Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific child-friendly guide to the world
This is a fantastic book. It covers a mighty 199 countries, grouped by region/continent: every country you can think of, from North Korea to San Marino, Saint Lucia to East Timor. Each country gets one full colour page which contains a small map, some key facts (size/population/language/currency) and then interesting facts about that country. As an example, for Benin...
Published on 8 Oct. 2011 by Julia Flyte

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks nice at first glance, but look a little deeper and you'll find errors and omissions
This is what at first appears to be a useful and entertaining book aimed at children around the ages of 8 to 11 who are curious to know more about the world. It contains over 200 large and colourful pages containing information, statistics and trivia about (almost) every country in the world - many are interesting, some are surprising and a few are downright peculiar...
Published on 6 April 2013 by O E J


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific child-friendly guide to the world, 8 Oct. 2011
By 
Julia Flyte - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Not For Parents Travel Book (Lonely Planet Not for Parents Travel Book) (Hardcover)
This is a fantastic book. It covers a mighty 199 countries, grouped by region/continent: every country you can think of, from North Korea to San Marino, Saint Lucia to East Timor. Each country gets one full colour page which contains a small map, some key facts (size/population/language/currency) and then interesting facts about that country. As an example, for Benin in Africa we learn that it's the home of voodoo, about the history of human sacrifices in ancient times, about some of the amazing animals that live there, how taxis get loaded up with all sorts of items, about a village built on stilts to escape a water demon and about the beautiful tribal art. There are lots of photographs included and the layout is very enticing.

My sons are aged 11 and 7 and they both have really enjoyed looking through this book and learning about different countries. In fact, my 7 year old has become a little obsessed with it and keeps telling us facts about obscure countries (and asking when we can visit them). I think it's a terrific addition to our home library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks nice at first glance, but look a little deeper and you'll find errors and omissions, 6 April 2013
By 
O E J - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Not For Parents Travel Book (Lonely Planet Not for Parents Travel Book) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is what at first appears to be a useful and entertaining book aimed at children around the ages of 8 to 11 who are curious to know more about the world. It contains over 200 large and colourful pages containing information, statistics and trivia about (almost) every country in the world - many are interesting, some are surprising and a few are downright peculiar including histories, events and people as well as important data like population, lingo, capital city, currency and national pastimes, all with illustrations, pictures and graphics.

My daughter enjoyed reading it, mentioning examples such as the clouded leopard that can still be found in Nay Pyi Taw in Burma but nowhere else on Earth, how in the 19th century people were stolen from the Solomon Islands in the South Pacific and taken to work on sugar plantations in Australia, how the word 'bikini' was named after the Bikini Atoll in the Marshall Islands, and how in Belgium it is considered rude to talk to someone with your hands in your pockets.

However, this book is riddled with factual errors and consistently displays a lack of attention to detail. By way of example, take Cyprus: in this guide, it is shown to be in Asia but of course it is not - it's in Europe (and part of the EU - just). Its currency is stated to be the Turkish New Lira, but there is no mention of the Euro nor indeed the fact that the island is split between Greece and Turkey. It makes me wonder how long ago this book was written - Cyprus has been divided between Greece and Turkey since 1974 I believe! There are significant historical events unmentioned on the pages of Australia and Israel, among several others.

This is therefore not a book to be taken as serious educational material, and if anything a parent (despite the warnings depicted in the book's title) should look over the shoulder of their child or children and point out any of these errors or omissions. Children will otherwise not be 'educated' accurately.

In spite of this, and the fact that Amazon should not classify it as a 'reference', it's still a handy and interesting book that children will enjoy. They will be better off for reading it than not reading it at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative & Fun, 27 Nov. 2011
By 
Miss K (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Not For Parents Travel Book (Lonely Planet Not for Parents Travel Book) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Just over two hundred pages packed with all manner of facts, stats and trivia from 200 countries around the world. The book has a modern 'scrapbook' style to its pages which are both colourful and busy, in perhaps a way best assimilated by young minds! The writing is very accessible and actually quite descrptive so it's good at feeding the curiosity of young minds as well as developing their vocabulary.

One small let-down has to be that because the book is so uniform in its design and the use of colours, every page looks very same-ey and this could have very easily been avoided by designing each page in a way that would reflect the country on the page. A world map referencing all the countries covered in the book would also have been better as a quick-reference pull-out page at the front of the book rather than tucked away in the back pages.

It's a big book, quite hefty and not the best to place into a child's backpack as a travel companion (I suppose it'll be me lugging the book around then!) Niggles aside, this IS a good book, jam-packed with information that will keep most kids entertained for a while. The series also includes other books (smaller paperback editions) focusing on select cities like London and Paris which have a nicer design and would be better for kids as travel companions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will keep your children quiet for hours!, 12 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Not For Parents Travel Book (Lonely Planet Not for Parents Travel Book) (Hardcover)
This was a spontaneous purchase for my nine year old daughter. She's had it for a couple of days now and has barely stopped reading it in that time other than to share the odd quirky piece of information about some far flung corner of the globe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Not for Travelling Travel Book, 20 Jan. 2012
By 
Quicksilver (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Not For Parents Travel Book (Lonely Planet Not for Parents Travel Book) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My six-year-old and I have been really enjoying this book. It's a mash-up of an Atlas, a travel guide and a kids almanac (such the Guinness BoR). Each country in the world has a page devoted to it, and as well as hard facts, such as capital cities, currencies and flags, there are lots snippets of information about history, customs, flora, fauna and interesting sites. The recommended age is 8+, and some of the 'Hideous History' panels are perhaps a bit old for a six-year-old, but at the moment I just gloss over those.

Obviously with only page per country there isn't much detail for each country, so nobody in their right mind would use it as a travel book, but it's a great kick off point for further exploration. Each page has lots of vibrant photos to stimulate young minds. Photos and text are arranged as though mounted haphazardly in a scrap-book, giving it far friendlier feel than your standard atlas.

The book does have a couple of drawbacks. Though divided into continents, there are very few maps. Each country entry has an outline map, giving the capital and other major cities, but though neighbours are marked, there is little to give each country any geographical context. A map at the start of each section would have been highly desirable. A consequence of there not being any continent headings at all, you'll find Chile on an adjacent page to Scotland, with little to tell the reader they've just travelled 7000 miles. Considering the lack of maps, the order of the countries in the book is slightly bizarre too. Each continent roughly runs through West to East, North to South, but without a map to look at, how is a child supposed to know that? It took us about five minutes to find China. There is, in fairness, a map at the back with an index, but surely indexes are for grown-ups?

There are few deliberate editorial choices that aren't altogether accurate. The UK is split into separate entries for Scotland, England and Wales. I can see the reason for doing this, but there is an implication they are separate countries, which (at the moment at least) they're not. More controversially Northern Ireland is combined in a single entry with Ireland, and Tibet is listed a separate country. As another reviewer has stated, Cyprus is given a single (Turkish) entity, and less forgivably, the Australian section mentions nothing of the aborigines. So there are some mistakes/points of view taken that aren't fully explained.

Having said that, this book is an excellent way of turning children onto the geography of their world. Both my son and I have learned all sorts of things and had great fun doing so, and we still have lots of entries left to read. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book For Kids, 7 Dec. 2011
By 
Coincidence Vs Fate - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Not For Parents Travel Book (Lonely Planet Not for Parents Travel Book) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a great little book for kids and my five year old loved it. THe book has a large format and is colourful and bright with plenty of colourful pictures and interesting facts. One whole page is devoted to each country complete with map showing whereabouts it is. Really useful for the enquiring mind of a child.

The book also states "not for parents" on the front, which my son found very amusing. He's not too into Geography and the countries of the world just yet, but this will certainly come in handy for when he starts homework on that topic.

OK, so he would still rather read about Star Wars and Lego, but this is the first "real" book he has taken seriously.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Your first world tour..., 29 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Not For Parents Travel Book (Lonely Planet Not for Parents Travel Book) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If kids had their own coffee tables then Lonely Planet's 'Not for Parents' Travel Book is probably the kind of book they'd put on them. It's a big, glossy and fun run-around the planet stopping off at every country on the way, with a page of facts for each one. Inevitably reducing an entire nation, especially the largest and most diverse ones, to a single page of fun facts means this book takes a very superficial view of its subject, but it's all well-presented and fun. The nations are grouped by continent or proximity and there's a world map with alphabetic index at the back, so you can look up a particular nation and see it's global location.

Some of the facts presented are a bit cliché or stereotyped while others are obscure but interesting and younger readers might not be able to distinguish the difference between the two. However as a fun reference book which introduces younger readers to the extraordinary diversity of humankind and their place(s) on the planet it's a really approachable and fun read. Plus, even if the book is 'Not for Parents, inquisitive adults might also find facts, or even entire nations, listed here they didn't know anything about...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have book for every home!, 2 Dec. 2011
By 
Karen Baxter (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Not For Parents Travel Book (Lonely Planet Not for Parents Travel Book) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It is always a good idea to get children interested in other countries and cultures when you can. Not only does it help them to understand that there are many different ways of life, beliefs and customs but it also helps them greatly in geographical and historical pursuits including (dare I say it) school projects.

And Lonely Planet's "The Not For Parents Travel Book" does this in heaps.

Beautifully illustrated on every page this marvellous hardback book is set out in six main sections: North America (covering 24 countries), South America (12 countries), Europe (46 countries), Africa (53 countries), Asia (51 countries) and Oceania (15 countries) this is a book for the whole family and certainly not just for children.

Surprising facts are included on every page including scary facts, hideous history facts, crazy facts, epic events, amazing animals, world's oldest, world's most and amazing names, in fact "Cool Stuff to Know About Every Country in the World"!

A must have book for every home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A geography book with a difference - just right for the enquiring mind!, 3 Dec. 2011
By 
E. Heckingbottom "elaineheck143" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Not For Parents Travel Book (Lonely Planet Not for Parents Travel Book) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
With key information and intriguing facts about every country of teh world, this is definitely a geography book with a difference, and will intrigue many brighter and more inquisitive children. My copy is sitting in the classroom, and has been looked at by the children as well as by myself. There is lots to see, read, look at and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely family reference book, 26 Nov. 2011
By 
Clare Mccann (Chichester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Not For Parents Travel Book (Lonely Planet Not for Parents Travel Book) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a great book that I can see being pulled off the bookshelf time and time again. Each of the 205 pages is dedicated to information about a different country in the world and it is presented in small bitesize chunks with lots of photos. I started flicking through it and found lots of genuinely fascinating bits of information I didn't know (Oprah Winfrey has a holiday home in Antigua, the winner of the Bahraini Grand Prix doesn't spray champagne, but a non-alcoholic alternative because it's a Muslim country). This would be a really lovely book to have on hand whenever questions about other countries come up, like during the World Cup or Eurovision. I had intended to pass this on to my niece and nephew, but instead I shall be keeping it for when my 3 month-old son is older!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Not For Parents Travel Book (Lonely Planet Not for Parents Travel Book)
£13.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews