Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars47
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£15.63+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 April 2014
I bought the Kindle edition of this book for our 6 month trip around South America and I have to say it was almost useless. Too much information on where to party, and so little information on some of the great small little places that as backpackers we are aiming to see and experience. Also I hate that now every city/town comes with a two page warning. Yes we are all aware South America can be dangerous but it's enough to put you off visiting a city when the description of every place and activity is followed by warnings of muggings and kidnappings.
I am so disappointed in this new edition, the information is minimal and vague, plus some amazing places are missed out entirely.
Also I would think this being a Kindle edition that they would be able to issue downloadable updates as all of the prices and info are out of date. Ie. The Quilmes ruins are closed due to a judicial dispute but if you walk the 5km up the road and speak to the locals they will let you in for 20pesos.
Will not be using lonely planet for my next trip.
11 comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
Some useful information but sadly, the 2014 version is not as up to date as expected.

At the moment we are travelling in Chile and not only are the prices well out in a lot of cases, but the information on attractions is not up to date. For example, in San Pedro de Atacama, the museum hasnt displayed the skulls and mummies that the book waxes lyrical about since 2007. Bit shoddy.

So, ok if you are somewhere you can double check information on the internet.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2014
This is the book to get you inspired for your trip, especially for backpackers. But sometimes there just isn't enough detail, and then you end up having to buy more books for the places you decide to visit
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
Brilliant, and a lot cheaper than the high street!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
This book is just excellent and with great information. It comes with maps that help with rough information, and has some great tips, especially on information on moving around.
Great buy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2016
Present for my daughter who is off on her travels, it's large than she would have liked as she is taking the minimum, but still apparently an essential item, so must be good!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2016
I've only glanced through this book because I'm not going to South America just yet. It starts off with 15 main sights to visit starting with Machu Picchu. It seems to cover all the main towns, with maps, historical information, details about wildlife and the temperature in each place for each month. It seems to be the only guidebook you would need for South America.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2016
What an astonishingly comprehensive book. This level of detail and the breadth of coverage is impressive. It took me more than a month to read through this, taking lots of careful notes, to plan my trip. This, plus the internet, was all I needed to plan a year away. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2016
Bought as a present for someone wanting to travel here. He has not yet travelled here but is enjoying planning his travels using this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
great travel guide for very good price. A lot of value information including place to visit, hotels, restaurants,maps etc
thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)