Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rustic comfort food that is stylish, delicious and subtle too.
This book is another corker from Reynaud. What's that now? 4 in the last year and a half or something?

I love Reynaud's idiosyncratic cookbooks. The way he has organized all but one of them around a theme, so 'Pork', 'Terrines' and now 'Roasts'. I loved 'Terrine', the obsessiveness, the inventiveness of writing a book with such a vast array of dishes all...
Published on 9 Oct. 2009 by Colin J. Herd

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
dissappinted although I love this chef
Published 9 months ago by miss malta


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rustic comfort food that is stylish, delicious and subtle too., 9 Oct. 2009
By 
Colin J. Herd "colin j herd" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rôtis (Hardcover)
This book is another corker from Reynaud. What's that now? 4 in the last year and a half or something?

I love Reynaud's idiosyncratic cookbooks. The way he has organized all but one of them around a theme, so 'Pork', 'Terrines' and now 'Roasts'. I loved 'Terrine', the obsessiveness, the inventiveness of writing a book with such a vast array of dishes all centered around terrine-moulds. Those qualities are still present in 'Rotis', but it's a cookbook I'll find myself using much more often. I guess I'm more likely to shove something in a pan in the oven than in a terrine first, but that's my prejudice and I'll eat it.

I like the name of this book. It so much more captures the spirit than the English word 'Roasts' would have but I guess what a reader of this review is really wanting to know is, Are the recipes as good his other books?

I think the recipes are absolutely tremendous. They have the same rustic, honest charm, and they always (in my experience) work, and they always look and taste great. Reynaud's food is traditional, sure, but often stripped-back, uncomplicated, yet with a slight twist, a particular flavour-pairing that really works. He is a master of flattering meat and fish. The chapter on roasting fish is particularly interesting, exciting and tempting to me, with a couple of unusual tuna recipes and a delicious monkfish roast with cockles that I tried this evening to great success.

He resists repeating recipes, (I think... I haven't used a tooth-comb...) but there are thankfully a lot of overlaps in technique, style, humour etc. (I wouldn't have him any other way).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Ideas for Different Roasts, 26 Oct. 2009
This review is from: Rôtis (Hardcover)
I am always looking for ways to jazz up the Sunday Joint and this book offers a multitude of interesting and flavour packed ways to prepare beef, chicken, pork, lamb, fish and game. The book is well organised with a section at the back for side dishes and uses for leftovers.
My one gripe is that the suggested joints might be a little difficult to find for the supermarket shopper, however the recipes can be adapted by the more experienced cook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Husband loves this, 15 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Rôtis (Hardcover)
Bought this for my husband (he loves roasts) after I'd seen the writer on BBC Saturday Kitchen. OK some of the cuts are very expensive but with imagination you can use whatever you have available. Husband has made several recipes from the book and each one has been absolutely delicious. We love the quirky style of layout and approach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roasts with a difference, 25 Mar. 2010
This review is from: Rôtis (Hardcover)
So far every roast that we have cooked from the recipes in this book has been a success. Instructions are good but are a bit cheffy so time to prepare can take a little longer than detailed. If you want to put a new look to your roasts and impress family and friends then this book is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best roast book I've seen, 31 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Rôtis (Hardcover)
I bought this book as a birthday present. It is GREAT. So many types of roasts to cook, with different meats and fish, as well as handy tips on how to cook/techniques. It also has the times each recipe takes at the start of each chapter, so you can pick the beef roast or salmon roast that best suits your time scale i.e. 20 minutes, an hour etc. An excellent and good value buy. Highly recommended. ...Nice looking book too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, 1 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rôtis (Hardcover)
Stephane is my hero! I watched a Saturday Kitchen where he and Nathan Hale were the featured cooks. Stephane was cooking on a green small BBQ and I had never seen one, but knew it would be a wonderful addition to my kitchen. Naturally, anything used on the BBC the license payers have no right to know the name of the products (go figure that one out). So I emailed James Martin and Nathan Hale and these two English super cooks could not be bothered to answer. So I went to Stephane and he immediately told me it was the Big Green Egg and I bought one. I also bought all of his cookbooks as a thank you and they are just great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars meat,fish,poultry,vegetables - all in the oven, 4 Dec. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rôtis (Hardcover)
i bought this book because i hoped it would assist me in purchasing the correct cuts of meat here in france because i'm used to british cuts and i kept buying stuff and cooking it in the wrong way (like roasting a pave of beef and it coming out soooooooooooo tough)
it has been helpful a little on that score i now know how to ask for a rack of lamb in the boucherie (tho i havent yet cos its so expensive)and i can always take the book in to the butcher and say 'i want one of them'
I have made the pork loin with ginger,lamb shanks with beans (with chopped anchovies!)and adapted the sea bass recipe for river caught perch...and they were all utterly delicious..just waiting to be given some sanglier so i can try out the wild boar recipes.
I also like the photos because they show you what the dish will look like when you cook it not after the photographer has played with the lighting, got all the angles right and ponced stuff up with fancy crockery and flowers (cookery porn i call it)
Recommended...............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Meat Book, 17 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Rôtis (Hardcover)
This is a really good book to have in your Kitchen Book Stand
I got it bought as a present for Christmas and use it all the time
Explains cuts of meat and so far all the recipes have been excellent
Now deciding which of his books to buy next
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 7 Jun. 2011
By 
Paul (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rôtis (Hardcover)
The rustic style of the cooking represented in this book is very much in keeping with an element of traditional British cooking of the last few hundred years, and expands its horizons considerably. The section on vegetable accompaniments to roasted meats and fish provide even more inspiration for expanding the home cook's repertoire.

The author's text is concise and clear, and the drawn illustrations are fun, and the photograhpic illustrations are instructive.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deceptively simple, 4 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rôtis (Hardcover)
A beautifully photographed and illustrated book - the design and finish are truly impressive. More importantly, the recipes are easy to follow, especially for novice cooks.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rôtis
Rôtis by Stéphane Reynaud (Hardcover - 5 Oct. 2009)
£15.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews