Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Clear, Concise and Insight View of the City
Every couple of years, Lonely Planet take a look at themselves and what they are producing and enhance their products to makes sure they offer the best they can do for their readers. Their latest review is a great example of its current evolution.

The Lonely Planet City Guide for Rome is well laid out starting with what you need to know, then moving through the...
Published on 21 April 2012 by Wobette

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Confusing index
Good information but I found the book difficult to navigate because it is set out by area, which is not very helpful if you don't know the geography of Rome in the first place.
Published 20 months ago by Hilary


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly detailed guide, but a bit big for portability., 8 May 2012
By 
Mr. A. Sands "Sandsman" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet Rome (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It's quite fortuitous that 2 guidebooks on Rome came up on the Vine programme a week before my 3 night trip to Rome!

With regards to this Lonely Planet book, it is incredibly detailed and is fully comprehensive. Being one of the 3 books I took to Rome (This one, a DK Top 10 book, and another one that I can't remember the name of, it'll be the review after this), I had plenty of chance to compare.

Content wise, it was the best book, as it offers so much in terms of restaurants, bars, walking routes, things to visit etc. However, it was the one we most often left in the hotel room as it is rather large and heavy for something to go into a pocket/someone's bag.

Based on this, I have no qualms recommending this book, but be prepared to use it more for research than off the fly as you walk about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Clear, Concise and Insight View of the City, 21 April 2012
By 
Wobette (The Wild West) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lonely Planet Rome (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Every couple of years, Lonely Planet take a look at themselves and what they are producing and enhance their products to makes sure they offer the best they can do for their readers. Their latest review is a great example of its current evolution.

The Lonely Planet City Guide for Rome is well laid out starting with what you need to know, then moving through the highpoints of the city with hints and tips for all age groups and tastes. There are also clear maps with details of public transport and walking routes. Also with being Rome, there is a great focus on food and social events.

What makes this different from a lot of guide books is firstly its size, it packs a lot into a book that is a little over pocket size making it a great planning book before you go as well as a reference guide whilst you are there. Secondly it is written by people who know the city so the recommendations for food and shelter often carry a personal note which adds a degree of colour to the description. Thirdly it is also great value for money with clear maps and photos making it a bargin as well as a joy to read.

This book has brought a guide for Rome right up to date, from free wifi spots to ways to get the best out of the historical parts of the city and is ideal if you are travelling on your own, in a couple or part of a family or group of friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive and Comprehensive Guide, 25 Mar 2012
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet Rome (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have read and reviewed several city and country guides recently and this was the most impressive of the bunch. It is extremely comprehensive and the summaries of the sights not to be missed were right on the money. As is not always the case, it was very easy to navigate around this guide and when places were mentioned they generally had a page number attached so they could be further researched easily.

There is a removable map at the back, although frankly this is a compact book and so it is probably no great hardship to carry around. There is a comprehensive index, but additionally a map where the 11 main areas of interest to a tourist are shown, and for each of these there is an additional map highlighting the major places of interest and indexing them. This is particularly helpful when planning a visit and to refer to when on foot in the area.

There is general information on planning a visit such as the ways of transferring from the two main airports to the centre and the price of transfers. I was going to say the only thing I found lacking was a metro map, but in fact I eventually found this on the removable map! I am usually rather dismissive of the information on accommodation in such guides as there is so much information on sites such as TripAdvisor that the additional information is largely superfluous. However, I have to say that I thought that what was included here was potentially quite helpful. Although I have not been to Rome since receiving this book so have not been able to test drive it, the information on restaurants and shopping looked useful.

Unlike some similar guides, the printing and production are quite good with colour pictures of reasonable quality throughout. Actually reading through it has rather rekindled my interest in Rome and as a result we plan to visit again soon. Rome is definitely a city where you should buy a dedicated guide rather than relying on a general country guide as there is so much there to see and being armed with this book will certainly enhance a visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Already well out of date, 23 Nov 2012
This review is from: Lonely Planet Rome (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I've always found lonely planet guides really good, but this one was a big disappointment - it was published in Feb 12 and by Nov 12 its already frustratingly out of date. The prices for the main attractions seem to be OK, but transport and some of the smaller sites are listed at around 30% under current prices. Of the 2 restaurants we visited for lunch recommended by the book, one is now closed and one really awful. This could be bad luck, things change after all, but it seems that the Feb 12 update was at best superficial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Confusing index, 4 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Rome (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Good information but I found the book difficult to navigate because it is set out by area, which is not very helpful if you don't know the geography of Rome in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes me want to go now!, 16 April 2012
By 
John W. Edelman - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet Rome (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Lonely Planet have always in the past shared the honours with Rough Guides for best guide books, as far as I'm concerned, but after having got this and immediately afterwards bought the London edition I'm edging towards these as my favourites. The writing style is as informative and friendly as always, but now the books themselves are attractive things in their own right. I'm enjoying reading this guide and looking forward to visiting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb LP guide - comprehensive and beautifully illustrated, 9 April 2012
By 
Cartimand (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet Rome (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have yet to be disappointed by any LP guide, and the Rome one is definitely no exception. Everything a visitor to the eternal city could ever want to know, both the huge number of positives and a few potential pitfalls, is contained herein. The fold-out map is clear and perfectly scaled and the full-colour photos are marvellous - check out the stunning Michelangelo artwork on pages 195-199 and just one look at that wonderfully evocative restaurant façade on page 226 makes me want to seek it out for some al fresco dining. Rome is a pretty expensive city to visit and this guide gives you the heads up where a few discounts may be had and how to stretch your hard-earned a little further.

Indispensable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Italian Holiday Essential, 26 Mar 2012
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet Rome (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Updated & printed in February 2012, this is the 7th Edition of the Lonely Planet's city-guide for Rome. Weighing in at a fairly hefty 350-odd pages, this guide has almost everything you could possibly ask for out of a city-guide, including full-colour photos. The book is broken down to the respective regions of Rome and every now and again features in-depth articles about specific places of interest (eg. The Catacombs) that include a background & history that you might not have garnered otherwise. The back of the book includes a brief phrasebook to get even the most rudimentary of Italian-speakers around and let you in some on some of the local's regional lingo.

A huge pull-out map provides easy-to-read street information that details how to get to the sights. There are even some more maps included in the back of the book that provide some locales with a little more detail than the larger pull-out one. Whilst the text of the book details what to see, how much is should cost and many more suggestions that will add a depth to your journey that you might not have had without it. This alone makes this book a worthwhile inclusion in your suitcase.

Highly Recommended for planning & using during your trip to Roma!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Italian Holiday Essential, 26 Mar 2012
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet Rome (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Updated & printed in February 2012, this is the 7th Edition of the Lonely Planet's city-guide for Rome. Weighing in at a fairly hefty 350-odd pages, this guide has almost everything you could possibly ask for out of a city-guide, including full-colour photos. The book is broken down to the respective regions of Rome and every now and again features in-depth articles about specific places of interest (eg. The Catacombs) that include a background & history that you might not have garnered otherwise. The back of the book includes a brief phrasebook to get even the most rudimentary of Italian-speakers around and let you in some on some of the local's regional lingo.

A huge pull-out map provides easy-to-read street information that details how to get to the sights. There are even some more maps included in the back of the book that provide some locales with a little more detail than the larger pull-out one. Whilst the text of the book details what to see, how much is should cost and many more suggestions that will add a depth to your journey that you might not have had without it. This alone makes this book a worthwhile inclusion in your suitcase.

Highly Recommended for planning & using during your trip to Roma!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Guide, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Rome (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
It's got basically all the info you need and is truly pocket sized. It's also very durable. For more detailed info I'd recommend Lonely Planet's larger version of this guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Rome (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet Rome (Travel Guide) by Hole (Paperback - 10 Feb 2012)
£12.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews