is probably well worth five stars to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Useful for planning, not so good for travelling, 3 Oct 2013
By 
Darren Simons (Middlesex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet France's Best Trips (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Having used Lonely Planet guides to travel round France with a trust road atlas, I was not sure what to expect of this book. On the face of it, the book will help you find the hidden gems of France by road, and equally importantly the hidden gems of roads themselves. If that is what you are hoping for I may be about to disappoint you. But all is not lost.

There are many different types of travellers and at first glance, this book is designed for the traveller who wants to see everything but not have the burden of planning much other than perhaps where to stay. If that's you, then this book is lacking. It's not good enough in my mind to use as an atlas (the map at the back is awful), although the instructions for most trips (comprising only 2 or 3 roads it must be said) are easy to follow. Most trips seem to entail driving 20-50 miles a day (apart from the 2 week tour of France), which is a little too leisurely for me. The problem with most the trips is they are too local, so if you are wanting to combine several of the "amazing road trips" you have to join them up yourself.

The key to getting the most out of this book, in my opinion, is being able to decide the area you want to visit, and then use the guide to help you find the hidden treasures. This book therefore is useful to help plan a trip before you go, more a case of making sure you don't miss one of the things that are recommended. The problem there, of course, is that you are then into Lonely Planet territory so why bother with this book.

I really hoped this book would pick up some hidden gems of roads to drive on, but it is really all about how to drive between towns, and Lonely Planet guides do it better. What a shame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not enough detail for me, 16 Sep 2013
By 
Simon Tavener - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet France's Best Trips (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I love France - I really do but would I recommend this book?

The French countryside is some of the best in the world - and it is peppered with amazing villages, towns and cities. Each region has a distinct personality and much to offer.

This is an attempt to capture all of this in a series of driving holiday ideas. On the face of it - this is a sound idea. However it necessitates a lot of very limited detail for each of the towns and areas.

For me, this is a great starting point for someone contemplating a trip - but you really would need to buy a more detailed guide to get the best out of the holiday. Lonely Planet does some very good regional guides - so you would end up buying two books.

Perhaps this is one to look at to select your region and then go off and get something more in depth for the actual trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Logical Extension to The Lonely Planet Range, 11 Sep 2013
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet France's Best Trips (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The powers that be at Lonely Planet appear to have made a recent decision to use their brand name to extend their range of books way beyond the traditional travel guides which they have been noted for for many years. Product line extension of this sort does not normally succeed and indeed, one could argue with the relevance of producing coffee table type books on food for example which is one of their recent forays. However, publishing books on road trips is a very logical use of the brand name and, used in conjunction with a proper, comprehensive country guide, is an excellent and useful addition to their range.

This is a book of some 440 pages, the first thirty odd of which are devoted to more general advice such as top experiences and an extremely short guide to major cities. Why anyone should rely on a book like this for the latter is a mystery as the coverage is so minimal. However, the bulk of the guide is dedicated to the suggested car itineraries. These are divided by region and include trips of various lengths from a couple of days up to two weeks. There are various themes such as Art, Cheese, Wine, Caves and Chateaux. Of course it is perfectly possible to mix and match so as to create trips to suit the length of time you have available.

I took a close look at the Loire region, which I am quite familiar with and what was suggested was certainly adequate to keep a family with a car happy for a vacation. The places to visit were sensible and there were also suggestions on accommodation and eating places. At the end of the book there are road trip essentials to keep you safe and legal together with other tips for travelling in France.

Overall this is a very useful book and one which we will certainly be taking with us and using on our next French vacation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book for ideas for touring by car!, 2 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. Stephen Redman (York England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet France's Best Trips (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
39 tours of France are detailed in this excellent Lonely Planet guide. Journeys like Monet's Normandy, D-Day's Beaches, Chateaux of the Loire, Foothills of the Alps, and Dordogne's Fortified Villages are broken down in distinct steps showing the main points that you must not miss, giving you time scales for the trip and giving you enough background to get the most from the journey. There are recommendations for where to stay and where to eat also.

Looking at the suggestions that have made on two of the trips that I have personally completed the recommendations make sense and also include a couple of things that I previously missed. Historic sights, well stocked wine cellars, classic eateries and points from which you really must take an excellent holiday photo are detailed throughout the book

This is an idea book, an inspirational read, and will either get you hooked on driving in France or at least inform your decisions about where to go.

If you like France this book may give you so many ideas that you just hop in the car now and drive down to the tunnel, but whatever your commitment to our European neighbour you cannot help but learn relevant and helpful information from this book. Why not also take Lonely Planet's guide to 'France' as well - with both of these books you need not miss anything, and one will fill in the gaps in the other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great holiday planner, 16 May 2014
By 
Mrs. Mairi Mitchell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet France's Best Trips (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Recommended for people making road trips in rural France. Good ideas and guidance given. We used it to plan our fly drive holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars lovely book, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet France's Best Trips (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Lovely book to sit and read over a coffee but also inspiring enough to make me get out there and explore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good practical advice, 17 Oct 2013
By 
Jack Chakotay "Ender Brazil" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet France's Best Trips (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a Lonely Planet guide with a twist: the road trip the individual spot itself is the focus.

I found this great for planning a weekend away with accommodation and dining suggestions all included. Be forewarned, this is a one way journey with very little in the way of suggestion of how to plan a circular route or detours for the trip back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great routes for the independent car traveller through France, 3 Oct 2013
This review is from: Lonely Planet France's Best Trips (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Of all the European countries France is probably the one most people drive through and independently investigate as they go on their way and so as a country-wide guide, this is perhaps one of Lonely Planet's most useful European ones.

So what we have here is a very accessible and useable guide to some great road trip routes in France, in a handy sized book that is also pretty durable and which will fit easily in the glove compartment. It is very good for pointers and ideas for going off the beaten track, with excellent, easy to follow maps, solid, basic travel information and useful cultural insights. Basically another dependable, reasonably priced guide from Lonely Planet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Travel book, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet France's Best Trips (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Very informative, I'm looking forward to using it soon. I'm sure it will be most helpful in keeping us off the motorways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet France's Best Trips (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet France's Best Trips (Travel Guide) by Nicola Williams (Paperback - 1 Mar 2013)
8.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews