Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great inspiration for the traveller - presented impeccably
This is the perfect coffee table book to inspire you and your friends / family. The book is the same paperback that has been published for a few years and the only downside is that it quick outdates itself. The book provides informative guides on typical tourist destinations (countries, regions, cities) in addition to suggesting untouched or unusual destinations which...
Published on 15 Dec 2011 by matigrebooks

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lonely Planets Best in Travel
This by the highly respected Lonely Planet company, though quite where this book is aimed I'm not sure? It says on the cover the Best Trends, Destinations etc for the coming year. To me it's not a coffee table book but the kind you buy in the airport or railway station to help pass the time. The headings give the Ten top Countries, Regions, Cities,top travel lists etc,...
Published on 15 Dec 2011 by R. Gardner


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lonely Planets Best in Travel, 15 Dec 2011
By 
R. Gardner "Corriebob" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet's Best in Travel 2012 (Lonely Planet Travel Reference) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This by the highly respected Lonely Planet company, though quite where this book is aimed I'm not sure? It says on the cover the Best Trends, Destinations etc for the coming year. To me it's not a coffee table book but the kind you buy in the airport or railway station to help pass the time. The headings give the Ten top Countries, Regions, Cities,top travel lists etc, The sections within each division is 4 pages with an extremely general description including approx costs of beer, accommodation, language, population etc, Gives festivals dates and thing you must not miss. nothing of any great depth or detail, If you had already decided to visit a particular country you would be better buying one of the great guides by the same company on that one..In its favour is the fact that it is will not take up a lot of room in your bag, It also has bits of interesting info to enjoy. Nice photos as you would expect from the Lonely Planet company..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great inspiration for the traveller - presented impeccably, 15 Dec 2011
By 
matigrebooks "matigrebooks" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet's Best in Travel 2012 (Lonely Planet Travel Reference) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the perfect coffee table book to inspire you and your friends / family. The book is the same paperback that has been published for a few years and the only downside is that it quick outdates itself. The book provides informative guides on typical tourist destinations (countries, regions, cities) in addition to suggesting untouched or unusual destinations which aren't ordinarily on most itineraries. The book also showcases themed guides (Olympics, Food (Soup!), places with Tram systems) which bring together the most dissimilar places on a theme.

I have to say that I would buy this book on a regular basis as it does serve as inspiration for the traveller, especially when presenting destinations by theme. Not only do you discover where the action / events and expos are taking place in the forthcoming 12 months - it also allows you to see different aspects of the world when assessing places by theme (e.g. lining up places that look like going to 'Middle Earth' (genius!)). In fact, that French town is now on my list...

Best of all, for those who are taking leave / sabbaticals / gap years or are upping and leaving, it provides a travel and event planner to guide your way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good-looking, but small, 12 Dec 2011
By 
L. Goldsmith (Featherstone) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet's Best in Travel 2012 (Lonely Planet Travel Reference) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I thought this would be a somptuous atlas of destinations, it is in fact a small paperback. It is heavility illustrated with wonderful pictures though and the list of suggestions is far from predictable. It made us wish to visit Sicilly and this is now on our list of things to do in 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting ideas for the moment, 16 Aug 2012
By 
Scott A. Mckenzie (Selkirk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet's Best in Travel 2012 (Lonely Planet Travel Reference) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have had several of these books in the past and they are always a joy to read. I particularly love to hear about new, emerging holiday destinations that whet the appetite for exploration. I like the way the book introduces the destinations according to type and specific features which allows you to focus on your own needs - no good looking at great beaches if you're a city traveller !
My only concern is that the series will run out of genuinly inspirational destinations and therefore it's choices for feature destinations may become a little arbitrary, however that's only my opinion ! I've not actually chosen a holiday based on a recommendation from the book, but then I'm not sure anyone would, however it does provide plenty of ideas for the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, 28 Jun 2012
By 
Lucy Felthouse (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet's Best in Travel 2012 (Lonely Planet Travel Reference) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Best in Travel 2012 is a brilliant book. It tells you everything you need to know, and then some about various destinations across the planet. It gives reasons why you should go to each place in 2012, gives background on the area, festivals and events, bizarre sights, fads, random facts and much, much more.

If you've got wanderlust but don't know where to go or when, this book will help you decide. Either that or you'll start saving money like crazy so you can start ticking these wonderful places off your 'to visit' list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Another great read..., 21 Jun 2012
By 
Cat (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet's Best in Travel 2012 (Lonely Planet Travel Reference) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Best in Travel 2012 is another great production from Lonely Planet. Fascinating for travel enthusiasts who want to be inspired, this book has beautiful pictures and inspiring facts and treats about the places they recommend. I would have liked maybe a little more information on each place but as a coffee table book, this is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I'm not sure, 15 Mar 2012
By 
Alexa (East Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lonely Planet's Best in Travel 2012 (Lonely Planet Travel Reference) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
To be honest I'm not really sure what the aim of this book is. It's interesting but I can't see why someone would buy it. It gives ideas of general tourist destinations, events, festivals and that sort of thing. It doesn't give enough information on any one topic to buy it specifically for that and there is no way you'd be able to do even half the things mentioned in the book. If I was going to visit a town or a country I would buy the guide to that specific place. I agree with a previous reviewer, this seems like the sort of book that I would browse while waiting for the hair dresser or a doctor's appointment. It could also be useful if you are having a gap year and need some ideas but it wouldn't be the sort of book I would take with me.

The information it gives is useful but, as can be seen from the title, is only relevant for 2012 so will quickly become useless. As usual with a lonely planet guide it has wonderful pictures and lots of them. However I think this book has a limited audience. If you want a general overview, maybe a few ideas for this year, then this would be good. But if you're looking for a proper guide then try something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The World at your Fingertips, 25 Feb 2012
By 
Mrs. D. J. Smith "eowyngreenleaf" (Luton, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet's Best in Travel 2012 (Lonely Planet Travel Reference) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Want to know what's hot and what's not in 2012? Lonely's Planet's Best in Travel 2012 is your guide to the top spots in the world for the coming year.

Top 007 Destinations? Check! Top 10 places to watch the apocalypse? Check! This book really does have a bit of everything and is a good read if you are looking for a bit of real life travel inspiration, or are just an armchair explorer! It's even got a picture of someone's unclothed buttocks on page 136......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiration for armchair travellers and genuine globetrotters, 15 Feb 2012
By 
N. Gratton "Writer & Photographer" (Exeter) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet's Best in Travel 2012 (Lonely Planet Travel Reference) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a very dippable book, with top-ten lists of countries, regions and cities to visit, as well as a number of other categories - top spots to witness the apocalypse (well, it is 2012 ...), top spots to glamp, top guilty pleasures and so on.

By its very nature it doesn't go into much detail, but it is enough to whet your appetite, inspire you to find out more about destinations and maybe visit them. It's easy to read, eye catching and full of interesting titbits.

Some examples:
- pg 48 - Switzerland - Festivals & Events - "Half a million revellers get their groove on at Zürich's Street Parade (11 August), with love mobiles and DJs pumping out techno and house."
- pg 60 - Northern Kenya - Hot Topic of the Day - "North Kenya may look desolate, featureless and, in some eyes, worthless, but all that will change when the huge wind farm planned for Lake Turkana is completed in 2014. The 353 turbines will provide Kenya with 30% of its current total installed power and turn Turkana into the home of the biggest wind power project in Africa."

The book would make a great gift for any actual - or hopeful - globetrotters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars taste and travel in the world today...., 1 Jan 2012
By 
J. DOUGLAS "Johnny Douglas" (Nr London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet's Best in Travel 2012 (Lonely Planet Travel Reference) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Inspiring, fresh, zippy and information rich..... Here comes a fresh and fun coffee-table style format book.
Lonely Planet are understandably proven in their track-record to deliver as a trust-worthy travel companion.
Despite the glossy functions, this is not super indepth but a great starter for life and possiblities around the world in the year ahead.....
Attractive and a great global taster!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet's Best in Travel 2012 (Lonely Planet Travel Reference)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews