Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Travel information
Love these lonely planet books. They are easy to read with a lot of useful information. Recommended for anybody travelling
Published 3 months ago by Dinah

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh ... very subjective and oddly selective
Mixed feelings about this edition of Lonely Planet. Definitely feels less comprehensive than previous editions of the Ireland guide. There are MAJOR tourist sights - especially of the historic buildings variety - which aren't even mentioned and I also feel that the where to stay and where to eat sections are becoming elitist. Do we all want top end boutique hotels and...
Published 5 months ago by Fuerte Fan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh ... very subjective and oddly selective, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Ireland (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Mixed feelings about this edition of Lonely Planet. Definitely feels less comprehensive than previous editions of the Ireland guide. There are MAJOR tourist sights - especially of the historic buildings variety - which aren't even mentioned and I also feel that the where to stay and where to eat sections are becoming elitist. Do we all want top end boutique hotels and 'parlour restaurants' all the time? What about more middle of the road options? Or do we have to buy the Rough Guide for those these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good for hotels, but not for learning about Ireland., 20 Aug 2014
This review is from: Lonely Planet Ireland (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I am a big Lonely Planet fan, but this book was such a disappointment! Lonely Planet usually provides interesting and historical information on places to visit, but not this book. Most of the book focuses on describing hotels and restaurants with very little information on places to visit. For example, Cliffs of Moher had no information on how they formed or any other interesting information. Just opening times, prices and treks. Kylemore Abbey has no information at all!

The maps are not very good either. They have castles and key objects, but not viewpoints or nature objects worth visiting. We got a map for free when renting a car and it actually had more useful information.

Sorry Lonely Planet, but you can do much better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Ireland (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Disappointed as I'd expected a more comprehensive guide, and the 'pull out map ' was of Dublin, not Ireland as I'd hoped. Maybe I'd not read the small print. We were camping and there was very little information about sites etc. in the where to stay section. We travelled with friends who had the DK Guide which was more informative about where to go and what to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Travel information, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Ireland (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Love these lonely planet books. They are easy to read with a lot of useful information. Recommended for anybody travelling
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great help to be travelling through reland, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Ireland (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This travel guide was a great help for our travelling around Ireland. It has the most well known and more touristic places, but also it has some great advices for off the road spots.
I would advise it to anyone looking for a roadtrip around Ireland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nicely laid, and the print size isn't to bad, 24 July 2014
By 
J. S. Pitchford (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Ireland (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I bought this for a friend who is going to Ireland. Nicely laid, and the print size isn't to bad. I have one of these several years ago hence the buy but suspect 'some interesting details' of various place have been left out perhaps for editorial reasons??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well done Lonely Planet., 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Ireland (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
As with all lonely Planet publications this is a first class guide and good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thelma and Louise, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Ireland (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Perfect for a Thelma and Louise adventure and a safe return home!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Ireland (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Excellent source of information - like talking to a local.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Ireland (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This updated edition is insghtful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Ireland (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet Ireland (Travel Guide) by Neil Wilson (Paperback - 14 Mar 2014)
£8.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews