Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars25
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This 320-page book - the 7th (print) edition of January 2013 - is an interesting and readable guide to the French Mediterranean coast region of Provence and the Cote d’Azur. This is a well-designed and presented guide, with useful maps. This is not a glossy guide with lots of colour pictures, but it is a well-designed and laid out guide, with colour used only sparingly. It is intended to be a helpful guide to things to see and do, and not just a list of things to see and do.

It is broken down into four major sections:

Page 2 - Plan Your Trip:
This section is an introduction to Provence and the Cote d’Azur, what to look out for (16 Top Experiences), what you need to know in advance, and other important touristy stuff.

Page 44 - On the Road (“The Guide”):
P046: Nice, Monaco and Menton
P080: Cannes and around
P110: St-Tropez to Toulon
P140: Marseille to Aix-en-Provence
P172: Arles & the Camargue
P187: Avignon & around
P223: Hill Towns of the Luberon
P239: Haute-Provence & the Southern Alps

Page 259 - Understand Provence:
This section has articles on local culture - history, cuisine, arts, lifestyles, etc.

Page 285 - Survival Guide:
This section contains the A-Z Directory, details on transport and language, and the Index.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
I have read and used a lot of guides from Lonely Planet. The quality, of course, varies from one guide to another (and sometimes, from one edition to another, of the same guide), but overall, I have been reasonably satisfied. This guide, however, has been the most underwhelming one I have seen so far. It looks like a glorified tourist brochure, rather than a guide with concrete details and practical information. Very, very disappointed.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2013
This is a fascinating book for a Provence lover like me!
I have lots of Guides in my Library, but this book is so easy to read, and enjoy. It's divided into sections, well illustrated making it simple to know what you'd like to visit.
I thought the section "Survival Guide" extremely useful, a section I could have used a few years ago!
The book is quite light in weight, nice and "bendy" and could (and should) be taken everywhere with you on your next visit to this beautiful part of France!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
I purchased this guide book after borrowing an earlier edition together with similar books from the local library. I found it the most informative about the area of France which I plan to visit.
I'm not planning to camp or backpack, but nevertheles there is plenty of information about the area's attractions, eating places, etc.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
Most of the information in the guide was up-to-date and useful. It was lacking information on details of the possible trips around Cote d'Azur e.g. some sightseeing locations were mentioned but there was no information on how to get there.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2013
Certain parts were exaggerating big time, I built up expectations only to be disappointed, thus, though still a very helpful guide (especially for hotels and restaurants), one should take the colorful descriptions with a big reserve ;)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
Loads of Info on different areas, things to do etc. would recommend. Not many pictures though, which I do like to see.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2015
ok but would be good to get a more up to date book
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2014
Very useful guide! Every time I travel, I get the Lonely Planet books. It had all the current information, good suggestions and tips. Made my travel to French Riviera easier without browsing all the info.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
It helps in planning trips in Provence. Everything is in great detail and informative. Ideal for visitors to the wonderful South of France.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)