Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yummy yummy recipes
I have the rest of the books in this series and this one is equally fantastic. Brilliant recipes, very well photographed and presented. The recipes are quite straightforward and do not demand exceptional cookery skills, but the end results are fabulous. Highly recommended.
Published on 31 Dec 2009 by Sue C.

versus
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars cheat's petits fours
If you want to make pretty petit fours ready rolled shortcrust pastry or ready made sponge, this is the book for you. Of course I can find recipes for those things in other books/internet, but the point of a cookbook for me, is that everything that is needed is in the book, even if it means going to a certain page to see how shortcrust pastry is made, instead of having to...
Published on 8 Nov 2010 by All things ShinY


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yummy yummy recipes, 31 Dec 2009
By 
Sue C. (Bucks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indulgence Petits Fours (Hardcover)
I have the rest of the books in this series and this one is equally fantastic. Brilliant recipes, very well photographed and presented. The recipes are quite straightforward and do not demand exceptional cookery skills, but the end results are fabulous. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 11 Oct 2010
This review is from: Indulgence Petits Fours (Hardcover)
This book is beautifully photographed and everything in it looks gorgeous. A perfect book for people who love to do elegant afternoon teas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic, 28 Aug 2010
This review is from: Indulgence Petits Fours (Hardcover)
This book is really beautiful to display, read and cook from. The recipes are delightfully pretty and I felt really proud to serve them when I helped make the food for my sisters party recently. They taste good as well! I would really recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful retro book, 2 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indulgence Petits Fours (Hardcover)
The cover of the book, is an oldfashioned fabric. The book looks very expensive and beautiful. It is really a gift. The recipes are equally wonderful as well. I own almost every baking book available. I love reading it at night. This book has new recipes and they work great. Very tasteful with a minimum of effort.

Some of the recipes use ready made pastry, but this can be easily changed by using homemade pastry dough, if you have more time. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grat little book., 3 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indulgence Petits Fours (Hardcover)
Beautiful addition to my patisserie book collection.
Made the rose meranges to serve with afternoon tea at Aldeli during Jubilee weekend.
The jammy biscuits are high on my "to do" list. Feel they'll be a winner with everyone ;-))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unbelivably beautiful, 9 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indulgence Petits Fours (Hardcover)
This gorgeous book does not only give detailed yet easy to follow instructions to gain beautiful results. But the photography and the style can only be described as fabulously vintage, creating an nice atmosphere when scouring what to bake- thinking 'ooh that looks nice i'll have a go.' I myself have done this and all the recipes i have tried from this book each looked amazing and tasted even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indulgence Petits Fours, 17 April 2011
By 
Miss Ola (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Indulgence Petits Fours (Hardcover)
As previous reviewers have mentioned, just lovely to have & look at. It makes you want to start cooking everything. Am being inspired to create & start having afternoon teas, oh the joys of English life. Often the simple things are the best. Making these wonderful creations will make it a magical event. Am busy adding to my cake stands/plate collection in anticipation of creating heaven on a plate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars cheat's petits fours, 8 Nov 2010
This review is from: Indulgence Petits Fours (Hardcover)
If you want to make pretty petit fours ready rolled shortcrust pastry or ready made sponge, this is the book for you. Of course I can find recipes for those things in other books/internet, but the point of a cookbook for me, is that everything that is needed is in the book, even if it means going to a certain page to see how shortcrust pastry is made, instead of having to look it up in another book.

Also I think the writer confused posh looking recipes with posh names for ingredients. To make Turkish delight, you need tartaric acid. I don't think I can buy tartaric acid as such in the regular shops. After googling I found cream of tartar is made of tartaric acid, but so are a few other things. After googling some more, it seems cream of tartar can be used instead, but why not use the regular term in the ingredients list.

All in all, I was not impressed with the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cake lover, 3 Sep 2010
This review is from: Indulgence Petits Fours (Hardcover)
Smashing book with different types of petit fours for every day and special occasions. Lovely recipes and nice ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful coffee table book, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indulgence Petits Fours (Hardcover)
These books have been made to a high standard and are so nice to look at and flick through even if you never make anything. I have found that for me not all of recipes in this book have been quite right. When I made the Portuguese Custard Tarts I found that I needed four times the amount of custard they say for the amount of pastry. The custard was really tasty and the flavours were the closest I've found to the tarts in Portugal, just the proportions were out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Indulgence Petits Fours
Indulgence Petits Fours by Murdoch Books (Hardcover - 5 Oct 2009)
Used & New from: £3.44
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews