Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A great help
I used this guide for my trip to Tokyo, Kyoto and Osaka, couldnt have done it without this guide. Gave me everything I needed for my trip!
Published 9 months ago by Miss E May

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing drop of standards from LP
Pros: a comprehensive book with good details on opening hours, how to get to places etc. Accommodation detail is pretty good too - and helps to weed through some Tripadvisor mistake bookings (a couple times we went with things rated high on Tripadvisor and not listed in LP - we soon learnt the lesson).

Cons: the food and eating sections are terrible. We...
Published 1 month ago by k_nelli


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing drop of standards from LP, 29 Jun 2014
This review is from: Lonely Planet Japan (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Pros: a comprehensive book with good details on opening hours, how to get to places etc. Accommodation detail is pretty good too - and helps to weed through some Tripadvisor mistake bookings (a couple times we went with things rated high on Tripadvisor and not listed in LP - we soon learnt the lesson).

Cons: the food and eating sections are terrible. We followed them for too many times - every time to be really badly dissapointed. It also seems the guides only eat ramen as that is pretty much all they list. The info about sights and temples was largely superficial. There should have been a JR train map of the main routes. The Tokyo map advertised is a joke - it was no good for anything. The other maps are poor also - only a few major roads are marked and it is very hard to figure out where things are.

I still thinks this is ok as an overall guide - but as a usually big LP fan this book was a big dissapointment and will encourage me to look at other options before buying this.

Do note that none of the authors of this book are native Japanese. Seems like a major short coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Near useless buy a phrase book and visit the Japan guide website instead, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Japan (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
The free guides you can pick up at youth hostels/tourist information centers are vastly more helpful.
The book seems good before you visit Japan, in reality it lacks the detail required to be helpful. Each section simply points out the most obvious places failing to provide any insight that couldn't be gained from a short time online.
As an example it fails to mention Nakano Broadway - a far cheaper, condensed version of Akihabara.
The recommended accommodation isn't particularly cheap and was almost entirely booked months in advance - useless if you intended to book as you travelled. I recommend booking.com instead. It also fails to mention that hostels are a poor choice for couples in Japan as hotels will usually be nicer and cheaper.
The book does a terrible job of steering you clear of tourist traps, going so far as to recommend some directly. For example arashiyama's bamboo grove.
Also omitted is that many attractions lack any English translation.
Finally the book passes no comment on biting insects that plague your stay- pack bug spray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Japan (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
its a great book and makes planning very easy. i really like the lonely planet books but i found that there were several errors within the book where it exaggerates how good things are, whilst missing out even better things to do. Okinomiyaki in Hiroshima is a must though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great help, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I used this guide for my trip to Tokyo, Kyoto and Osaka, couldnt have done it without this guide. Gave me everything I needed for my trip!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need!, 18 Sep 2013
By 
chick (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Japan (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I have been reading this for a week now and I love it! I previously had the Japan by Rail book by Ramsey, and I hated it (read my review why). This LP has everything you need, there are colorful pictures galore, clear maps, a metro map and city map of Tokyo, info on the places, how to get there (which train/bus to take, how long and how much, though I dont always use the prices as gospel but as a guide). Also, the usual do's and don'ts section. I have always loved LP books, and this version hasn't let me down. What I like is which part of Japan to visit for which season and for what reasons, e.g for Temples and gardens, it suggest Kyoto, for the beaches, another place etc. Also, colourful pictures on different types of food, the name of the dish and the phonetics on how to pronounce them etc etc. Overall I personally love this guide book and will be using it when I go next week to Japan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good..., 17 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Generally I like it. It's relatively easy to skip around the book, although it could do with a "beginning of chapter" link at the bottom of pages. Hyperlinks to internet pages work well. Nice photos.

BUT the maps are horrendous. You can't zoom in at all, the quality is so bad. They show very little, and aren't usable for getting around, although they'll do the job of general orientation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Has everything, 30 Oct 2013
By 
Dr. R. H. Webber (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Japan (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
The authors are to be commended in writing such a comprehensive guide to this country that contains such a wealth of interest in its comparative small size. The maps are good and additional features such as the cut-away illustration of Todai-ji and the map of Tokyo at the back are useful additions not normally found in a Lonely Planet guide. Japan is a country that needs to be visited time and time again to discover its many aspects and this guide certainly provides all the necessary information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lonely Planet always good and Japan is a wonderful edition, 24 July 2014
By 
miss d doherty (LA SELVA BEACH, CALIFORNIA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Japan (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Its a lovely colourful and informative book and has good suggestions which were helpful. Heavy though and weighs your carry around bag down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, easily maneuverable, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Japan (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Good, easily maneuverable. Could do with a bit more intelligence on bars (japanese night life isn't like western ones). Cheers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Japan (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Japan (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet Japan (Travel Guide) by Wendy Yanagihara (Paperback - 13 Sep 2013)
9.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews