Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for southern US travellers
Hard to obtain this product. Now out of print but thro' Amazon's directory I was able to obtain thro' a third party. Worth the search since I found little else to cover the southeastern USA in such detail when travelling through the regions this book covers.
Published on 28 Aug 2012 by MTW

versus
20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Disappointing Guide Book
This a disappointing guide book, perhaps the least useful I have ever bought and far short of the Lonely Planet's usual excellent standards.

There are four problems.

First, the book is structured as a series of themed trips. There is nothing wrong with this per se but you are quite likely to find youself in place that features in 3 or 4 trips and...
Published on 13 Jun 2009 by R. J. Richardson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Disappointing Guide Book, 13 Jun 2009
By 
R. J. Richardson (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Carolinas, Georgia and the South Trips (Lonely Planet Country & Regional Guides) (Paperback)
This a disappointing guide book, perhaps the least useful I have ever bought and far short of the Lonely Planet's usual excellent standards.

There are four problems.

First, the book is structured as a series of themed trips. There is nothing wrong with this per se but you are quite likely to find youself in place that features in 3 or 4 trips and the cross-referencing between trips is poor.

Secondly, the book lacks much of the information that makes guide books useful. This is true on many levels; for example: there is none of the historical and cultural information usually found in Lonely Planet guidebooks that puts the places being visited into context; there is very little of the basic factual information (such as museum opening times) that you expect to find in a guide book; and there is very little information on places to stay (with the few places picked out generally being high end).

Thirdly, the book is heavily biased towards food; many trips are centred entirely on food and places to eat feature extensively in other trips. This will appeal to foodies but not to travellers with broader interests.

Finally, the tone of the book is odd and irritating - it is a weird blend of right-on folksiness and 1950s travelogue; so you will find youself being told to "bid adieu to sweet Hwy 17", to "head back downtown and have a spiritual experience", and to "let some chopped pork slap you on your taste buds...".

The Lonely Planet guide to "Louisiana and The Deep South" (currently out of print) is much more useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars travel book, 26 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carolinas, Georgia and the South Trips (Lonely Planet Country & Regional Guides) (Paperback)
This travel book is fine for small touring trips. I just couldn't find enough information about specific towns that I was interested in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A real disappointment, 14 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carolinas, Georgia and the South Trips (Lonely Planet Country & Regional Guides) (Paperback)
Agree with another reviwed this is a disappointing guide book, by far the least useful guide I've ever bought and not what I would expect from Lonely Planet.

The major disappointment is the lack of information - there are lost of trip routes for which there is limited detail about each place featured and if a trip goes to the same place as another trip, the same limited information is repeated. I found it impossible to tailor my own roadtrip.

There is none of the historical and cultural information usually found in Lonely Planet guidebooks that puts the places being visited into context; there is very little of the basic factual information (such as museum opening times) that you expect to find in a guide book; and there is very little information on places to stay (with the few places picked out generally being high end).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for southern US travellers, 28 Aug 2012
By 
MTW (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carolinas, Georgia and the South Trips (Lonely Planet Country & Regional Guides) (Paperback)
Hard to obtain this product. Now out of print but thro' Amazon's directory I was able to obtain thro' a third party. Worth the search since I found little else to cover the southeastern USA in such detail when travelling through the regions this book covers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great ideas and reccomendations, 30 Mar 2011
This review is from: Carolinas, Georgia and the South Trips (Lonely Planet Country & Regional Guides) (Paperback)
This is a really good ideas book for trips and themed itineries in the south. I am looking forward to trying them out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cant wait to use it fa'real....!, 1 Feb 2010
By 
T. Lewis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Carolinas, Georgia and the South Trips (Lonely Planet Country & Regional Guides) (Paperback)
Great book, lots of maps and info, even suggests music playlists to listen to on your roadtrip!! Looking forward to using it on my trip in a few weeks time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous guide book full of loads of great information, 28 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Carolinas, Georgia and the South Trips (Lonely Planet Country & Regional Guides) (Paperback)
I have just returned from a roadtrip that visited Louisiana, Mississippi, Tenessee, North Carolina, South Carolina and Georgia, all covered by this great book. It is full of ideas for short visits or themed toured. A must have book if you're visiting these states. It also covers Alabama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I recently used this book for my honeymoon. the ..., 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carolinas, Georgia and the South Trips (Lonely Planet Country & Regional Guides) (Paperback)
I recently used this book for my honeymoon.the structure may be a bit clumsy at first if you already have an itinerary in mind, however had it not been for this book, I would have missed so much... The info is extremely valuable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carolinas, Georgia and the South Trips (Lonely Planet Country & Regional Guides) (Paperback)
useful book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Carolinas, Georgia and the South Trips (Lonely Planet Country & Regional Guides)
Used & New from: £1.36
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews