Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful
Had a quick visit to Hong Kong and as the guide I had was pretty old decided to get a new copy. It gives you all the information you need from stations to eating places and places of interest. As ever Lonely Planet have done the work for you. A must for anyone going to Hong Kong as the city is changing fast.
Published 15 months ago by Wylda M. M. Kennedy

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars My first lonely planet.. not very helpful in making decisions
Hong Kong (Lonely Planet City Guides)

As stated in the title, it is the first time I'm almost totally relying on a lonely planet travel guide and I'm overwhelmed by the huge amount of information spread all over the book.

I must say I do not appreciate the list-approach through which all places and sights have been laid down, especially because there...
Published 15 months ago by Max Muto


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars My first lonely planet.. not very helpful in making decisions, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Hong Kong (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Hong Kong (Lonely Planet City Guides)

As stated in the title, it is the first time I'm almost totally relying on a lonely planet travel guide and I'm overwhelmed by the huge amount of information spread all over the book.

I must say I do not appreciate the list-approach through which all places and sights have been laid down, especially because there is really little way to tell what could be more or less important to see. For instance one thing i miss of my routard is the rating system they use to give readers a clue about how a place stands within a specific area - they rate "all sights" from 1 to 3 points.

Another frustrating thing is that all throughout the book there is no way to understand where one's going. Each chapter just begins with a list of things to see, eat, drink etc, but no notice is given about history and/or population of any neighbourhood or district whatsoever. There is a state-of-the art section at the end but it is of no use when you're approaching a specific area and what you crave for, as a tourist, is to know where you're gonna find yourself if you go there. You need to go through descriptions of bars, restaurants, markets etc to figure out what the main trends are, but no greater understanding is provided.

All along the guide authors keep suggesting a lot of planning, tours.. they even lay out a full 4-days program, but again, they give us so little background about this all that as tourists we're kind of asked to take a total leap of faith - not at all my thing.

I saw there is a smaller city guide of hong kong (former "encounters"), which costs half the price. Beside of Macau (i guess), I wonder what added value is there in a book that doesn't allow a longer vacationer to delve into the culture, the mood and the lifestyle of his surroundings.

Instead of all the cool designs, layouts and graphics I would definitely appreciate some knowledge that helped me sort out all of the lists in here.

Ps: if you felt pretty much the same, I later found the national geographic guide to provide everything LP was lacking of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, 12 April 2013
By 
Wylda M. M. Kennedy (Stirling Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Hong Kong (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Had a quick visit to Hong Kong and as the guide I had was pretty old decided to get a new copy. It gives you all the information you need from stations to eating places and places of interest. As ever Lonely Planet have done the work for you. A must for anyone going to Hong Kong as the city is changing fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was one of the better kindle travel guides that I have used, though the maps as always seem to let the kindle edition down, overall maps were lacking, to connect between districts, and not possible to search on map to find locations.

Overall a good guide, and informative, worked well for a 5 day return trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, not so good to read on a kindle., 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good book, not so good to read on a kindle as cannot access links or see pictures. Best back to buying books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars needed for HK, 10 Jun 2014
By 
Kieran G. Cairns (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Hong Kong (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
intimidating at first glance , BUT , the best for preplanning your visit , all the background you need , especially how to get around HK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Bitterly disappointed, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Hong Kong (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Oh Lonely Planet how disappointed I am in thee!
Having come to expect good things from the single travellers guide book of choice I was hoping for an informative yet informal Hong Kong Bible. Sadly, Lonely Planet's latest incarnation failed... Miserably.
The latest addition appears to put appearance over content (There's no getting away from the fact that Rough Guides are decidedly ugly compared to Lonely Planet).
Here are the problems:
1. The included maps are maddeningly awful. Two simple, not covering a wider enough area... Bad, bad, bad! Ask for a free map from your hotel or even better pick up the free MTR map.
2. The index - Argh! I just want one index... Not several! Don't expect to find what you want in the index - It's woefully bad.
3.The Top Sights - Who chose these? Of all the things in Hong Kong, the HSBC made the Top Sights? Come on!
All is not lost however... As one might expect from such a trusted travel source the Lonely Planet authors really do come up trumps with some of the hints and tips nestled within the book (it just might be a bit of a mission to dig these nuggets of information out).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great help full of info., 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Hong Kong (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Book reviews recommended this guide book and they were right. Handy size to carry, good tips, made trip fun time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arrived promptly, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Hong Kong (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Seems pretty comprehensive and is very well organized. The LP changed their format a couple of years ago and I found it to be pretty confusing and hard to navigate (and a bit boring too). Thankfully, they have now created a hybrid that has the usability of the older versions and good colour coding with the best features of the newer-style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handy book of useful information, 13 April 2013
This review is from: Lonely Planet Hong Kong (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Provided me with useful info. Even though I visit HK every year, the book gave me more in depth knowledge of local life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buy rough guide instead, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Hong Kong (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
The layout of lonely planet books are poor

Not easy to use - Better of with a book from the rough guide company
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Hong Kong (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet Hong Kong (Travel Guide) by Chung Wah Chow (Paperback - 18 Jan 2013)
11.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews