Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good up to date guide book
We used this guide book during our stay this June. I am a long time user of LP guides but the new lay-out took me some time to get used to but then it worked fine.
Published 22 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Some very misleading descriptions
Some of the descriptions of places to visit were very misplaced. For example when staying in Ubud, we decided to visit what was described in the travel guide as a Elephant Sanctuary. However once we has arrived we soon realized it was anything but! Poor elephants were exploited for rides ALL day long, and chained up when not working away from their young. I found this...
Published 4 months ago by Miss Morgan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Some very misleading descriptions, 19 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Bali & Lombok (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Some of the descriptions of places to visit were very misplaced. For example when staying in Ubud, we decided to visit what was described in the travel guide as a Elephant Sanctuary. However once we has arrived we soon realized it was anything but! Poor elephants were exploited for rides ALL day long, and chained up when not working away from their young. I found this place very upsetting to visit. How Lonely planet could sell this place as a Sanctuary is beyond me! I have since contacted the Bali animal welfare association to take action against this park. Poor historical information in the book and a lack of information about how to travel around bali and prices for travel.
Also, they described a market in Jimbaran as the best thing since sliced bread. On arrival found it was just a large expensive department store? No real information for how to practically get to the major sites your self.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Once again, a lazy, outdated "new" edition, 25 May 2013
By 
This review is from: Lonely Planet Bali & Lombok (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
There is simply no excuse for Lonely Planet reissuing a guide to Bali and Lombok and conning you into thinking this is anything other than a tarted up rehash of old material. Whole sections have been reprinted in full from earlier editions, whilst the restaurant guide is woefully inaccurate (try going for a drink at Coffee and Silver in Ubud now, as the owner very sadly died over a year ago, it then stood empty for 12 months, and is now a building site). The jokes in the guide, whilst always thin, are nothing more than irritating when you read them the 3rd successive "update". Ubud market, pulled down last year, is in a limbo with Lonely Planet, despite having been fully rebuilt and reopened prior to the guide's release (and it would have been nice to know that the Ubud planning authorities ruined it by sanitising it).

If you have an old edition, don't bother getting the latest incarnation, and frankly, as the information is so inaccurate, I'd recommend the DK Guide over Lonely P.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too detailed. Too confusing., 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Bali & Lombok (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I was going to Bali for a week and hoped to find a detailed weekly tour recommendation in this book. I didnt find it in this book. It's really messy and there are no middle range hotel recommendations. They are either extremelly expensive or extremelly cheap. This book definitely didnt meet my expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good up to date guide book, 19 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Bali & Lombok (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
We used this guide book during our stay this June. I am a long time user of LP guides but the new lay-out took me some time to get used to but then it worked fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Accurate, up to date pragmatic view of how to enjoy Bali according to what kind of holiday you want., 3 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Bali & Lombok (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Very useful book if you want to see the main sights, and a comprehensive guide to the less visited parts of the island, and also enough information about Bali's history and culture to set the context of what you're seeing. We definitely got the best of the island just by careful planning using this book. Bali is many things to many people, not all of it attractive, however we managed to find our places on the island where we were happy with what we did and saw, much of it thanks to this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really good guides, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Bali & Lombok (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This particulare edition may not be the best as we found multiple errors in it and some pretty bad maps (including one that had us horribly lost in the middle of nowhere. We're avid hikers and could not seem follow their directions. Casual walkers will have NO chance.)

All in all, they're a great time-saver. Their restaurant and hotel reviews are quite useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good way to know a little bit of Bali and Lombock before travelling, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Bali & Lombok (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
As usually the guide is divided by region - what to see, where to stay, what to do, where to eat in teh different areas in Bali.
It is also a good way to know a little bit of Bali to prepare a visit - it gives us info on where to stay: if you prefer beach to surf or to relax, or if you want to stay in a more quite place (or not).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Love lonely planet guides, 16 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Bali & Lombok (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Love lonely planet guides, this guidebook is one of the first from lonely planet where I felt some recommendations and write-ups were very out of date or just not correct. It was a huge help for researching temples and finding out more about the taxi system and pricing for taxis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A lot of words, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Bali & Lombok (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This book has too much text and no pictures. It's not worthy to buy to be honest even for text, because it's more advertising about places (restaurants, hotels and etc).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you expect from a lonely planet guide. All ..., 18 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Bali & Lombok (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Everything you expect from a lonely planet guide. All the do's and don'ts, places to stay and things to see.
All the more excited for my trip!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Bali & Lombok (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet Bali & Lombok (Travel Guide) by Adam Skolnick (Paperback - 19 April 2013)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews