Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twice the pleasure !
This is a first for me! I bought a hard copy of the book some weeks ago to help with our planning of a trip next year. The trouble was I could never pry it out of my husbands hands! Having bought my iPad for the trip to help keep in touch with family at home I decided that the best way to guarantee access would be to have my own copy.
The book is set out so well with...
Published 18 months ago by carol boulton

versus
41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars LP is OK, but...
Lonely Planet is tried and true with its recommendations for eating, lodging, tours and such, but this book won't really invite and show you the "real" New Zealand. LonelyP basically shows you the touristy New Zealand that it has helped create, and everywhere you travel in New Zealand that is recommended in LP now seems overly touristy. In my opinion, if you want to get...
Published on 12 Nov. 2012 by Randy Ell


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars LP is OK, but..., 12 Nov. 2012
By 
Randy Ell (San Diego, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lonely Planet New Zealand (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Lonely Planet is tried and true with its recommendations for eating, lodging, tours and such, but this book won't really invite and show you the "real" New Zealand. LonelyP basically shows you the touristy New Zealand that it has helped create, and everywhere you travel in New Zealand that is recommended in LP now seems overly touristy. In my opinion, if you want to get into the "real" New Zealand and immerse yourself in the natural wonders of the country, then be sure to get the NZ FRENZY guidebooks. Those books will guide you to the wonders, whereas LonelyP will provide you with the basics of lodging and eating and the other daily needs of travel. Get both and you'll be covered the best. Of the major guidebooks I think LonelyP is the most entertaining to read, especially compared to the dry and drab Fodor's and Frommers. It'd be nice to be able to purchase just one guidebook for NZ travel and that's why I rate this book as only three stars-- because now NZ Frenzy has raised the bar of expectations. Thus, now you should buy both this LonelyP and the Frenzy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jim T, 16 Jan. 2013
By 
James Taylor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have the Kindle version. I found it quite hard to find my way around it without an index. I think I would have been better off with the book version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars imrovement needed, 5 Aug. 2013
By 
J. Veitch - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Information contained is up to scratch and worth the price. However, drastic improvements are needed to make the book easier to navigate navigate and flick between pages, like you would in an actual book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twice the pleasure !, 18 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a first for me! I bought a hard copy of the book some weeks ago to help with our planning of a trip next year. The trouble was I could never pry it out of my husbands hands! Having bought my iPad for the trip to help keep in touch with family at home I decided that the best way to guarantee access would be to have my own copy.
The book is set out so well with terrific pictures and vital information for the traveller. I shall certainly buy future copies of this wonderful guided series for future trips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 24 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet New Zealand (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Delivered within time frame. Great book full of useful information, i've had the Australia lonely planet which was brilliant and helped me around Australia no problems, so i know when i eventually do New Zealand this book will do the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very usable guide, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet New Zealand (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Lonely planet guides set the standard easy to follow and containing the the necessary basic information with a good selection of high quality photo's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide for a solo traveller, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet New Zealand (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I visited New Zealand alone for three weeks last year, and this book was invaluable. It contains information about great sights and places to visit, in addition to helpful maps and tons of practical information about transport, local culture, and staying safe. I used it all the time during my holiday, and it never failed me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great Lonely Planet, 27 Feb. 2014
By 
Emily Morris (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet New Zealand (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I love the Lonely Planet guides to countries and this is no exception. Up to date and accurate, gives all the information you could possibly need on New Zealand. There's even a handy pull out map in the back. Easy to use and split into handy sections so there's no trouble navigating the different areas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle version pretty useless, 11 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The content is good but the way it's been laid out for Kindle makes it pretty useless as a reference book. Shame really...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very practical, 9 Jan. 2014
This was bought as a xmas present for our forthcoming holiday to NZ.It is excellent for finding out all places of interest and lodgings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet New Zealand (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet New Zealand (Travel Guide) by Peter Dragicevich (Paperback - 21 Sept. 2012)
Used & New from: £7.93
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews