Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible buy
I bought this book as I was planning to take a road trip throughout tuscany in June 2012. It was remarkably handy to have before, throughout and after the trip! It was perfect for references of places, reading on the history of the places, and helped incredibly a lot in deciding what to see and what to miss.

However, what I loved most about the book was the...
Published on 27 Jun 2012 by HannahH

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother
This is a truly awful guide book. Information is vague and obviously second or third hand. The language irritates 'we recon the Middle Ages get a bad rap in the history books' and is full of similar unqualified assertions. It smacks of posh people adopting street argot to court popularity. Information is scant and caters for a short attention span.
Rough Guides top...
Published 3 months ago by Kevin O' Brien


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible buy, 27 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Florence & Tuscany (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I bought this book as I was planning to take a road trip throughout tuscany in June 2012. It was remarkably handy to have before, throughout and after the trip! It was perfect for references of places, reading on the history of the places, and helped incredibly a lot in deciding what to see and what to miss.

However, what I loved most about the book was the detailed recommendations/reviews for places to eat - whether it was an expensive, fancy restuarant or a 'hole-in-the-wall' in Florence for a sandwich. We never visited an overly expensive place or had a bad experience because of it.

Nonetheless, there was some disadvantages of the book. As it was covering Florence AND Tuscany, it was aiming to cover a lot in very little room. There was no one map of tuscany for driving - although that proved not to be so difficult because of signs everywhere. I also felt that it missed out on a few towns/villages/landscapes that were absolutely perfect - but this is only a matter of an update in the next version!

Overall, a well set out book with recommendations, stories, history, descriptions and in-depth advise.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not perfect., 29 Jun 2012
By 
G. Labrijn (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The lonely planet guides and rough guides are my preferred travel guides.
Both are a bit thin on how to get from A to B, and seem to assume that most of us drive cars. Well I don't and anyway you see much more when you are not driving.
I realise it is hard to be up to date about trains and buses, so give more in the way of websites.
Beware, some italian websites are out of date, so always check locally.
My hotel actually only regurgitated the website............not a lot of use either!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive but needlessly sniffy in places, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Florence & Tuscany (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I enjoyed using this guidebook on the whole. Most of the recommendations and descriptions were accurate. It was particularly useful for Florence and Lucca. However, it was quite dismissive of several beach towns on the Versilia Riviera, which I really enjoyed visiting. So if you think a place looks good but the guide book has not given it much page room, and/or has been mildly derogatory/dismissive, don't be put off from checking it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother, 18 Aug 2014
This review is from: Lonely Planet Florence & Tuscany (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This is a truly awful guide book. Information is vague and obviously second or third hand. The language irritates 'we recon the Middle Ages get a bad rap in the history books' and is full of similar unqualified assertions. It smacks of posh people adopting street argot to court popularity. Information is scant and caters for a short attention span.
Rough Guides top it for relevant information as at least they lead you to believe that some of the restaurants and
accommodation might have been visited by the reviewers.
I deeply regret buying this and would never buy another lonely planet guide. Generally speaking, Michelin guides top everything for cultural info and rough guides supply the best practical info. DK are a reasonable fusion. Take your pick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be improved..., 11 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Florence & Tuscany (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I bought this guide for a trip in Florence (a week) and Tuscany (Greve in Chianti, Sienna, Lucca, Pisa...) which has provided good details for Florence and also give a good glimpse of the various destinations in Tuscany (good maps...). But I was sometimes a bit disappointed by the exactitude of the guide.

First, opening time and fares are not always up to date (Boboli Garden is not free but 10 euros...).
The guide is not very handy when looking for things to do neaby where you are, as these is no page number to refer to from the map.
Also, there were couple of questionnable tips. For example, I went to Antica Osteria da Divo restaurant in Sienna the first day I arrived in town and I had a very bad experience with the food (seafood was not fresh, truffle has no taste but cost the same price, no choice for wine by glass, only one one Chianti Classico at 6 euros the bottle) and the service is charge twice (you paid the coppetto of 3 euros by personne and an additional service charge of 10% of the bill). After looking at the review of this place on tripadvisor, I realize that I was not the only one who did not appreciate my dinner... Obviously, all the places recommended are not like this restaurant, but I was quite surprise to be able to find one like this in the guide.

To put things into perspective, even if I think this guide could be improved, I could not find other guide which looks better than this one. That's probably why this January 2012 version was still not done thoroughly after 12 years (first version of this guide is July 2000)...

I hope that helps.
Have a good trip!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best, 31 May 2014
By 
Emmabemma (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Florence & Tuscany (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
You cannot beat Lonely Planet for their take on any country and this is a comprehensive look at parts of Italy with pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enhanced our stay, 1 Nov 2013
By 
E. J. Greenwood (Caterham, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Florence & Tuscany (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Full of snippets of information about the major attractions. The restaurant reviews were spot on. No more eating in overpriced tourist venues just fantastic food at every budget level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars as always great books., 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Florence & Tuscany (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
great book easy to navigate and some great restaurants and sigts listed. the only problem is the prices were really out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Florence & Tuscany (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Excellent list of restaurants and a good history section. Very good description of main tourist attractions and good maps of main towns
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Preaching, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Florence & Tuscany (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Previously have loved lonely planet books but I have not bought one for 5 years. Found it was very condescending and wish it had just stuck to the facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Florence & Tuscany (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet Florence & Tuscany (Travel Guide) by Williams (Paperback - 13 Jan 2012)
Used & New from: £0.47
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews