Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good starting point for travel in 2011
I sent for this book because I am about ready to start travelling again after a period of more than 10 years without setting foot outside the UK. This little book is an excellant place to start planning from. It outlines in the beginning section the most enticing places to go next year with the helpful information of what times are best. End of March to beginning of April...
Published on 11 Nov 2010 by trishthedish

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars World in miniature!
This is a small format book - about 7 x 6 inches - comprised entirely of 'hot-lists', including 'Best Secret Islands', 'World's Greatest Bookshops', and '10-best Things to Climb'.

It sounds quite interesting on paper, but the execution falls a bit short, with many of the attractions meriting just a single paragraph and no accompanying photograph. In common with...
Published on 12 Dec 2010 by RM/TM


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good starting point for travel in 2011, 11 Nov 2010
By 
trishthedish (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet's Best in Travel 2011 (Lonely Planet General Reference) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I sent for this book because I am about ready to start travelling again after a period of more than 10 years without setting foot outside the UK. This little book is an excellant place to start planning from. It outlines in the beginning section the most enticing places to go next year with the helpful information of what times are best. End of March to beginning of April for Japan, for instance (its the time of the famous cherry blossom season). There are later sections explaining more things in depth and more locations, not enough that you have it all here, granted. But then this book is really meant as an introduction; if you wanted to know more about a particular destination, you would have to read further. The only thing I would add is that if you have travelled frequently in the last few years, you might presumably know a lot of this information anyway? For someone like myself though, its ideal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars World in miniature!, 12 Dec 2010
By 
RM/TM (UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet's Best in Travel 2011 (Lonely Planet General Reference) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a small format book - about 7 x 6 inches - comprised entirely of 'hot-lists', including 'Best Secret Islands', 'World's Greatest Bookshops', and '10-best Things to Climb'.

It sounds quite interesting on paper, but the execution falls a bit short, with many of the attractions meriting just a single paragraph and no accompanying photograph. In common with other reviewers, I found some of the lists a bit arbitrary - I might have expected destinations to figure in this book based on some major cultural event or festival taking place, but this doesn't seem to be the case, with locations seemingly picked out of thin air.

The near-pocket-sized format suggests this volume is meant to be carried around, yet it doesn't contain the sort of info necessary to merit being packed - for example, there are no maps or transport information included. Assuming then, that this is designed to provide pre-trip inspiration only, I can't really work out why there aren't more pictures and the format isn't more coffee-table than compact and bijoux. A bit disappointing,really, given the previous high quality of Lonely Planet guides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice little book for inspiration, 4 Jan 2011
By 
K. Wright - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet's Best in Travel 2011 (Lonely Planet General Reference) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Whether looking for inspiration for your next getway or just dream of foreign climes from your armchair, this book is for you. Living up to the high standard I've come to expect from Lonely Planet this is a small but nicely put together collection. Split into top 10 lists focussing on Top 10 countries, regions and cities there is something to inspire. Each destination is given 4 pages including a fact box, photos and around 8 small paragraphs including an introduction, defining experience, festivals and events and random facts and thus offers a tiny taster of each place. It is a smaller and cheaper addition to the LP collection and whilst is not as useful as their guidebooks nor as magnificent as their coffee table tomes, is still worthwhile for anyone dreaming of exotic, and not so exotic, locations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Guide but..., 25 Nov 2011
This review is from: Lonely Planet's Best in Travel 2011 (Lonely Planet General Reference) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Lonely planet is the king of the hill when we talk about travel guides...
The book gives short explanation (maybe a little bit too short) about the destinations and these are accompanied with excellent photos. The size of the book is not very big so it would be very easy to take it where you are going. This guide is not as detailed as other country/city guides of LP. On the other hand, the content looks more like a reading an article on a magazine. I mean you can easily find this info on the net - provided that you spend enough time & energy..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars all a matter of opinion..., 17 Mar 2011
This review is from: Lonely Planet's Best in Travel 2011 (Lonely Planet General Reference) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
bit of a difficult sell this book - feels more like an advert for a visit rather that the warts and all guide you expect from lonely planet. I think you could categorise it as the book similar to the guide you have with a box of chocolates - simply describing very briefly what's on offer and allowing you the choice to decide where you want to investigate further. Sure it will be a book that will live on a student's shelf before embarking on a gap year (Ghent in belgium one of the top ten cities in the world? seriously - what did I miss on that economics tour of 1994 that has made this place a mecca for tourists....)
In short a book that may simply encourage you to delve deeper into travelling or a book that will simply make you decide that you know where the fashionable sloane type people will be going so you can go elsewhere. It's all a matter of your opinion - average.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars for daydreaming, 3 Feb 2011
By 
Caroline (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet's Best in Travel 2011 (Lonely Planet General Reference) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I don't suppose I'm the audience for this book, which features possible excursions and things to do around the world. Good for fantasy 'what if' reading but not really practical in any sense (unless you're a jet-setting travel writer). But I don't suppose that's what it's for, eh? It's good for planning trips you'll never go on and for daydreaming fantasies. It's reasonably well written with it's fair share of hyperbole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but not what is says on the can !, 27 Jan 2011
By 
Scott A. Mckenzie (Selkirk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet's Best in Travel 2011 (Lonely Planet General Reference) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This glossy book is really a coffee table book, not a travel guide ! The information is well presented, illustrated with excellent photography and a joy to read. Unfortunately, it's not really a practical guide to travel but more an voyeuristic view on the world. I'm not sure whether the book provides any holiday ideas of insider information but it is still a nice read - typical of the Lonely Planet Range !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillaint Little Book, 20 Jan 2011
By 
Wendy Jones "wjones7423" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet's Best in Travel 2011 (Lonely Planet General Reference) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I love travel books and I particularly love this little book. I spent a very pleasant couple of hours looking it through and finding some places I ahd never thought of visiting. In depth it is not, but it does give you some brilliant short descriptions which could lead you to explore more about the area if you decided to visit. As an added bonus the pcitures and photography are spectacular, and had my feet itchingt to travel and to visit the places which were described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where are they going?, 15 Dec 2010
By 
Amazon Customer "maria2222" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet's Best in Travel 2011 (Lonely Planet General Reference) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I struggle to see the point of this book. The stated aim of "Drawing on the knowledge, passion and miles travelled by Lonely Planet's staff, authors and online community, we present a year's worth of travel inspiration to take you out of the ordinary and into some unforgettable experiences" is definitely not met. The 4 or so pages per destination (of which more than half is dedicated to photos or random facts) doesn't provide sufficient information - or even appetizers - to justify its inclusion on the list. I appreciate that due to the page limitation, history, geography, culture etc. of the destination will have to give way to more colourful selling points, but for some of the entries the authors haven't bothered providing ONE reason for going there - it all just adds up to mindless babble. This would have worked well as a blog entry on Lonely Planet's website, but as a book it certainly will have no impact on my travel decisions for the coming year.

2 stars for contents and 1 for a few nice pictures and for the reasonable price tag
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of good travel ideas, 1 Dec 2010
By 
Paul (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet's Best in Travel 2011 (Lonely Planet General Reference) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My problem with travel is not that I don't know where to visit next; rather, it's best described as me usually having too many ideas of where I'd like to go.

However, in reality there's no such thing as 'too many ideas' of where to travel next. I may have visited a lot of countries already during my lifetime, but there are plenty of others which are still on my list.

The nice thing about books such as 'Lonely Planet's Best In Travel 2011' is that they give you inspiration and ideas even if you aren't necessarily looking for any.

Whether you're planning on purchasing this book as a coffee-table accessory or as a genuine collection of travel ideas, it's a lovely compilation of potential places to visit. Divided neatly into top-10's (top 10 countries, top 10 cities etc), it brings together a nice collection of places - some which you may have visited already, some which are on your radar - and importantly plenty of others which you've likely never considered.

I'm sure it would suit the traveller in your family and make an excellent stocking filler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet's Best in Travel 2011 (Lonely Planet General Reference)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews