Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most complete guide!
So much information...county descriptions from bars to local producers...must see's,pictures, maps, tips, basic phrases. I would really recommend this book, it has absolutely everything.
Published on 18 May 2012 by kelly88

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Confusing Index
Owing to the arrangement of items in the index it is difficult to find what you want. Eg Tintern Abbey is not under Tintern and not under Abbey. The guide is rather bland and lacks the tongue in cheek/perceptive comments of other LP guides. Few and rather expensive accommodation options are listed - many good options are not included.
Published 16 months ago by GieUsaBrek


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most complete guide!, 18 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Ireland (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
So much information...county descriptions from bars to local producers...must see's,pictures, maps, tips, basic phrases. I would really recommend this book, it has absolutely everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential handbook, 23 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Ireland (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Just back from a driving holiday round Ireland and found this book spot on. Referred to it every day to read up on the places we were due to visit and tried a few of the recommended eateries. Even the smaller places were included and the candid comments were very helpful - and accurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good guide to more touristy areas, 22 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Ireland (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Visited Ireland for first time and found this a useful guide to the major tourist attractions and regions. It is not comprehensive and misses some excellent attractions and coverage of many areas of inland Ireland off the tourist trails is very minimal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 8 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Ireland (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Going to Ireland on holiday this year, where does one find the BEST info - "Lonely Planet " of course. What a wonderful book - FULL of all the info that you require & MORE. Although we are exploring the whole island, on an organised tour, the info that this book gives you, will help not only us but the rest of the people on the tour. Just to read the 766+pages you would imagin that you had visited all the places - pubs, bars, hotels, visitor attractions etc. etc. etc. We have other Lonely Planet books and they ALL exeed ones expectations. Plus the price on Amazon, you can't beat it!!! Well done & thankyou
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's the best guide going., 1 Jun. 2012
By 
Mr. J. J. O'doherty (Huddersfield, W.Yorks., UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Ireland (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This is not only the best guide to Ireland I've seen in the last sixty years or so that I've been going there. It is also such a damned good read you nearly don't have to travel anywhere in order to appreciate the magic of the place. The only thing it lacks is the ability to convert itself into a raincoat.
Jack O'Doherty
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lonely Planet Ireland, 10 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Ireland (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Up to the usual high standard of Lonely Planet. I've just returned from a touring holiday of Ireland and the guide proved to be invaluable. If you follow the recommendations then you can't go far wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 5 Aug. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Ireland (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
the book is a really good buy, it might not be the smallest for back packers but if you're interested in visiting Ireland and you want a good overview then look no further
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ireland (Lonely Planet Country Guides), 17 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Ireland (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I am using this guide to plan a forthcoming visit to Ireland, and I find it is extremely helpful and easy to use. Of course I am not in a position to judge the accuracy of the information, but it is certainly easy to find out about the local attractions and museums. Not all museum entries state which days the museum is open. Some prices are not clear - for example the price given for a ferry did not specify whether the price included the passengers or just the car. However, I am enjoying using the guide and the illustrations and maps are very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Quality Travel Guide, 1 Oct. 2013
By 
Patrick (Midlands UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Ireland (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
A well written and very informative guide book. Easy to read, easy to use and cross reference with other info. It made planning a travel holiday in Ireland an absolute breeze. By using the information listed in the book I managed to spend over two weeks travelling round Ireland and seeing more places of interest than I had originally planned on. Couple the guide with some accommodation guides supplied by the Ireland Tourist Authority made the trip memorable for all the right reasons. The guide comes highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive guide to Ireland, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Ireland (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This is a good comprehensive guide on Ireland, and gives good details about the counties on a general basis. I would say that the guide does tend to direct you to more premium restaurants and pubs across the country, but generally is accurate with its price guides. I always buy a travel guide when I go to a country, and this particular guide is a great start for newbies. If you are spending your holiday in a particular county then it may be worth investing in a county specific guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Ireland (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet Ireland (Travel Guide) by Wilson (Paperback - 5 Jan. 2012)
Used & New from: £3.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews