Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for short trips
I spent just over three weeks travelling around India by train, spending only a couple of days in each place before moving on. For this short-term travel, the book was ideal as it outlined exactly what the top sites were for a tourist with limited time. In addition, the restaurant recommendations were consistently excellent.

If you want to spend eight months in...
Published 10 months ago by Hardrada

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but rather limited
It's ok, but a bit limited, I was expecting a much thicker book, however this one has nice colour photos.
Published 14 months ago by SSPolyglot


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for short trips, 4 Sep 2013
I spent just over three weeks travelling around India by train, spending only a couple of days in each place before moving on. For this short-term travel, the book was ideal as it outlined exactly what the top sites were for a tourist with limited time. In addition, the restaurant recommendations were consistently excellent.

If you want to spend eight months in Andhara Pradesh, then I would agree that this is not the travel guide for you, but for a more casual observer, it will tell you all you need to know about how best to pass a couple of days in Hampi or an afternoon in Fatehpur Sikri or whatever.

Also, the colourful pages were really useful in helping to build pre-trip excitement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good overview, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good as an overview with nice pictures, but without the detail of other Lonely Planets. I'm finding it usefult to get a taste of India, for independant travel the full LP would be adviseable but heavy to carry. Unfortunate that LP don't do a book on the the part of India I am visiting and it works out quite expensive to buy online chapters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compact and comprehensive, 16 Dec 2012
By 
Stefano Sarao "Dino Sauro" (Milan, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is an excellent guide to plan your India trip and to carry in your hand luggage when you travel. It's very comprehensive, well-illustrated and contains a host of useful itineraries to build your program around. A pullout map of Delhi and Agra is also included. Too bad there isn't one of Mumbai, too. Dozens of good maps are scattered through its 450 pages, though, and city walks in Mumbai are well covered in the 25 pages dedicated to this city.
I have the Nov 2011 edition and it's pretty up-to-date. The Need to Know section (page 48) offers numerous if very cursory tips for your Indian travels. Perhaps the best example of its elliptical prose is found under Mobile phones: "Use local networks to avoid expensive roaming costs". (In other words: get a local SIM card). There. It wasn't too hard to say, was it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but rather limited, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's ok, but a bit limited, I was expecting a much thicker book, however this one has nice colour photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Won't be buying any of this series again, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This new LP series may look nice-lovely pictures- but the information they contain is far too top line. Of very little use to any traveller really interested in their destination. My advice-stick with a convential Lonely Planet or Rough Guide and buy a coffee table book if you want nice pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Discover India (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet Discover India (Travel Guide) by Kevin Raub (Paperback - 13 Dec 2013)
16.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews