Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First time in Indonesia
The book is presented well and has all the major components of any good guide book; maps, reviews, tips etc. I would recommend getting a separate map of any island you wish to explore in more detail as it gets a bit tricky following the narrative sometimes in terms of where you actually are on Java for example!

As always, a combination of using the LP and...
Published 6 months ago by Mr. Am Clowes

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Indonesia Slimmed Down! :-(
I had for editions given Lonely Planet's Indonesia guide 4 stars despite all its errors and shortcomings just because it remained the only practical guide covering the whole country, but this new edition is so much poorer than the previous one that it no longer deserves the same rating.

For a start, it suffers from the same shortcomings plaguing all new LP...
Published 15 months ago by Laszlo Wagner


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Indonesia Slimmed Down! :-(, 3 Sep 2013
By 
Laszlo Wagner (Hungary) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet Indonesia (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I had for editions given Lonely Planet's Indonesia guide 4 stars despite all its errors and shortcomings just because it remained the only practical guide covering the whole country, but this new edition is so much poorer than the previous one that it no longer deserves the same rating.

For a start, it suffers from the same shortcomings plaguing all new LP editions: far fewer accommodation options which are no longer listed ordered by price, maps less detailed, color pages on poorer quality paper, etc.
But the major step back is that content has been cut back seriously. This edition is 100 pages shorter than the previous one, and it shows. Entire islands and even archipelagos have vanished from the book, especially in the Maluku region, but also in Nusa Tenggara, Sulawesi and Sumatra. Very little in the way of new destinations has been added to compensate for those losses. Editing has also changed in a curious way: The regions themselves, once listed in a logical largely west-to-east order are now listed in a completely random order, with the furthest and least visited region of Papua now in the middle of the book, before the much more visited and accessible western and central regions of Sumatra and Sulawesi. Oh, and it's full of badly misspellt Indonesian place names, too.

After all these complaints, do I have anything good to say?
Well, if this will be your first trip to the country, and you are happy to visit only the more touristy areas, you will probably find that this book still gives enough information for you - and definitely more than any other guide to the country. It does still cover all the popular places first-timers are likely to want to go to, and it does still give actual (though changing!) prices for accommodation and transport.

But if you are a regular visitor to Indonesia and already have the previous edition(s), no need to get this new one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty weak, 12 Aug 2013
By 
Jason Fish - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Indonesia (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
After 5 weeks in Indonesia with three kids, and being a life-long fan of LP I have to say this is the worst country/edition I have ever used (2013 edition). There is generally an abscence of detailed information on many important aspects - for example, the 30 day tourist visa for Indonesia is very short and many people organise an extension at the Immigration services - I also assume that the LP writters have done this too - so why do they not mention the dress code for public offices that result in more or less all travellers being turned away to go back to their accommodation, put on long trousers and closed shoes and return; or why do they fail to mention that blue ink cannot be used to fill in the forms...

Also, most of the descriptions of accommodation are hopelessly positive and rosy - many of the places we stayed received glowing descriptions in LP and were in fact borderline acceptable to even the hardiest traveller - the section for Sulawesi was worst for this. Descriptions should be balanced: LP is not the tourist board! The Sulawesi section was also pretty poor for transport logistics - LP recommends the Luwuk route to the Togeans as the fastest way but provides no information on how to arrange the overland section (where's the bus station?), or accommodation in Luwuk (there is some). For the Togeans the impression in LP is that it is quite easy to get around these islands - it is not, and there is no phone network available for you to check if there is a room available before you commit to a 3 hour boat ride to go and check out another place - this may not be necesarry in low season, but most people dont travel in low season.

In summary, pretty weak in some key areas but still a huge resource. Compliment your information from this book with the Thorn Tree and other online resources to spot the gaps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor smaller revised edition, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Indonesia (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I travel to different parts of Indonesia and purchased the latest edition to get updated information on the areas I intended to visit. I am extremely disappointed with the 2013 edition compared to the previous 2010 edition. The 2013 edition has 100 fewer pages and the accomodation options for example have been halved compared to the 2010 edition as a result I will be taking the 2010 edition to Indonesia not the 2013 edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First time in Indonesia, 22 May 2014
By 
Mr. Am Clowes (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Indonesia (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
The book is presented well and has all the major components of any good guide book; maps, reviews, tips etc. I would recommend getting a separate map of any island you wish to explore in more detail as it gets a bit tricky following the narrative sometimes in terms of where you actually are on Java for example!

As always, a combination of using the LP and chatting to locals, other travellers and just by investigating things yourself proves to be the most rewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Indonesia (Country Guides), 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Indonesia (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
The guide is not good - compared to previous editions important information was removed and criteria to include some items does not seem logical. For instance, some places have really few options for accommodation but include very expensive options - it is perhaps not the most useful for the target readers group - and it is easy to find those in the internet.

Some extensive and of doubtful value for travelers descriptions about certain service providers that clearly are very good marketing for those services - not really what I expect from such a guide.

Evaluations are often exaggerated and one is often disappointed.

Large parts of the country simply ignored! And too much focus on surf ...

Very short on maps - other guides of LP are much better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars One book for the whole of Indonesia might not be enough., 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Indonesia (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Lots of useful information in here but we found that prices differed quite a lot from what was suggested in the book. It was high season but we found that the cost of rent and food was significantly higher than the book suggested even though it did point out that prices tended to increase at this time of year it wasn't very accurate about how much this increase would be.
We also found that lots of the email/contact addresses were no longer functioning for the guest houses.
The Section at the front of the book suggesting itineraries based on activities, time, interests was really helpful. Good maps. Would have liked a few more images of places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing beats a paperback guidebook, 18 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lonely Planet just doesn't work as effectively on a Kindle. I want to be able to easily reference and bookmark sections, not to mention follow maps. I'd say a good old fashioned paperback is still best where travel guides are concerned. Content is still quality though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Indonesia is probably just a little too big to put ..., 7 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Indonesia (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Indonesia is probably just a little too big to put it all in 1 book. But it's an okay book for general info on Indonesia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Don't believe everything you read in this book!, 19 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Indonesia (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Helpful at times, very inaccurate at others (desperately needs updating!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disapointing, 20 Jun 2013
By 
Pedro Tedim - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet Indonesia (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Disapointed it didn't get a review on top of the old issues, information is outdated and doesn't refelect current reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Indonesia (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet Indonesia (Travel Guide) by Paul Stiles (Paperback - 17 May 2013)
£15.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews