Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Street Hawkin' Man
I was very slow at braving street food when travelling. When you're hundreds of miles away from home, trying something cooked by the side of the road, can feel like a risk too far. The last thing you want to do with your valuable holiday time is spend it communing with God on the great white telephone. It turns our my cloistered western view of food hygiene was doing my...
Published on 7 April 2012 by Quicksilver

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Goods should be fit for purpose
If you are downloading the kindle version don't. This is a scanned version of the book you cannot re size, the print is so small it is unreadable . This is the second time this has happened, publishers please note it is not acceptable to simply scan books and sell something that is unusable,the sale of goods act says goods should be fit for purpose. Just tried plugging in...
Published 21 months ago by J. Griffiths


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a look, 30 Mar. 2012
By 
K. Wright - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The World's Best Street Food: Where to Find it & How to Make it (General Pictorial) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
'The World's Best Street Food,' is part recipe book and part travelogue, covering dishes found in North and South America, Europe, Asia, Africa and Oceania. Each double page spread features one dish with the left hand page explaining what it is, the origin, tasting it and where to find it as well as tips or variations and the right hand page containing the recipe.

Both savoury and sweet dishes are featured, each with symbols explaining how easy it is too cook, utensils used to eat and whether it is spicy or vegetarian. There are a good variety of dishes, usually photographed, from Ceviche de Corvina from Peru to USA hotdogs, and Ghanaian Kelewele to India's Jalebi. However, there are significantly more recipes of some countries famous for their street food such as Mexico, India and Thailand and rather more pastry dishes than I would have liked.

The book is inspiring as there will be foods that every reader would like to try, although I think most people would rather eat these foods straight from a vendor in the country of origin rather than making them at home, as some seem difficult to make or source ingredients and others are almost impossible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly put together, 18 Jun. 2012
By 
Contributor77 (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The World's Best Street Food: Where to Find it & How to Make it (General Pictorial) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
With such a large collection of cookery books it takes a lot to please me these days, however this book doesn't try and be awesome it just has great content and is well presented and laid out. For instance I normally use sticky page markers to note out the recipes I'm interested in cooking, to say I ran out of markers is the truth!!! I have probably marked one in three recipes to have a go at.

The book covers most countries where street food is available and my favourite has to be South Africa's "Walkie Talkies", this is quite simply chicken heads and chicken feet that are deep fried - not one of the pages I have marked but the recipe certainly looks authentic enough. I have given some of the oriental recipes a go and the flow of the recipe works very well indeed.

A very good comprehensive mixture of recipes from around the globe that will off the beginner and the average chef a bit of fun. Well worth a look especially if you enjoyed Thai Street Food by David Thompson. A final point of what really does impress me is that there are pictures of the food for every recipe!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!!, 16 April 2012
By 
Yankeeeee (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The World's Best Street Food: Where to Find it & How to Make it (General Pictorial) (Paperback)
Love this book! Some really unique recipes and ideas, all beautifully presented courtesy of the incredible Lonely Planet.
This would make an ideal gift for someone who enjoys travelling and enjoys their food
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, speedy service, 27 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World's Best Street Food: Where to Find it & How to Make it (General Pictorial) (Paperback)
The book took around 2 weeks to get from the U.K to Australia. I loved the book, the recipes are fantastic and it such a unique concept regarding the street food around the world. Definitely worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Good book, poor format, 8 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good selection of recipes, but only if you have a very good microscope. It will only display in landscape format and you cannot zoom in or change font size. On the whole very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy for an inexperienced person to make something great, 26 April 2013
By 
Ian Baker (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World's Best Street Food: Where to Find it & How to Make it (General Pictorial) (Paperback)
Great pictures, easy instructions. Interesting omission of some areas in SE Asia such as Laos, but does include less common areas such as Peru. Only negative - no free samples included...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World's Best Street Food: Where to Find it & How to Make it (General Pictorial) (Paperback)
This book is full of unusual idea's and reciepes with all sorts of intersting facts about the orgins of the recipes. If you love street food, this is the recipe book for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Streets ahead, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World's Best Street Food: Where to Find it & How to Make it (General Pictorial) (Paperback)
Useful start to foreign travel. We found it helpful looking at our holiday destination and the street we would find. Have not tried any of the recipes yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 29 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World's Best Street Food: Where to Find it & How to Make it (General Pictorial) (Paperback)
Alot of the ingredients I have not heard of and tried to obtain them and ni on impossible so no good to continue a recipe I returned the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete waste of money, 1 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The format in which it is written makes it unreadable on Kindle. I am surprised Amazon sanctions this product! Rubbish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The World's Best Street Food: Where to Find it & How to Make it (General Pictorial)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews