Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good purchase
It met my expectations. Detailed and informative. Book quality was also as described. so I would recommend it for others.
Published 18 months ago by Andrius

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best lonely planet guide
I'm a fan of lonely planet guides but this one, in the Romania part, is not fantastic. I spent 12 days travelling through out Romania and the guide that is supposed to be updated in 2013 had too many mistakes about rates, schedules, closing dates... In a country that isn't very prepared for tourism the tips from the guide can be essential, and I felt this guide didn't...
Published 17 months ago by Nádia


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best lonely planet guide, 26 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Romania & Bulgaria (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I'm a fan of lonely planet guides but this one, in the Romania part, is not fantastic. I spent 12 days travelling through out Romania and the guide that is supposed to be updated in 2013 had too many mistakes about rates, schedules, closing dates... In a country that isn't very prepared for tourism the tips from the guide can be essential, and I felt this guide didn't help me that much like other did before. two examples - to visit the Danube delta and be able to go to the beach in that area plus do some birdwhatching one is subjected to the ferry schedule and that imply at least 2 days since they are very slow. this part of the trip has to be very carefully planed and that is not very easy to do in advance by online booking. that is not clear in the guide and they should have given more tips how to enjoy this area. we had two days but we could only do birdwhatching in one area of the reserve and we couldn't go to Salina, for instance.
To do some bear whatching, the same problem. the touristic information offices closes very early, we could find anyone to drive us in the area, the guide should have the schedules right and should help in how to the hiking areas to see bears if you can«t find a local guide or if you can't afford one.
Once again, I had lonely planet guides of countries much harder than romania to travel and they where more useful to plan the trip than this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed, 16 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Romania & Bulgaria (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
We have used Lonely Planet Guides for many years and wanted a recent Bulgaria guide so bought this, infuriated that we had to buy a Romania Guide when it is unlikely we will be going there. There are only 200 pages on Bulgaria and there is a general lack of detail, some serious omissions, e.g. the Thracian Tomb of Sveshtari (UNESCO listed since 1985 for goodness sake and despite the Thracian Tombs being listed as a highlight) and mistakes. The map at the beginning of the guide has the Bulgarian Black Sea Resorts shown as a highlight but with the arrow pointing to Constanta in Romania - funny but a sign of carelessness editing. I am also getting more and more irritated by Lonely Planet's double page maps with the key on a second page and descriptions of the places on the map on third/fourth/fifth pages, especially as the latter are unumbered and in a different order to the key so you end up trying to look at three pages at the same time. Save your money - find a tourist map on the net for where to go and then print out the Wikipedia entries for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle version - poor, not easy to navigate around, 29 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Partly my own fault as I didn't have enough time to get a paper copy in advance but thought I might try this Kindle version and see. Definitely not worth the money (rather expensive considering). Not only is it a nightmare getting out an electrical device in a strange country every time you want to look something up, but unlike a paper book moving through chapters was laborious and confusing. The maps weren't as useful either.

I visited 3 cities in 4 days and had very little down time which I didn't want to spend trying to find out things on the Kindle version while sitting in a hotel I would much rather of been out and about looking at the cities.

I have learnt my mistakes now, take a paper book with you it has the added advantage of being able to read it until you have to stand up and leave the plane and you didn't mind getting it out in the street so much. Yes you look like a tourist but then again you don't feel like a target.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lonely Planet Romania, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having bought 15 books from lonely planet covering India, middle East, Korea etc I found the Romanian guide to be sadly lacking in Ifo. i.e ATM's yes they have them!!!!!
The Area I propose to Visit and the city I was to be staying in "Galati" was not even mentioned.
When I'm there for the next 12 months might fill in my time by writing a book.
Also I bought the kindle version. The vocabulary section was obviuosly scanned badly and on largest font size could not be read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bulgaria, 26 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Romania & Bulgaria (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I hope the prices given for hotels etc are not as out of date as in other lonely planet publications.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good purchase, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Romania & Bulgaria (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
It met my expectations. Detailed and informative. Book quality was also as described. so I would recommend it for others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars User unfriendly, 3 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Impossible to navigate. There is no way of finding what you want easily. The maps are extremely unclear. Regret not having guide in paperback version. Will never purchase another Kindle Lonely Planet. Complete waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great recommendations, 7 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Romania & Bulgaria (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
As you'd expect from the Lonely Planet this guide is comprehensive and full of excellent recommendations. Splashed out on a few nights in Varna and went for all the high end recommendations and they were incredible. Would definitely recommend Divine for dinner. All in all a great book full of good recommendations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Up-to-date guide to Romania/Bulgaria, 1 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Romania & Bulgaria (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Usually prefer Rough Guide to Lonely Planet (Rough Guide includes the little places), but this is the 2013 edition LP gude (and latest Rough Guide is 2011, I think). Good guide, with Sleeping and Eating recommendations, town maps, public transport information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Travel to Bulgaria only, 19 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Romania & Bulgaria (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Although this was the 6th edition and published in May 2013, some recommended restaurants/bars in Sofia could not be found. Travel from Sofia to Boyana Church can be tricky. The LP suggests the no 63 bus from pl Ruski Pametnik. I could only find the bus stop at the junction of Petko Yu Todorov Bl and General Eduard Totleben BL, a further kilometre away. If you go to the Church beware of pre-booked tour groups. You may have a long wait as only a few visitors are allowed in at a time.
Otherwise, the book has plenty of the usual helpful information. However, a 2005 version (no later version in print!) of The Rough Guide gave better historical details and clearer maps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Romania & Bulgaria (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet Romania & Bulgaria (Travel Guide) by Richard Watkins (Paperback - 17 May 2013)
£11.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews