Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tells you everything you need to know
I bought this guide for my trip to Paris (who would have thought?) and wasn't disappointed. Having used Lonely Planet guides for years, I really enjoyed the new look of this guide. Colour pictures and additional details (incl. maps) of top sights (e.g. the Louvre) are really helpful, as are any other suggestions in this book. We've tried a couple of restaurants and coffee...
Published 10 months ago by Marc Rettig

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Less is more...
Things I like about this book.

It's divided by region/arrondisement and comprehensively covers attractions, eating and nightlife for each area individually. This is my favourite type of layout for a travel guide as it means you have access to all the necessary information for your locale, rather than having to sift through an entire chapter on, say, dining in...
Published 19 months ago by RM/TM


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Less is more..., 16 May 2013
By 
RM/TM (UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet Paris (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Things I like about this book.

It's divided by region/arrondisement and comprehensively covers attractions, eating and nightlife for each area individually. This is my favourite type of layout for a travel guide as it means you have access to all the necessary information for your locale, rather than having to sift through an entire chapter on, say, dining in Paris to find one decent bistro that's close by.

It goes into some depth on a number of key attractions ('Top Sights'), for example the Eiffel tower is discussed level by level, ticket purchase and viewing strategies, timing of the sparkly light shows, plus the history of the various paint jobs. Ditto Notre Dame, with info on the rose windows, treasury, towers and crypt, plus construction and historical timeline, and Haynes manualesque exploded diagram of the interior.

The general sections on fashion, architecture, visual arts, literary Paris are nicely done, as is the survival guide at the back - all the essential info on medical services, public holidays, electricity etc very well set out with bold headers and red dividers. Unusually comprehensive map section, with individual maps for particular regions rather than one continuous map that disappears annoyingly over the page!

Things I'm less keen on.

There's a lot of space devoted to accommodation. It's pointless, because almost everyone researches this on the net before they go.

There are just too many entries overall, and it's difficult to decide what might be worth reading (and thus visiting). There seems to be some sort of contest among the more serious guides to be as wordy and weighty as possible, when actually I find I get a lot more out of a more pared down format (see the Lonely Planet 'Discover Barcelona' 2013 edition for an example of a really successful layout).

Ok, but not a must-have in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful as always, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lonely Planet is my go-to travel guide, wherever I travel to. The Paris one doesn't disappoint. It covers the city in the detail I have come to expect from the series. Well-researched and well worth getting if you're planning a trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tells you everything you need to know, 1 Feb 2014
By 
Marc Rettig - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Paris (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I bought this guide for my trip to Paris (who would have thought?) and wasn't disappointed. Having used Lonely Planet guides for years, I really enjoyed the new look of this guide. Colour pictures and additional details (incl. maps) of top sights (e.g. the Louvre) are really helpful, as are any other suggestions in this book. We've tried a couple of restaurants and coffee shops suggested and were never disappointed. Long story short, it's a great companion that tells you everything you need to know on your Paris trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and Informative, 12 Sep 2013
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet Paris (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This Lonely Planet Guide to Paris follows the recent format for this series of books. The first seventy pages of this 430 page book are dedicated to more general topics such as general advice, what to do with kids, what's free, galleries and museums, month by month and, of course, the obligatory Top 16. The latter is less subjective than for a large country guide and includes such places as the obvious Arc de Triomphe, Eiffel Tower and Notre Dame.

The meat of the guide is in the next 230 pages or so which is divided into ten areas of the city. In each of these the major sites are described and there are suggestions as to where to eat and drink. Personally I find the where to go sections of this sort of guide to be the most useful. Too often the information on restaurants is out of date, whilst I personally use resources such as Tripadvisor to sort out suitable accommodation these days. However, to be fair the description of places to visit is well put together and there is a useful top sites by area guide for each of the neighbourhoods. The sort of information essential for the tourist is all there, such as when does it open, what is the cost etc. The book finishes off with more general information and a useful survival guide together with quite a comprehensive mapping section.

Paris is a large and diverse city. If you are planning a visit of more than a day or two it is probably worth your while to purchase a city guide rather than relying on the country guide. The detailed information here is about twice what you would find in the Lonely Planet France Guide and is comprehensive and informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent maps and very easy to use, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Paris (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Excellent maps and very easy to use. Sometimes felt that there was too much writing so difficult to quickly grab the information you need while you're huddled under an umbrella and trying to keep a tight grip of your bag! Information is very useful when you have more time though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best, 31 May 2014
By 
Emmabemma (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Paris (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
You cannot beat Lonely Planet for their take on any country and this is a comprehensive look at Paris with pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Parisian bible, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Paris (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Fantastic book covering each area of Paris in detail. Top recommendations and handy tips made this book an absolute treasure when planning our trip to Paris. Well done Lonely Planet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Paris (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Ideal guide to the most fantastic city.
Absolutely loved our time there, and the LP guide is the most detailed we could find that was still in a usable format.
Parts of the city south of the Eiffel Tower could do with a bit more coverage, but apart from that it was very useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book arund, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book that everyone should have when going to Paris. Putting it on the kindle makes it better as its not as heavy as the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good travel guide, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Paris (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I found this travel guide very useful. It has all the important information about Paris. Good value of money. A
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Paris (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet Paris (Travel Guide) by Nicola Williams (Paperback - 18 Jan 2013)
£10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews