Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful and informative
This is a useful and informative book for those travelling to Cuba. The section on Havana has some interesting ideas for walking tours and a handy map. There is lots of information on hotels, bars and restaurants all over the island. The one thing to bear in mind is that Lonely Planet hate anything touristy, so you could also check other sources (e.g. tripadvisor)...
Published 14 months ago by Mrs S G Rackliff

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can be better
Lonely Planet is always a great way to start planning your trip before you actually leave your flat, however this time although it says this edition is from October 2013 all prices (and I mean ALL, from a mojito at La Bodeguita del Medio to the daily rates for Casa Particulares and all the restaurants indicated) are quite wrong/outdated, sometimes around 30% less than the...
Published 19 months ago by Mr. G


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can be better, 29 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Cuba (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Lonely Planet is always a great way to start planning your trip before you actually leave your flat, however this time although it says this edition is from October 2013 all prices (and I mean ALL, from a mojito at La Bodeguita del Medio to the daily rates for Casa Particulares and all the restaurants indicated) are quite wrong/outdated, sometimes around 30% less than the actual price (Nov 2013), which makes you plan your budget in a very wrong way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rough guide is the better option for Cuba, 14 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Cuba (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Like every guide book, there are some errors and unclear elements. When traveling on budget, the casa particulars are the best option. Only when they appear in the lonely planet, their price goes up ... Rough guide casas offer better price-quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful and informative, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Cuba (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This is a useful and informative book for those travelling to Cuba. The section on Havana has some interesting ideas for walking tours and a handy map. There is lots of information on hotels, bars and restaurants all over the island. The one thing to bear in mind is that Lonely Planet hate anything touristy, so you could also check other sources (e.g. tripadvisor) before you go. Overall this is a useful guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very comprehensive, 17 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Cuba (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Full of information about Cuba - where to stay and what to do. Very detailed.

My only concern is that it heavily focuses on renting a car and driving around Cuba. I had hoped for more details on public transport or getting around by local private bus companies and tour companies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect! Should I say more?, 29 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Cuba (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I think that the Lonely Planet authors have much in common with me, otherwise I can't explain how they could always match my expectations... You can trust any single line of this guide. I visited only the northern part of the island, so my comment refers to the Havana - Ciégo de Avila province area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Definitely the worst LP we have ever used despite being published very recently, 4 July 2014
By 
G. Avery "Gemam" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Cuba (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
So many inaccuracies including terrible recommendations for food and places to go, and some very out of date information despite being published within the last year. Definitely the worst LP we have ever used, though I emphasise it was just as bad as the Rough Guide, which we also took with us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Map fails to mark the spot, 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Cuba (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
The text and photographs were helpful but the map of Havana, especially the section on Vieja havana was about as much use as a chocolate fire-guard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Packed with info, 27 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Cuba (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Great book , packed with all sorts of information and a good map. We have been to Cuba six times and still found this very useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable, 2 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Cuba (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Everything you need to know and spot on for eating and drinking. Good background onfo to make sense of the place and people
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars confusing and misleading even in havana, 26 April 2014
By 
J. Oman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Cuba (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
good for generic information - but you can get this online too elsewhere. I was hoping to use the walking guides in havana but the streets were not marked properly (or gave no street names as at!) so we ended up getting lost all the time, this was not very helpful for our trip to Havana, Cayo Coco and Varadero. wish we bought something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Cuba (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet Cuba (Travel Guide) by Luke Waterson (Paperback - 18 Oct. 2013)
£11.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews