Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very usable guide
Lonely planet guides set the standard easy to follow and containing the the necessary basic information with a good selection of high quality photo's.
Published 8 months ago by Wizzer

versus
41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars LP is OK, but...
Lonely Planet is tried and true with its recommendations for eating, lodging, tours and such, but this book won't really invite and show you the "real" New Zealand. LonelyP basically shows you the touristy New Zealand that it has helped create, and everywhere you travel in New Zealand that is recommended in LP now seems overly touristy. In my opinion, if you want to get...
Published on 12 Nov 2012 by Randy Ell


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars LP is OK, but..., 12 Nov 2012
By 
Randy Ell (San Diego, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lonely Planet New Zealand (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Lonely Planet is tried and true with its recommendations for eating, lodging, tours and such, but this book won't really invite and show you the "real" New Zealand. LonelyP basically shows you the touristy New Zealand that it has helped create, and everywhere you travel in New Zealand that is recommended in LP now seems overly touristy. In my opinion, if you want to get into the "real" New Zealand and immerse yourself in the natural wonders of the country, then be sure to get the NZ FRENZY guidebooks. Those books will guide you to the wonders, whereas LonelyP will provide you with the basics of lodging and eating and the other daily needs of travel. Get both and you'll be covered the best. Of the major guidebooks I think LonelyP is the most entertaining to read, especially compared to the dry and drab Fodor's and Frommers. It'd be nice to be able to purchase just one guidebook for NZ travel and that's why I rate this book as only three stars-- because now NZ Frenzy has raised the bar of expectations. Thus, now you should buy both this LonelyP and the Frenzy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jim T, 16 Jan 2013
By 
James Taylor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have the Kindle version. I found it quite hard to find my way around it without an index. I think I would have been better off with the book version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars imrovement needed, 5 Aug 2013
By 
J. Veitch - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Information contained is up to scratch and worth the price. However, drastic improvements are needed to make the book easier to navigate navigate and flick between pages, like you would in an actual book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very usable guide, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet New Zealand (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Lonely planet guides set the standard easy to follow and containing the the necessary basic information with a good selection of high quality photo's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twice the pleasure !, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a first for me! I bought a hard copy of the book some weeks ago to help with our planning of a trip next year. The trouble was I could never pry it out of my husbands hands! Having bought my iPad for the trip to help keep in touch with family at home I decided that the best way to guarantee access would be to have my own copy.
The book is set out so well with terrific pictures and vital information for the traveller. I shall certainly buy future copies of this wonderful guided series for future trips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet New Zealand (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Delivered within time frame. Great book full of useful information, i've had the Australia lonely planet which was brilliant and helped me around Australia no problems, so i know when i eventually do New Zealand this book will do the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle version pretty useless, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The content is good but the way it's been laid out for Kindle makes it pretty useless as a reference book. Shame really...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet New Zealand (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Did the job although a bit big to take away. I removed the pages I needed for my trip.x xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars lots of information, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet New Zealand (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Probably as expected with Lonely Planet this book covers the major sights and gives suggested routes for touring. Some of the hotel information is a bit out of date but there are plenty of other resources to give info of that type
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the New Zealand bible, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet New Zealand (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
As with other Lonely Planets this covers everything and anything you need to know about New Zealand. I used this EVERYDAY during my 6 weeks stay. Compact and good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet New Zealand (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet New Zealand (Travel Guide) by Peter Dragicevich (Paperback - 21 Sep 2012)
£12.79
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews