Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
29
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 27 April 2011
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Part cook book and part travel book, this is an interesting way to take a look at Turkey and it's culture. As well as some great recipes from meze to deserts, the book also includes some of the author's stories and anecdotes from her time travelling in Turkey. The photography in this book is fantastic, both of the cooked dishes and the country in general. They really put across a feeling of being right there, whether it be the streets of Istanbul or the Turkish countryside.

The recipes themselves are clear to follow and offer a great variety of dishes to try at home. The seafood section particularly caught my eye when browsing through the pages and I can't wait to try each of them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
I don't like spicy food but I like to cook lots of variety this book gives you history of ingredients which I like & it has some good recipes very good so far
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2015
What an amazing book, full of gorgeous recipes and local village food and people.
Fantastic, I would def recommend this without hesitation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2011
Stunning illustrations and wonderful selection of
recipes.

The book was purchased as a present,so well worth the wait.

Many thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 May 2011
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is huge book of recipes and accompanying notes spanning the breadth of Turkish cooking, from simple street food to the more lavish sit down (family) meals.

None of the recipes are particularly lengthy or require items you can't pick up easily in larger supermarkets and none I've tried so far have required specialist cooking techniques that can be difficult in a small domestic kitchen. The ingredients lists gives dual names for ingredients where appropriate (no need to spend hours looking for golden raisins - they're just sultanas!). Helpfully, for someone not experienced in Turkish meals, the majority of the recipes have accompanying photos.

It's worth mentioning that the photography in this book is amazing. Not just the food photos, but the photos accompanying the cooking and cultural notes are wonderful. They really place the meals in their contextual background beautifully and really bring life and depth to the food, rather than simply being a cold list of prepared ingredients.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 April 2011
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
By any means of evaluation, this is a truly beautiful book, combining in the modern style cultural travelogue, photo gallery, practical recipe book and food porn in equal measure. It is minutely observed, well-written and endlessly fascinating as a study of the country and its people; the recipes are authentic and look sublime, yet comprise very few ingredients we cannot source comfortably in these cosmopolitan times. If there is a downside, critics might point to the fact that the text is rosy and uncritical of Turkey, perhaps naive to some wider realities of Turkish society. Is that the place of a recipe book? I would say not, and many more have been equally effusive about the countries they describe. On its own terms, it's hard to imagine this subject being covered more effectively. My congratulations to Ms Kitchen, though I would have liked to see credits given in equal measure to the photographers - they have contributed hugely to the success of this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2012
Fabulous! Great photos and Turkish food is so delicious!! So many interesting facts about this wonderful country, produce and cuisine.
Lovely book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2012
The book we ordered arrived in a few days as advertised. It is in good shape. What else can I said
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 May 2011
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is more than a cookbook. Way, way more than a cookbook!

The book is beautiful from its cover to the last page. It features beautiful images of Turkey and of the food. It gives a great insight into the country as well as the food. The recipes are diverse and well explained. I have had great fun experimenting with food from this book and it's illustrations and text has me yearing to return to Turkey.

Looking to inspire you mediteranean cooking with a new flair then this is the book for you.

Looking for an arnchair read on cuisine and country. Then again this book is for you!

If you only ever buy one cookbook I would make it this one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)