Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well designed book, but not without its flaws
Set off with this book on Nov 1st 2012. Have used it so far in northern Thailand, Laos and Vietnam. I want to insert a caveat that I am unable to make a decent judgment on the whole contents of the book, which obviously covers far more countries. But nevertheless I feel we have been using it long enough to make a reasonable assessment.

LAYOUT AND DESIGN...
Published 21 months ago by Khh

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not very detailed
I know lonely planet because of my previous trips and I really like it as it's usually full of details that no other guides provide but I'm not happy about this one. Probably when it comes to books that want to include several countries, they are not as detailed as you would like them to be. I bought it because I'm going to Malaysia, Cambodia, Vietnam and Singapore for 2...
Published 18 months ago by Laura79


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Southeast Asia on a shoestring (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Bought for son travelling was useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Southeast Asia on a shoestring (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Good we are using it all the time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Southeast Asia on a shoestring (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Really gelpful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good, 5 July 2014
By 
F. Potts - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Southeast Asia on a shoestring (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Quick delivery, good price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Southeast Asia on a shoestring (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
bought for christmas for son who is off travelling at the moment. assume it is guiding him around but not heard from him so assume all is well
had a quick read before he went and it gave good information on local customs and hints on things to do and not to do
I like this "shoestring" range of travel guides
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 9 Dec 2013
This review is from: Lonely Planet Southeast Asia on a shoestring (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Good book. Covers everything you'd need to know. Got some of the other lonely planet guides for the region but this on its own is enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SE Asia Guide, 7 April 2013
By 
Ian Baker (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Southeast Asia on a shoestring (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
16th edition published July 2012, first published 1975 - so long term popularity. Nearly 1000 pages covering Burma, Laos, Thailand, Vietnam, Malaysia, Indonesia. Well worth the cost just to read even if you do not travel there. Reading the book at home then taking digital copies of specific chapters while travelling would be my choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, just updated!, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Southeast Asia on a shoestring (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Used a friends old version for a trip to Cambodia and Vietnam during summer 2012 and bought the new version for planning a trip to thailand and indonesia this coming summer. Would recommend it to anyone on a budget and even anyone who isn't as there are occasionally more pricey places to stay considered and the restaurants that I visited from the guide were all really good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bought as gift, 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Southeast Asia on a shoestring (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
They specifically asked for this so i presume they like it. Seems a fairly definitive guide when planning a budget trip
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Southeast Asia on a shoestring (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
this is the ideal guide to give you key and basic information on areas of travel in SEA. The size is just right and not too bulky. Don't forget you will be lugging this around with you for a good few months!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Southeast Asia on a shoestring (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet Southeast Asia on a shoestring (Travel Guide) by Richard Waters (Paperback - 13 July 2012)
Used & New from: 12.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews