Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Clear, Concise and Insight View of the City
Every couple of years, Lonely Planet take a look at themselves and what they are producing and enhance their products to makes sure they offer the best they can do for their readers. Their latest review is a great example of its current evolution.

The Lonely Planet City Guide for Rome is well laid out starting with what you need to know, then moving through the...
Published on 21 April 2012 by Wobette

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Already well out of date
I've always found lonely planet guides really good, but this one was a big disappointment - it was published in Feb 12 and by Nov 12 its already frustratingly out of date. The prices for the main attractions seem to be OK, but transport and some of the smaller sites are listed at around 30% under current prices. Of the 2 restaurants we visited for lunch recommended by...
Published on 23 Nov. 2012 by Kirstie


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Clear, Concise and Insight View of the City, 21 April 2012
By 
Wobette (The Wild West) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lonely Planet Rome (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Every couple of years, Lonely Planet take a look at themselves and what they are producing and enhance their products to makes sure they offer the best they can do for their readers. Their latest review is a great example of its current evolution.

The Lonely Planet City Guide for Rome is well laid out starting with what you need to know, then moving through the highpoints of the city with hints and tips for all age groups and tastes. There are also clear maps with details of public transport and walking routes. Also with being Rome, there is a great focus on food and social events.

What makes this different from a lot of guide books is firstly its size, it packs a lot into a book that is a little over pocket size making it a great planning book before you go as well as a reference guide whilst you are there. Secondly it is written by people who know the city so the recommendations for food and shelter often carry a personal note which adds a degree of colour to the description. Thirdly it is also great value for money with clear maps and photos making it a bargin as well as a joy to read.

This book has brought a guide for Rome right up to date, from free wifi spots to ways to get the best out of the historical parts of the city and is ideal if you are travelling on your own, in a couple or part of a family or group of friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly detailed guide, but a bit big for portability., 8 May 2012
By 
Mr. A. Sands "Sandsman" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet Rome (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It's quite fortuitous that 2 guidebooks on Rome came up on the Vine programme a week before my 3 night trip to Rome!

With regards to this Lonely Planet book, it is incredibly detailed and is fully comprehensive. Being one of the 3 books I took to Rome (This one, a DK Top 10 book, and another one that I can't remember the name of, it'll be the review after this), I had plenty of chance to compare.

Content wise, it was the best book, as it offers so much in terms of restaurants, bars, walking routes, things to visit etc. However, it was the one we most often left in the hotel room as it is rather large and heavy for something to go into a pocket/someone's bag.

Based on this, I have no qualms recommending this book, but be prepared to use it more for research than off the fly as you walk about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive and Comprehensive Guide, 25 Mar. 2012
By 
Brett H (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet Rome (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have read and reviewed several city and country guides recently and this was the most impressive of the bunch. It is extremely comprehensive and the summaries of the sights not to be missed were right on the money. As is not always the case, it was very easy to navigate around this guide and when places were mentioned they generally had a page number attached so they could be further researched easily.

There is a removable map at the back, although frankly this is a compact book and so it is probably no great hardship to carry around. There is a comprehensive index, but additionally a map where the 11 main areas of interest to a tourist are shown, and for each of these there is an additional map highlighting the major places of interest and indexing them. This is particularly helpful when planning a visit and to refer to when on foot in the area.

There is general information on planning a visit such as the ways of transferring from the two main airports to the centre and the price of transfers. I was going to say the only thing I found lacking was a metro map, but in fact I eventually found this on the removable map! I am usually rather dismissive of the information on accommodation in such guides as there is so much information on sites such as TripAdvisor that the additional information is largely superfluous. However, I have to say that I thought that what was included here was potentially quite helpful. Although I have not been to Rome since receiving this book so have not been able to test drive it, the information on restaurants and shopping looked useful.

Unlike some similar guides, the printing and production are quite good with colour pictures of reasonable quality throughout. Actually reading through it has rather rekindled my interest in Rome and as a result we plan to visit again soon. Rome is definitely a city where you should buy a dedicated guide rather than relying on a general country guide as there is so much there to see and being armed with this book will certainly enhance a visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Italian Holiday Essential, 26 Mar. 2012
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet Rome (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Updated & printed in February 2012, this is the 7th Edition of the Lonely Planet's city-guide for Rome. Weighing in at a fairly hefty 350-odd pages, this guide has almost everything you could possibly ask for out of a city-guide, including full-colour photos. The book is broken down to the respective regions of Rome and every now and again features in-depth articles about specific places of interest (eg. The Catacombs) that include a background & history that you might not have garnered otherwise. The back of the book includes a brief phrasebook to get even the most rudimentary of Italian-speakers around and let you in some on some of the local's regional lingo.

A huge pull-out map provides easy-to-read street information that details how to get to the sights. There are even some more maps included in the back of the book that provide some locales with a little more detail than the larger pull-out one. Whilst the text of the book details what to see, how much is should cost and many more suggestions that will add a depth to your journey that you might not have had without it. This alone makes this book a worthwhile inclusion in your suitcase.

Highly Recommended for planning & using during your trip to Roma!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb LP guide - comprehensive and beautifully illustrated, 9 April 2012
By 
Cartimand (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet Rome (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have yet to be disappointed by any LP guide, and the Rome one is definitely no exception. Everything a visitor to the eternal city could ever want to know, both the huge number of positives and a few potential pitfalls, is contained herein. The fold-out map is clear and perfectly scaled and the full-colour photos are marvellous - check out the stunning Michelangelo artwork on pages 195-199 and just one look at that wonderfully evocative restaurant façade on page 226 makes me want to seek it out for some al fresco dining. Rome is a pretty expensive city to visit and this guide gives you the heads up where a few discounts may be had and how to stretch your hard-earned a little further.

Indispensable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide, 19 Mar. 2012
By 
Mrs "Love all sorts of books, Eng Lit degree,... (Potterton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet Rome (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I am a big fan of the Lonely Planet guides, having used a number in anger!.

This latest set of guides - to the major cities of the world - is a welcome addition to the stable.

Things I really like:
1. The size. Unlike a lot of guide books this is a handy size - a traditional paperback size so it should fit easily into a handbag or jacket pocket, and it's not too thick either.
2. The organisation of the book - it starts with a top 13 things to see, adds a section on "What's New", which although it may date quickly, is very handy for those going back to a favourite location and then gives you some basic things - money, weather etc, some itineraries, a month by month highlights check and other useful stuff - colour coded with red tabs so you can find them easily. The largest section (blue) is the Exploring Rome section - the neighbourhoods/districts of Rome on a useful map, then the ancient city and the top visitor attractions, then district by district - each with features on walking and seeing, eating, entertainment and shopping. The final sections are background info to really aid your understanding - history, arts, culture, society, etc; an index follows and then street maps with an index of the things covered elsewhere, all cross referenced.
3. The additional pull out map of Rome

All in all this is an excellent guide for pre-reading and using in city. The descriptions of the attractions are good, there are top tips for all sorts of things, and additional snippets of information to really make the experience great. I think this is a brilliant guide which really does set the standard! Wouldn't leave home without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Already well out of date, 23 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Lonely Planet Rome (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I've always found lonely planet guides really good, but this one was a big disappointment - it was published in Feb 12 and by Nov 12 its already frustratingly out of date. The prices for the main attractions seem to be OK, but transport and some of the smaller sites are listed at around 30% under current prices. Of the 2 restaurants we visited for lunch recommended by the book, one is now closed and one really awful. This could be bad luck, things change after all, but it seems that the Feb 12 update was at best superficial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Guides, 19 April 2012
By 
Amazoniac (Norwich) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet Rome (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I love the Lonely Planet guides and I always make them the first thing I buy when I'm planning a holiday. They are full of useful information, a basic but workable map or set of maps in the case of this volume (which will keep you going along until you can get to the nearest tourist information office to get a local one).
They also have a lot of 'off the cuff' information, which often makes for interesting reading even if you don't go to the places they mention.
They are clearly written by people who actually enjoy the travel experience, and their enthusiasm shines through on page after page.
There is also a very simple, but essential, language guide, which enables one to communicate the simple requirements in life be either reading out or - as a last resort - pointing at the page!
I have always found that many people I meet abroad respond well to seeing this particular guide in your hand, and one taxi driver I met even knew which page to direct me to for a particular eating place that we had been recommended to try!
I like to draw and write in mine as well, so as to have a permanent reminder of the visits I make.
Lots of useful advice (like how to jump the queue at certain busy sights).
Always recommended - keep up the good work LP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes me want to go now!, 16 April 2012
By 
John W. Edelman (Middlesex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet Rome (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Lonely Planet have always in the past shared the honours with Rough Guides for best guide books, as far as I'm concerned, but after having got this and immediately afterwards bought the London edition I'm edging towards these as my favourites. The writing style is as informative and friendly as always, but now the books themselves are attractive things in their own right. I'm enjoying reading this guide and looking forward to visiting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely essential, 12 Aug. 2012
By 
Mingo Bingo "Mingobingo" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet Rome (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
For me the city guides are the definitive series for city breaks. They have enough detail to plan prior to your trip, but not so much as to spoil the surprises when you actually get there. The maps are perfect in their size and level of detail. I absolutely lived by my pull out map of the whole city, it's totally battered now, but proved so useful.

And the best thing for me is that Lonely Planet keep adapting their guides as they go along, enough for it to be worth repurchasing if you are revisiting somewhere after a couple of years break.

Rome is very much as city of areas, each one with it's own unique character and highlights and the book is set up to reflect this. It's bang up to date with wi-fi spots, hotels, bars and restaurants. There's a lovely personal feel to the writing as well, it feels as if it's written by people on the ground who genuinely know their city. It's comprehensive in what it includes in terms of history and sights as well.

I'm trying to write this without lapsing too far into superlatives, but I'm struggling so I'm going to stop and sum up here. If you are going to Rome, this is the only book you need to take with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Rome (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet Rome (Travel Guide) by Hole (Paperback - 10 Feb. 2012)
Used & New from: £1.66
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews