Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great help
I used this guide for my trip to Tokyo, Kyoto and Osaka, couldnt have done it without this guide. Gave me everything I needed for my trip!
Published 14 months ago by Miss E May

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing drop of standards from LP
Pros: a comprehensive book with good details on opening hours, how to get to places etc. Accommodation detail is pretty good too - and helps to weed through some Tripadvisor mistake bookings (a couple times we went with things rated high on Tripadvisor and not listed in LP - we soon learnt the lesson).

Cons: the food and eating sections are terrible. We...
Published 6 months ago by k_nelli


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Has everything, 30 Oct 2013
By 
Dr. R. H. Webber (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Japan (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
The authors are to be commended in writing such a comprehensive guide to this country that contains such a wealth of interest in its comparative small size. The maps are good and additional features such as the cut-away illustration of Todai-ji and the map of Tokyo at the back are useful additions not normally found in a Lonely Planet guide. Japan is a country that needs to be visited time and time again to discover its many aspects and this guide certainly provides all the necessary information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent guide and great for the ipad to jump to ..., 22 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent guide and great for the ipad to jump to a recommended website then go straight back to the page you were on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I used it mostly to have maps and list of ..., 30 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Japan (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I used it mostly to have maps and list of major places to visit. A lot of information are missing or not up to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Near useless buy a phrase book and visit the Japan guide website instead, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Japan (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
The free guides you can pick up at youth hostels/tourist information centers are vastly more helpful.
The book seems good before you visit Japan, in reality it lacks the detail required to be helpful. Each section simply points out the most obvious places failing to provide any insight that couldn't be gained from a short time online.
As an example it fails to mention Nakano Broadway - a far cheaper, condensed version of Akihabara.
The recommended accommodation isn't particularly cheap and was almost entirely booked months in advance - useless if you intended to book as you travelled. I recommend booking.com instead. It also fails to mention that hostels are a poor choice for couples in Japan as hotels will usually be nicer and cheaper.
The book does a terrible job of steering you clear of tourist traps, going so far as to recommend some directly. For example arashiyama's bamboo grove.
Also omitted is that many attractions lack any English translation.
Finally the book passes no comment on biting insects that plague your stay- pack bug spray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great service, 7 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Japan (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Excellent service,the book is a present and will be very much appreciated.thankyou for your great service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for travels in Japan, 12 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Japan (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Loved this book, we took it everywhere with us when in Japan. It was really useful. Highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Japan (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
lonely planet is always an excellent source of information!! well done on this guide to japan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, easily maneuverable, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Japan (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Good, easily maneuverable. Could do with a bit more intelligence on bars (japanese night life isn't like western ones). Cheers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Japan (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
very useful guide book. Got this for my daughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Japan (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
its a great book and makes planning very easy. i really like the lonely planet books but i found that there were several errors within the book where it exaggerates how good things are, whilst missing out even better things to do. Okinomiyaki in Hiroshima is a must though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Japan (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet Japan (Travel Guide) by Wendy Yanagihara (Paperback - 13 Sep 2013)
£12.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews