Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars26
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 March 2014
Mixed feelings about this edition of Lonely Planet. Definitely feels less comprehensive than previous editions of the Ireland guide. There are MAJOR tourist sights - especially of the historic buildings variety - which aren't even mentioned and I also feel that the where to stay and where to eat sections are becoming elitist. Do we all want top end boutique hotels and 'parlour restaurants' all the time? What about more middle of the road options? Or do we have to buy the Rough Guide for those these days.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2014
Disappointed as I'd expected a more comprehensive guide, and the 'pull out map ' was of Dublin, not Ireland as I'd hoped. Maybe I'd not read the small print. We were camping and there was very little information about sites etc. in the where to stay section. We travelled with friends who had the DK Guide which was more informative about where to go and what to see.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2014
I am a big Lonely Planet fan, but this book was such a disappointment! Lonely Planet usually provides interesting and historical information on places to visit, but not this book. Most of the book focuses on describing hotels and restaurants with very little information on places to visit. For example, Cliffs of Moher had no information on how they formed or any other interesting information. Just opening times, prices and treks. Kylemore Abbey has no information at all!

The maps are not very good either. They have castles and key objects, but not viewpoints or nature objects worth visiting. We got a map for free when renting a car and it actually had more useful information.

Sorry Lonely Planet, but you can do much better!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This travel guide was a great help for our travelling around Ireland. It has the most well known and more touristic places, but also it has some great advices for off the road spots.
I would advise it to anyone looking for a roadtrip around Ireland.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2015
Excellent information contained in the book. Most places visited were also recommended by locals and really worth a look.
Beach and walk recommendations were spot on and very helpful.
Restaurants were more hit and miss. A lot depends on personal taste and luck on the day!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2015
I love Lonely Planet guides but this simply doesn't work on a Kindle. Given how you use a guidebook (i.e. non linear reading), this is pretty much useless. Zero interaction, so maps also phenomenally helpful. My strong recommendation is you stick with the hard copy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2014
Perfect for a Thelma and Louise adventure and a safe return home!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This 736-page book - the 11th (print) edition of March 2014 - is an interesting and readable guide to the Republic of Ireland and the British Province of Northern Ireland. This is a well-designed and presented guide, with useful maps. This is not a glossy guide with lots of colour pictures, but it is a well-designed and laid out guide, with colour used only sparingly, such as for maps. It is intended to be a helpful guide to things to see and do, and not just a list of things to see and do.

It is broken down into four major sections:

Page 6 - Plan Your Trip:
Introduction to the island, what to look out for (Ireland’s Top 21), what you need to know in advance, etc.

Page 57 - On The Road (The Guide):
P058: Dublin (with a fold-out map inside the back cover)
P136: Counties Wicklow & Kildare
P162: Counties Wexford, Waterford, Carlow & Kilkenny
P215: County Cork
P263: County Kerry
P310: Counties Limerick & Tipperary
P336: County Clare
P371: County Galway
P412: Counties Mayo & Sligo
P447: County Donegal
P484: The Midlands
P514: Counties Meath, Louth, Cavan & Monaghan
P551: Belfast
P586: Counties Down & Armagh
P613: Counties Londonderry & Antrim
P647: Counties Fermanagh & Tyrone

Page 666 - Understand (local culture):
History, arts, landscape & sport, etc.

Page 698 - Survival Guide:
A-Z Directory, transport, language, index, etc.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2016
This is a great guide to use for any sort of travelling to Ireland, it contains masses of information about its history and culture, as well as an abundance of ideas for day trips, accommodation and meals out, covering all budgets. I would definitely recommend Lonely Planet guides above all others, they have always been fantastic and are very easy to use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2014
I bought this for a friend who is going to Ireland. Nicely laid, and the print size isn't to bad. I have one of these several years ago hence the buy but suspect 'some interesting details' of various place have been left out perhaps for editorial reasons??
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)