Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can feel Spain in its pages, 22 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MoVida Rustica (Hardcover)
Some cookbooks are bit, you know, OK, but they don't set the world alight, they don't catch you. They might have some good ideas and some good recipes, some good photography and some good writing, but they never rise above the sum of their parts. You don't find yourself sat down just reading them.

MoVida Rustica isn't one of those books. It's exactly the opposite. It's a book worth reading and absorbing for the sake of it, just because it's so beautifully written and presented, just because it has heart and soul.
The recipes are just so easy to produce and the result is always the same just fantastic...

The food is inspirational. There's a chapter on the majestic Spanish ham, and what to do with it. Simplicity is best, it seems. Stuff a pan fried trout with it. Use it in a tomato and ham sandwich, the bread toasted, rubbed with garlic and drizzled with olive oil. Lay it over huevos rotos, fried eggs and potatoes.

Pastry dishes are also well represented, from a tart of puff pastry and melon to an immediately inspiring recipe for alfajores, biscuits of spiced fruit and almonds, flavoured with Pedro Ximenez sherry.

I will promise you that the pages will be worn and tatty within a year and to me thats a great testament to a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books out in the past year, 23 Mar 2010
By 
K. Gill "In the Kitchen With" (Nashville) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: MoVida Rustica (Hardcover)
Camorra, owner of MoVida and MoVida Next Door restaurants, ties the recipes together with his own personal experiences and the people and places he got to know as he traveled Spain to put together this volume. This is not a book for people who don't like to make an effort in the kitchen, as most of the recipes, although not at all difficult, do require a bit of organization and studying first, like the octopus terrine.

This is however a book for anyone and everyone who is captivated, mesmerized even, by amazing food photography. Alan Benson photographed my top two favorite books from 2009. And though I don't like to shunt the food content to the background, this really is first and foremost a high impact visual extravaganza. The food and travel photography in MoVida Rustica is so fantastic, and the writing flows so well in this book, and the book just feels so nice in your hands, that even if you never cook from it, you'll find yourself opening it again and again for photographic and styling inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 4 Mar 2013
By 
This review is from: MoVida Rustica (Hardcover)
Gorgeous pictures, sturdy pages, interesting snippets in the recipe introductions.
This is a lovely book to read.

The recipes, as a whole, are easy to follow so even an inexperienced cook should find the dishes a pleasure to make.
There are a few ingredients that might be hard to get in the UK, however, this would not rule out much and in fact the savvy chef would easily think of an alternative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 9 July 2010
This review is from: MoVida Rustica (Hardcover)
Lovely photographs inside and a wonderful selection of recipes I'm dying to try.Prompt delivery! Great Buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost too handsome!, 9 Aug 2011
By 
Simon Tavener - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: MoVida Rustica (Hardcover)
This is a splendid piece of work. Amazing photography, beautiful page design, elegant text layout and some interesting fonts. Add to that some great quality paper and you have a really first class presentation.

This is my first collection of Spanish recipes to join my groaning cookbook shelves. There are undoubtedly some recipes that I will explore and enjoy - but the layout of the book does make it rather hard to find things.

Everything is split up into sections (Tapas, various regions and so forth) but it does mean that starters, mains, side dishes and desserts are all mixed in with one another. I may be a traditionalist - but, on the whole, I prefer to look for recipes in a more ordered fashion.

This is very much a personal preference and in no way diminishes the book as a collection of tasty ideas. It will just take me a while to get used to it as a reference manual.

It will never actually go into my kitchen - I will write the recipes out so that I don't damage the book!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous book, 27 Feb 2011
This review is from: MoVida Rustica (Hardcover)
A beautifully produced book with lovely thick pages and inspiring photography. It not only makes you want to cook all the recipes but also to visit the restaurant in Melbourne and spend time in Spain eating and cooking!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must be one of the best Spanish Cookbooks Around, 11 Jan 2011
By 
Ms. Anne Manson "Annie B" (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: MoVida Rustica (Hardcover)
If you're looking for a great book re Spanish cuisine, this has to be it. The stories attached to each chapter are wonderful. The book is a great read even for those who aren't keen on the cooking but just love reading. Frank's recipes are fab.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rustica - really Spanish, 16 April 2010
By 
Cheryl Anderson "Cheryl" (South West England, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: MoVida Rustica (Hardcover)
needs to have alternatives for specific Spanish ingredients, not that easy to get some of the ingredients when you live in a small town. Otherwise a good book I have successfully completed couple of the receipies.MoVida Rustica
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars makes you want to make every recipe, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MoVida Rustica (Hardcover)
makes you want to make every recipe blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah its really that good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yum Yum, 6 April 2010
By 
Mrs. Alison Hale (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: MoVida Rustica (Hardcover)
Really lovely book, great info on Spanish culture and their view on food. Good service good quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

MoVida Rustica
MoVida Rustica by Richard Cornish (Hardcover - 1 Feb 2010)
17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews