Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lonely Planet up to their usual standard!
Lonely Planet guides are invaluable for their wealth of information, local advice and honest reviews of a huge range of attractions and locations in the city. The handy map at the back is great for when you get lost (even includes a subway map) and the restaurant reviews cater for all budgets and tastes. A nice touch is that the average price of a main course/tapas dish...
Published 20 months ago by Fire_Is_Born

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Read, But Not Good For Getting Around
The content is very interesting and it's certainly worth reading, but as a guide book it fails to guide you. The maps are very disjointed and for some reason Lonely Planet don't have north point upwards like everyone else uses, so it makes comparing them to other maps a little weird.

More annoyingly, an article will tell you that the site/bar/hotel/etc it's...
Published 4 months ago by Mr. I. J. Mangles


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lonely Planet up to their usual standard!, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Barcelona (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Lonely Planet guides are invaluable for their wealth of information, local advice and honest reviews of a huge range of attractions and locations in the city. The handy map at the back is great for when you get lost (even includes a subway map) and the restaurant reviews cater for all budgets and tastes. A nice touch is that the average price of a main course/tapas dish is shown for each restaurant -handy for travelers on a budget!
My only slight nag with it is that it is organised by district. This is sometimes very helpful, but not so good if you are trying to find a particular activity and don't know which district it might be in. Of course that's what the index is for - I think it's personal preference, it depends how you're trying to use it. I found it slowed me down enough to give it 4*s, although the content itself more than makes up for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good, I particularly like the four day visit pages on what to see. I will follow it when I visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3 night stay, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Barcelona (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
a great guide, for a short visit to Barcelona with some suggested itineraries, which can be tailored to suit individual needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Read, But Not Good For Getting Around, 29 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Barcelona (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
The content is very interesting and it's certainly worth reading, but as a guide book it fails to guide you. The maps are very disjointed and for some reason Lonely Planet don't have north point upwards like everyone else uses, so it makes comparing them to other maps a little weird.

More annoyingly, an article will tell you that the site/bar/hotel/etc it's discussing can be found on the map on page X, so you go to the map on page X and whilst that map will have several other sites (or whatever) listed, it won't have the one you're looking for in the legend. You're left wondering if they've pointed you to the wrong map or if they've just forgotten to mark the map - either way, you have no idea where it is...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really helpful, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Barcelona (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I found this book really helpful on my trip and the map in the back was great much better than the free ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars guide to barcelona, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Barcelona (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
overall good guide could have been clearer about transport but we used it a lot while we were there good general information on all tourist sites and eateries would recommend this to everyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wet my appetite!, 8 Aug 2013
By 
M. W. Thompson (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Barcelona (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Going to Barcelona soon. This book has made confident that I'm going to get the best out of my time there. Can't wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best travel guide I've ever bought, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Barcelona (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This book was totally invaluable for a 2x day visit to the city. We found incredible places to eat and drink and it must have saved us hours of wandering and pondering. A must if you are only in Barcelona for a short period of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars book review, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Barcelona (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Not quite what I expected but got lots of places to see. Would have liked to have seen a better eating out section
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barcelona Lonely Planet, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Barcelona (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Found the guide really useful and informative. It helped make a fantastic trip . Can't wait to use it again next time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Barcelona (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet Barcelona (Travel Guide) by Vesna Maric (Paperback - 9 Nov 2012)
£9.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews