Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't go to Turkey without it
Fantastic book but alot of prices have changed, I visited in April 2012. Some places mentioned worth seeing or described as beautiful aren't really. The cover fell off after a month of battering, it's not as durable as the previous editions. Overall fantastic information though, you'll feel like you hardly ever get lost with this book. With practical information on...
Published on 3 May 2012 by Salie

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Some good things other bad things
Used this book for my 3 week Turkey trip. Overall it is ok and detailed. It has good recommendations for sights, places and some basic info about each place. So it was easy to make plans about where to go and what to see. However it is missing a good background chapter with some history etc, rather than having small history chapter for each region or city. The maps for...
Published on 27 Aug. 2011 by Steini


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Some good things other bad things, 27 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Turkey: Country Guide (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
Used this book for my 3 week Turkey trip. Overall it is ok and detailed. It has good recommendations for sights, places and some basic info about each place. So it was easy to make plans about where to go and what to see. However it is missing a good background chapter with some history etc, rather than having small history chapter for each region or city. The maps for the cities were horrible. We often ended up searching for hotels/hostels for a long time because they were not put in the right spot on the maps! Also the accommodation recommendations were not that good either as we usually found much better places to stay in just around the corner. LP plan to make the books more up scale is also not what i am looking for. 60% of the recommendation or more in the book are for mid range and only some 15-20% for budget. Most of the Top choices are also in the mid or top range. And in the towns where the authors say there isn't too much budget accommodation it is just plain wrong. There was never a problem for us finding one if we spent some time searching(but that is the reason you buy a travel book, to not have to spend that time). I didn't use the restaurant recommendations that much so i can't review that part.
Good: Recommendations for sights, places and help for planing the overall trip. A lot of information, even for small places.
Bad: Maps, recommendations for accommodation, not too much for budget travelers, missing a background chapter as many other LP books have.

I would give the book 2.5 stars, but amazon only allows 2 or 3 stars, so i give it 2 as some parts of the books were irritating me so much at the time of traveling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not up to usual standard, 1 May 2011
This review is from: Turkey: Country Guide (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
After previously puchasing several Lonely Planet Guides including 2 for Turkey, I was extremely disappointed in the new layout and content.
Found it difficult to use and not user friendly. Appears to have gone more upmarket in selection of places and accomodation. Very disappointed with the whole book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Functional guide, but doesn't go above and beyond what's needed, 25 Sept. 2012
By 
Ankur Banerjee (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turkey: Country Guide (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
It's hard to give a definitive review of this guide. You have to remember that Turkey is a fairly large country and there were EIGHT authors who worked on this book. So depending on which region of Turkey you read up the most about, your impression of the book may vary. Having said that, my itinerary took me through Istanbul, Ankara, Cappadocia, and bits along the Aegean coast - which is what I expect MANY travellers would be doing. With that in mind, here's what I think of this particular Lonely Planet guide/edition:

- Maps and listings seemed accurate for most part, which is THE most important thing for me in a travel guide. (Some of the ones for Cappadocia are off though.) However, the maps mostly stick to busiest parts of touristy neighbourhoods - don't expect a working map of the full city. Then again, you'll probably stick mostly the must-see bits anyway.
- I was impressed by the comprehensive bus timing information from all major bus terminals around Turkey. This was actually quite handy for me in planning my itinerary on the fly.
- Lacking in budget accommodation options throughout. Most of the accommodation entries are for rooms that are 50 liras or more a day - you can definitely go cheaper than that and I was disappointed that they did not have definitive recommendations on that.
- Descriptions of places to visit are bare minimum - and often copied from signs or audio guides from those places. Don't expect to use this as an in-depth guide on understanding things, but for basics it's okay.
- Opening/closing times are fairly accurate; if off, it's usually by half an hour at maximum. Places in Turkey do change opening times according to season and the book covers most of those cases.

Overall, I'd recommend buying it. Bus timings and maps are my two main needs in a travel guide and I figure out the rest myself. This book fulfils those two criteria well-enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't go to Turkey without it, 3 May 2012
By 
Salie (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turkey: Country Guide (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
Fantastic book but alot of prices have changed, I visited in April 2012. Some places mentioned worth seeing or described as beautiful aren't really. The cover fell off after a month of battering, it's not as durable as the previous editions. Overall fantastic information though, you'll feel like you hardly ever get lost with this book. With practical information on transport, sights and all, also with cultural tips and insights, its fantastic. Never travel without a lonely planet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lonely Planet Turkey on Kindle, 14 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a paper guide, this is probably quite good (worth perhaps 4 stars) but on Kindle it does not really work. The pictures and diagrams, especially maps, are not practical and are very hard to use. Navigation is difficult as many places are not in the index (i.e. most minor places) and the search facility is not good enough to find them. Even though two of us share a Kindle account (so we got 2 copies for the price of one, in effect)this was not good value. Until Amazon improves these devices I would suggest that the extra weight of a real paper travel guide is outweighed by its practical advantages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This guide is for Istanbul only, 12 July 2012
I'd like to echo a previous reviewer of the kindle edition in an attempt to get this issue fixed. This guide is NOT the full Turkey edition but the Istanbul one. Please fix this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic guide books that I don't leave home without!, 10 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turkey: Country Guide (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
I have been using Lonely Planet travel books for the last 23 years. They have never let me down with the information they provide & are the most accurate books you will find. Any time I go against what the book says it usually is a disaster. They are the only travel books I buy! This new book is a replacement for the old Lonely Planet on Turkey I've had for the last 18 years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Turkey Guide, 9 Mar. 2012
By 
C. Hudson (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turkey: Country Guide (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
Helpful book, well laid out which provided all the information I required. Maps not quite so helpful, some places left off some maps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful for hotels and transport, 24 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turkey: Country Guide (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
I took this book to Eastern Turkey 4 months ago along with the Bradt guide. Both were useful, the Bradt guide for the history and detail, and this one for the practical stuff like hotel listings (useful as i was moving around a lot and didnt book in advance).

The new style layout of this book is good (bit more colourful than previous) and there is lots of coverage of the east of the country (most guide books give it a 2-3 page chapter at the back in the assumption that no one will ever go there).

So sad to hear of yesterday's earthquake in Van as this was where i spent 2 nights and loved it. RIP all the victims.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I find it much easier to use a travel guide ..., 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I find it much easier to use a travel guide as a book than on the kindle, but all the information you need is there and you don't need to carry numerous books when you have your kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Turkey: Country Guide (Lonely Planet Country Guides)
Turkey: Country Guide (Lonely Planet Country Guides) by James Bainbridge (Paperback - 18 Mar. 2011)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews