Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


100 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet Another Hit For Tessa Kiros
Yet another stunning book from Tessa Kiros. I have already loved recipes from Falling Cloudberries: A World of Family Recipes and Twelve: A Tuscan Cook Book which occupy the space closest to hand on my cookbook shelf. I pre-ordered this as soon as I saw it and I've not been disappointed.

It arrived on Friday and over the weekend I've already tried the marinated...
Published on 28 Oct 2008 by @Tortepane

versus
45 of 55 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, but impractical
As with Tessa Kiros' previous books, this one is absolutely gorgeous. Gold-edged pages and many, many shots of Venice and its people, especially around Carnival time make it a delight to leaf through.

So far, so good, and if you know someone who loves Venice or has had a special time there, this would be a good gift. But I doubt how much actual cooking I'll...
Published on 29 Oct 2008 by An ordinary mum


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 7 Feb 2009
By 
Pricey "Rog" (East Midlands UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Venezia: Food and Dreams (Hardcover)
Simply beautiful. The presentation of the book encourages you to open and read it, the words flow in an easy style with sumptuous descriptions evoking the city of Venice in all its glory. Particularly its food of course; but food in Venice is not just about filling stomachs, it is an experience to remember. Anyone who has been to Venice should have this book as their souvenir; those who haven't been might use it as a "taster" for a visit to be planned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tessa's wonderful book, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Venezia: Food and Dreams (Hardcover)
This is a beautifully illustrated book with lots of interesting information and wonderful tasty recipes.
Tessa's books take you out of your normal day to day cooking routine and then give you lots of new ideas
and inspiration to try different menus from around Europe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Venezia: Food and Dreams (Hardcover)
A fabulous cookery book, it was exactly what I was hoping for, beautiful photos and lovely recipes. Can't wait to try the recipes but will enjoy just browsing through it as it is so beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful production, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Venezia: Food and Dreams (Hardcover)
A beautifully produced book with stunning pictures of Venice - makes me wish I was back there!
Perfect present for keen cooks and/or travellers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read for a cookery book, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Venezia: Food and Dreams (Hardcover)
Very attractive book which is very readable. A pleasure to use. Good recipes too. I am very pleased with this. What more can I say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sumptuous!, 3 Jan 2013
By 
Pjshaw "Peteski" (Hastings,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Venezia: Food and Dreams (Hardcover)
Classy product with classic recipes that enable a taste of true Venetian food to be re-created at home. OK, you cannot bring back the canal charm but the aromas and the subtleties of the Venetian diner can be yours. A stylish and sumptuous experience!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Venezia, 4 Jun 2010
By 
Marand (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Venezia: Food and Dreams (Hardcover)
I was given this as a gift - everyone who knows me knows I have a cookery book addiction & this one is a perfect gift as it is such a beautiful book to look at and hold, with luscious photography. I am not normally bothered about photos in cookery books although it can be useful to see what the finished dish is supposed to look like, particularly if the style of food is unfamiliar. There are cookery books though, which are as much an evocation of place and this certainly falls into that category. The photography is absolutely stunning, both of the food and of Venice.

As you might expect, there is a lot of fish & seafood reflecting the cuisine of the region - by way of example, fish carpaccio with pink peppercorns, marinated bass, roast sardines, seafood lasagne, pasta with anchovies & onion, monkfish with tomato, & mixed grilled fish. There are also recipes for risotto & gnocchi, antipasti (e.g. baby octopus in tomato), pasta dishes & meat-based main courses such as the pork in milk, liver & onions, chicken in tomato, roast guinea fowl. There is a chapter devoted to vegetable accompaniments & another provides a selection of desserts including tiramisu, lemon ice-cream, amaretti tart & zabaglione.

The recipes are generally straightforward and pretty quick to prepare although I am not sure that the instructions for preparing squid would be useful for anyone doing it for the first time. That said, there is enough here for the experienced cook and the novice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... choosing the hard backs somehow they form the most beautiful collection you could imagine beginning with apples for jam- ..., 24 Sep 2014
By 
avid british reader (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Venezia: Food and Dreams (Hardcover)
I have and have given this entire series of books to my pals over the tears- always choosing the hard backs somehow they form the most beautiful collection you could imagine beginning with apples for jam- the photography is so special and the narrative engaging. Fabulous series...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect present, 10 Feb 2009
By 
B. M. Bennett (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Venezia: Food and Dreams (Hardcover)
I bought this as a present for a friend who loves both cooking and Venice. He was beside himself with delight with the book as he had been coveting it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A BOOK TO TREASURE AND DREAM ON PLUS RECIPES !, 9 Oct 2009
By 
Gail Cooke (TX, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Venezia: Food & Dreams (Hardcover)
While Venezia certainly contains a number of uniquely delicious recipes, it cannot be called merely a cookbook but perhaps more appropriately referred to as a work of art. It is among the most beautiful books I've seen with a flower and food bedecked cover so inviting that you want to frame it plus gilt-edged pages, and a black velvet ribbon bookmark.

The dedication page reads, "For Venice - may you stand strong and beautiful forever." Obviously Kiros's words come from one who understands and loves this fabled city, and that love is clear for all to see in her musings sprinkled among recipes throughout Venezia's pages. One of my favorites is "As many times as I went out was as many times as I got lost. But I was never lost. I was always in Venice." Those words certainly reflected my feelings about the city and, if you have visited perhaps yours, too.

The full-color, full-page photographs by Manos Charzikonstantis are spectacular. When Venice is the subject his photos are far from the norm, always with a different perspective of the familiar, perhaps an unusual time of day revealing the magic of light on water. When he aims a camera at finished recipes, the results are mouth-wateringly perfect.

Kiros deivides the recipes in Venezia by course enabling us to prepare a full Venetian meal should we so choose. Her dishes are both flavored with exoticism and traditional, accurate reflections of a sometimes mysterious, always inviting city. The recipes are easy to follow from preparation to finish with ingredients found in most stores.

Now that we have a meal all that is lacking is having the stylist who set the book's tables bring his legerdemain to us. Each presentation is a feast for the eyes as well as the palate.

Venezia is a book to treasure and one to dream on.

- Gail Cooke
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Venezia: Food and Dreams
Venezia: Food and Dreams by Tessa Kiros (Hardcover - 20 Oct 2008)
£15.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews