Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Comprehensive Guide
This is a hefty tome of over a thousand pages as befits a country as large and diverse as France. The first fifty or so pages cover the usual general topics such as a month by month guide, suggested itineraries and the obligatory fifteen top sites which are largely subjective, but included the obvious ones such as Mont St Michel and the Eiffel Tower.

The meat...
Published 10 months ago by Brett H

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Kindle edition is terrible.
After using a number of excellent Lonely Planet guides in the past, I decided to buy the Kindle version for a trip to France. What a mistake this proved to be! My main gripe was the ridiculous lack of information about anywhere except for the major tourist cities. Many of the towns, cities (e.g. Le Mans) and other attractions (e.g. Tiffauges castle) I visited, to my...
Published 10 months ago by eneeve


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Usefulness, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet France: 10 (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I only wanted to find out about two specific areas to be visited during the summer time. The book tries to cover everything and one of the areas of interest is popular for winter activities, hence there was a lot of information about this, but of no direct relevance to me. The book is also too heavy to take along especially with the need to travel light. However, I hope to make further use of the book when checking out other areas to visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful and Interesting, 22 May 2013
By 
E. Smith (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet France: 10 (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I'm always a bit wary of full-country guide books as they can often be quite superficial, so my hopes for this weren't too high. I'm pleased to say that my expectations have been exceeded, as this book has turned out to be more useful and interesting that I imagined.

It's a solid, weighty book, at just over 1,000 pages and is broken down into Paris (including pull-out map) and about 18 or 19 other areas. In addition, there are the usual information pages regarding history, culture, cuisine, transport and the main sights. It's actually more varied and detailed than you would probably expect for such a wide subject matter.

One of the things I liked about the book was that the main text was broken up by information boxes, maps and even a few (but never enough) photographs. Also, to lessen the pain of looking at 1,000 pages of mostly text, the book makes liberal use of different size and colour fonts, making it a lot easier to read and decipher.

As to the quality of the information provided, I looked at a few areas I was familiar with, including one I was at just last week, and I'd have to say that the information is pretty accurate and therefore useful. Some of the prices may have gone up a bit, but other than that there are no obvious clangers.

Due to the nature of this nationwide guide, it's inevitable that some (many) areas of interest will be glossed over or even ignored completely. As this covers the main sights that those maybe less familiar with the country would probably be interested in first, it would make sense for people looking a bit more off the beaten track to buy more area-specific guides which would probably have the greater depth required.

France being the wonderful, interesting, scenic and historic country that it is, deserves many visits to many different areas, so if nothing else, this book allows you an overview of most areas and gives you the basic information you need to narrow your search down.

I'd use this to plan which area you want, then buy a smaller specific guide to actually take on holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An encyclopedic guide to the "movable feast"..., 15 May 2013
By 
John P. Jones III (Albuquerque, NM, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet France: 10 (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
France remains the most visited country in the world. There is no "per capita" adjustment that need be made. In terms of total visitors each year, they exceed the population. In my opinion, "Lonely Planet" remains the premier travel guide. This recently issued guide (for the summer, 2013 season), is "encyclopedic" in nature, over a 1000 pages. After the traveler has seen "Pariee", and is prepared to look at the regions where the farms are located, this is the essential trip-planning guide.

The first forty pages are devoted to a general overview of France, with special sections on, for example, traveling with children. There are several proposed itineraries, of the 10 day to two week variety. The guide is structured around 20 regional areas, and if one of these "pushes your hot button," this may be the guide for you. They are as follows: Around Paris; Lille, Flanders & the Somme; Normandy; Brittany; Champagne; Alsace & Lorraine; The Loire Valley; Burgundy; Lyon & the Rhone Valley; French Alps & the Jura Mountains; Massif Central; Limousin, the Dordogne & the Lot; Atlantic Coast; Basque Country; The Pyrenees; Toulouse Area; Languedoc-Roussillon; Provence; The French Riviera & Monaco; and Corsica.

In each of the 20 sections of the guide, the best places to eat and stay are indicated, along with the REASON for going, and the best time of year for a visit. The guide tends to focus on the principal cities in the region, along with the national parks, and provides contact information, along with a brief description of the hotels and restaurants. Similar information is displayed for "the sights." Highlighted information covers diverse subjects, for example, in the Massif Central, the "Fiery Furnaces," that is, the volcanoes, and "The Black Madonnas of the Auvergne," seemingly odd in a region almost exclusively settled by whites. Even inveterate travelers to France may learn something new. For example, in a "Don't Miss" highlight, this year's European Capital of Culture is three cities in Provence: Marseille, Aix and Arles.

The last 100 pages is again a "overview" sections on France, and includes the current status of the country, the history, the people, the food and wine, arts and architecture and lyrical landscapes. There is also a pull-out map on Paris.

In terms of "the wonder that is France," even an encyclopedic guide can only barely scratch the surface. B&B's are one of my favorite accommodations. There are no specific recommendations, not much more than a website for the "gites d'etape." If a bit of quiet isolation is "your thing," I'd recommend (Chambres d'hÃ'tes secrètes (French Edition)). Likewise, if multi-day hiking across France is attractive, the guide provides little information, but does at least list the website for the "Grande Randonées," the network of trails that weave across the country.

Overall, another superlative guide from Lonely Planet. 5-stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heavy but helpful, 14 May 2013
By 
E. H. (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet France: 10 (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My first thought when this arrived was that I was going to have to reconsider the size of the handbag I was planning to take away with me- it's a chunky read with just over 1000 pages, but I would say it's definitely worth the extra weight.

I was looking for a guide for a short trip to Paris we were planning and wanted to ensure we made the most of our time, and with the possibility of further travels to the south of France and the reputation of Lonely Planet guides I decided this was the book for me. And I really haven't been disappointed. There is a good sized pull out street map of Paris included as well as smaller detailed maps of the different areas of the city. It highlights the top sights in each area, along with recommendations for eating, drinking, sleeping, entertainment and shopping. There are also more comprehensive lists further on with all the details you need (address, opening times, price guide and a brief review).

I can only comment on the Paris section as that is all we have used so far, and from reading other reviews it may not be suitable for more experienced travellers who have already 'done' the main attractions but for a short break or first time visitor I think it's great and it will definitely be coming in my (slightly larger) handbag on any future trips to France.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oh la la la, 8 May 2013
By 
the lambanana "the lambanana" (liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet France: 10 (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
WOW
===
I normally purchase a guidebook or two when visiting places that we intend to holiday at.
I am taken with the excellent pictures in the DK guides DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: France and the American slanted (although very good) Frommer's guides. Frommer's France Day by Day (Frommer's Day by Day - Full Size)
My expectations were low with the Lonely Planet guide as I have tended to find they're a little too wordy and difficult to browse when out and about. However, (you knew they'd be a however) this is a well presented, informative, and all round rather good.

RATHER GOOD
===========
Yes. For example, Cannes. It doesn't focus on the two week spectacle, rather, it tells of it's charm, small town feel, and has an accurate map.

Each location has enough to interesting details to tempt you to visit one of the best places in the world: France.

RECOMMENDED
===========
Yes, it has attractive, accompanying photographs, is well written, and brings to life the charms and not so charming aspects of France.
I particularly like that it doesn't simply dwell on Paris.
Overall a useful addition to your suitcase whilst on holiday or researching beforehand.
It will make your holiday a better experience

Bon Voyage!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the new layout, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet France: 10 (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Updated (2013) version very much improved since last issue. Cleaner and clearer layout. Also added maps and site information graphics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Make room in your backpack :-), 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet France: 10 (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Lots of useful information, and well organized by region. I would have liked to have more hints on making lodging choices, e.g. which neighborhoods to choose, but honestly I don;t see how they could have crammed more info into the tome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book., 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet France: 10 (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Not inspirational about france but everything you need to plan a trip around the country. Cant wait to go this summer!F
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet France: 10 (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet France: 10 (Travel Guide) by Catherine Le Nevez (Paperback - 1 Mar 2013)
£12.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews