Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

  • Quay
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars20
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£22.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 December 2011
Having received this great publication for a Christmas present in 2010 it has taken me nearly a full year to really understand this highly complex book....
It is fantastic but any amature chef really will struggle with this book.
It is very hard work, please read on and I will try to explain a little...
This celebration of nature may prove a little tricky for cooks who want to follow recipes in Quay to the letter. One salad lists more than 40 separate ingredients, while another calls for four different kinds of violets. Gilmore refused to cut corners for the book, but by the same token he says a bit of flexibility is key when it comes to choosing how to cook from it. "There's a dish of white asparagus with a curd and nuts and something like 15 different herbs and buds on it, but it'll still be really nice with just the curd and the nuts and two or three normal herbs." If you can't get strawberry guavas for the snow egg, you could try using white peaches. "It's meant to be inspiration as much as anything else."

The book gives alternatives for home kitchens not equipped with restaurant kit such as combi-ovens and sous-vide machines, but by and large, it pulls no punches. If you want to follow things to the letter, start stocking up on your borage buds and digging through seed catalogues for miniature sour Mexican cucumbers now. Peter Gilmore wants to leave you with this guarantee. "If someone is going to take the time to make the Quay chocolate cake, I want it to taste like the Quay chocolate cake, even if it takes them four hours to make it." He stops and thinks a moment. "Okay, it'll take eight hours. But it will taste like the Quay chocolate cake."
I must admit it has been worth the effort, trust me....
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2011
This is a beautifully crafted recipe book with stunning photography. A word of caution before committing to a purchase - this is a cookbook from the best restuarant in Australia. Quay is also listed in the San Pellegrino Top 50 Restuarants in the World (at #26 in 2011). In addition, the style of cooking that best describes Peter Gilmore's menus is nature based cuisine. This puts Peter Gilmore's work in a similar vein to Michel Bras and Rene Redzepi. With all that in mind, don't expect the recipes to be accessible. If cooking were that simple, I'd have a Michelin Star. Instead, buy this book to be inspired by the work of a chef who is at the top of his game.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
an amazing and beautiful book!
But it is crazy hard to make it! with a lot of ingredients that are hard to get.
A great thing for chefs and people with a lot of experience, and a yummy thing to look at for people who love food but don't really cook.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
Its a beautiful book with some fabulous photography. It would look lovely on any coffee table - but be prepared for serious mouth watering! The list of ingredients are long and some of the time I have no idea what they are! It is not for the faint hearted but I think the book can easily be enjoyed buy anyone for what it is. The recipes themselves are a big undertaking but the results will be worth while! However I don't think you have to be a fabulous cook to get a lot out of this book - as a photography book it is beautiful and it is inspirational what ever level cook you are and if you do try the recipes then the instructions are excellent.

It would be a lovely gift, for cookery book - inspiration or simply for the coffee table!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2012
We watch the Australian masterchef show. This guy appeared on it with his eight part chocolate dessert.
Thought we would give it a go. The book is very nice, could leave it on the coffee table as a talking point.
Will pluck up the courage to get going on one of the meals soonish...
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
This book is a great,but slightly complicated book. The desserts are amazing and I think peter gilmore is an absolute genious.The pictures are as amazing as the recipeas.Its a MUST BUY
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2013
great book sound recipes, beautiful pictures, A REAL CHEFS COOK BOOK WITH LOTS OF INSPIRATION. i have given this book to several of my collueges to use and they have bought one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
More of a collector's gem than an actual cook book, as most of the recipes are very difficult, and a lot of the ingredients impossible to get. But beautiful and inspirational.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2011
beautiful book from a stunning restaurant . i am very pleased with the book and also with the Quay restaurant in Sydney i e mailed them and asked for a signed copy of the menu for my son who is fanaticla about good food and they kindly waited until peter gilmore went into restaurant and then posted to me in the uk . fantastic service and i look forward to winning the lottery and eating there one day .
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2011
An amazingly beautiful book with stunning content, the perfect gift for any food lover. Makes the most wonderful coffee table book whilst also being full of magnificent photography presented in a variety of different ways.

My husband also has books such as Noma and this book has now become his new favourite!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)