Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars8
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 March 2013
This is not in the usual format for LP guides . It's as if a little amount of information has been spread out to fill a whole book. Dreadful to navigate , hate it.

Each area of Boston is small, yet the guide is split by areas rather than topic eg eating, entertainment, and it is diffucult to relate one to another, and to work out a days plan. There is a section called shopping which lists best 3-6 picks for certain items, by name only with apage refernce. Maps don't always have the explanatory lists on the same page as the map, meaning turning to 3 pages three times to check out listed restaurents etc.. As the type is so spread out, and some times bulked out with guff, that many pages end up olisting only 5-8 restaurents or sights etc.

Am using the US country guides to plan. And am tempted to take those and rely on local info when there.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2013
Used this book on a recent trip to Boston and would highly recommend. The book is easy to use and very informative. I found the small maps of each section particularly useful. They show the best hotels, restaurants and sights on the map in each area so it makes looking for a place to eat at night that little bit easier. Can't really fault this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
I will not be going to Boston until June but the book looks as if it will give me lots of ideas of places to go and ways to spend my time there. I have used Lonely Planet guides before: they are much better presented than a lot of other guide books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2013
The guide book is well set out with plenty of suggestions for a fun stay in Boston. Good maps. Worth the money for the suggested itineraries.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2016
Great product - good quality. Exactly as described.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2015
Invaluable reference for my east coast US tour!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2012
Used the guide and the map on our recent visit to Boston and found both of them very useful Recommend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2014
The book I read to research this post was Lonely Planet Boston which is an excellent book which I bought from kindle. This is a huge book that has sections covering everything including just about every restaurant, hotel and tourist attraction in Boston and nearby. Boston is the oldest city in the USA and really is a great tourist destination. There is a major international airport and an Amtrak terminus railway station that travels all the way from Philadelphia & Washington DC. It has the USS Constitution the oldest registered navy ship. There is the MIT & Harvard universities based in Cambridge. There is the oldest park in North America and also Boston is famed for its food truck which traditionally used to serve food to the students and scientists at the MIT but now can be found all over the city. These tend to be reasonably priced often cheaper than the restaurants. There is also Plymouth nearby with its replica of the Mayflower and its reconstruction of the Pilgrim Father's settlement Plimouth Sound as it was called. Boston is famed for its seafood but also they serve a lot of pasta. I really enjoyed this book and it is a treasure trove of information. Boston is also famed for its art galleries which many industrialists in the past invested money in the arts which was often bequeathed to the city. It is also a major sports centre with the New England Patriots & Boston Red Sox to name just for a start. The Red Sox didn't win the World Series for 86 years but did so in 2008. There have been many films set in Boston like The Departed & Good Will Hunting. I would definitely recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)