Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peru Lonely Planet Guide
Another excellent Lonely Planet guide, with all the details you have come to expect from Lonely Planet. Informative, interesting and essential for any traveller who not just wants the well known sights, but also where to go (safely) off the beaten track.
Published 16 months ago by Jude

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Below par
I travelled in Peru for slightly over three weeks, partly on my own, partly on tours, and used this guidebook. I found it somewhat unreliable in parts, eg bookshop which it stated existed didn't, opening times for museum were wrong, bus office was not where the guidebook said it was, "friendly" tour operators who provided tours in English were unfriendly and had no...
Published 12 months ago by Reader


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Below par, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Peru (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I travelled in Peru for slightly over three weeks, partly on my own, partly on tours, and used this guidebook. I found it somewhat unreliable in parts, eg bookshop which it stated existed didn't, opening times for museum were wrong, bus office was not where the guidebook said it was, "friendly" tour operators who provided tours in English were unfriendly and had no English tours. The thing I found repeatedly was that recommended restaurants were not good. I also felt that history/culture sections at the back had been copy pasted from Wiki (or something) and that the writers didn't really know what they were talking about (eg "Along with Egypt, India and China, Peru is considered one of the six cradles of civilisation ...." And the other two are?).

Prices are generally incorrect, but I can forgive that as I tend to expect even newly published guidebooks to already be out of date on this front.

The writing style is "jaunty" which I didn't mind but which you might find annoying.

Generally not as useful as other Lonely Planet books I've used. I don't know what alternatives there are to the Lonely Planet Peru as I've only used this one. I do prefer the layout and format of Lonely Planet to, eg Rough Guides/Footprint, but I might try one of the latter next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Poorly set out, very hard to find things. Perhaps just the Kindle version, but more trouble to navigate the book than it worth. Restaurant information sometimes fanciful, writing style irritating. Well below standard I have seen in other Lonely Planet guides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peru Lonely Planet Guide, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Peru (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Another excellent Lonely Planet guide, with all the details you have come to expect from Lonely Planet. Informative, interesting and essential for any traveller who not just wants the well known sights, but also where to go (safely) off the beaten track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peru, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Peru (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Everything you need to know for first time travellers to Peru (never travel without my Lonely Planet Guides) its an invaluable book to take with you, its so simple to look things up, it covers every topic you will ever need to know about the country
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars useful and clear, 4 July 2014
By 
S. Lee (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet Peru (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
As per usual with Lonely Planet guides, useful and clear. We used it on a three-week trip along with online reviews and was well referenced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Peru (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Purchased this book to take with me on my travels full of useful information and knowledge
Of the areas I visited
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Peru (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This book was incredibly useful, whilst travelling around Peru, had excellent recommendations and tips. Although for the best result we found combining the Lonely Planet and Rough Guide books gave us the optimum idea of where to go and what we wanted to do under time pressure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lonely Planet standard, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Peru (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Happy with this following a disappointment with the last Lonely Planet guide we got for a different trip - this was much more what we expected. Prices already out of date but this is inevitable - and some had gone up as well as down! Suggested walking tours around cities with associated information were very good and a great way to start out in each new place. Flicking through from page to page for map, key to map, and descriptions of places on map is a little annoying after a while but overall very happy with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 10 Sep 2013
This review is from: Lonely Planet Peru (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Great book, has everything you're need, and good maps to get around with.
Good idea to follow the hotel guide as it can be very confusing once there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good overview for planning your journey, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like most Lonely Planet guides they provide a good overview of a country. Despite us having the latest 2013 guide, prices are often hugely different from reality. From experience on the ground this is not rapidly changing prices in Peru, rather Lonely Planet's ineptness in correctly editing the guides. We have found many prices between 1 and 2 years out of date. Disappointing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Peru (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet Peru (Travel Guide) by Luke Waterson (Paperback - 19 April 2013)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews