Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks to Lonely Planet
I purchased this book thinking it might be useful on a planned road trip across the Southern USA. It turned out to be more than useful and became our 'Bible'.
The information within its pages turned out to be accurate to a fault and helped us to find many gems that would otherwise have eluded us. The only criticism is that the print is a little on the feint side...
Published 22 months ago by lionelo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok
Wish it had more pictures and glossy pages. Noticed at least one major USA subject not included strangely and dissapointingly It will do but quality not as good as the old lonley planet books
Published 22 months ago by jimsten1980


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks to Lonely Planet, 8 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet USA (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I purchased this book thinking it might be useful on a planned road trip across the Southern USA. It turned out to be more than useful and became our 'Bible'.
The information within its pages turned out to be accurate to a fault and helped us to find many gems that would otherwise have eluded us. The only criticism is that the print is a little on the feint side which sometimes makes it rather tricky for us oldies to read.
Apart from that one little quibble - thank you Lonely Planet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good as usual, 31 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet USA (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This book fulfills all the criteria I've expected from the Lonely planet edition. Everything is clear and simple explained, maps help a lot. I would welcome more accommodation possibilities in smaller cities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful guide, 23 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. J. A. Knight "COUNTRY LOVER" (Colchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet USA (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
When in the USA one crosses so many states that a comprehensive guide is a must. L P Guies are always very practical
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading to Tour SW USA, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet USA (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Exceded expectations. A very well written guide with an excellent layout, making it a simple process to extract relevant information. Having read some brochures published by US Tourist agencies, it is interesting to read LP's take on the same place! Personally, I find it easier to use than the equivalent Rough Guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good guide with useful, no nonsense reviews, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet USA (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I have generally used Fodor's US guide in the past, but decided to buy this one this time on the basis of the reviews. That was a wise choice as I have found it to be well set out, with clear no nonsense guides to the various areas and places. I am sure that I will find it invaluable on my next visit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Usual LP standard but difficult to navigate on Kindle version, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is ok - but seems to lack some detail usually found in the non-electronic versions of LP Books and is extremely difficult to navigate because the 'real' contents page is someway into the book - the first contents page is just an overview. When you press the contents icon it takes you to that first contents. So you need to remember the 'position number' of the real contents page. Also the search function is terrible - if for example you search 'Boston' it brings up every mention of Boston in the order mentioned rather than the primary section for Boston first. So it is basically unusable.

Overall very disappointed. Bought this because I thought it would be lighter than travelling with a real book, but now I think I'm going to have to buy the real book as well. Maybe if there is a non-kindle electronic version (iBooks version or something) that would be better. I'm using it through Kindle for iPad and it's only the second time I've downloaded a book through the Kindle app so maybe these are problems endemic to that platform - the navigational system seems better suited to fictional books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 1 Aug 2013
By 
Karen Mcinnes "Rangers9" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet USA (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Very happy with latest member of of LP series!! Lots of excellent ideas for my forthcoming trip to the USA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet USA (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
this was invaluable in my trip across america had many interesting reviews and places to go and maps etc. well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LP - USA, 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet USA (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Very comprehensive - covers all the main 'tourist' areas in the US in plenty of detail. Particularly good on history and politics as background to the US today....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Always improving the contents, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet USA (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I like the format that Lonely Planet started to used a couple of years ago. It is more elegant and easy to use. The only thing I miss is a detailed punctuation of highlights based on several criteria. It would be easier to decide what to visit or not based on some kind of scores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaaa4887c)

This product

Lonely Planet USA (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet USA (Travel Guide) by Zimmerman (Paperback - 16 Mar 2012)
£18.99
Usually dispatched within 1 to 4 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews