Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very detailed, very easy to read.
Thick book, lots of interesting information I did not find through a lot of internet research.
Include pull out detailed Bangkok map.
Published on 10 July 2012 by john

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ... lonely planet guides religiously but found this one quite poor, paper very very thin so tore really easily ...
I use lonely planet guides religiously but found this one quite poor, paper very very thin so tore really easily and a lot of the info out of date. Quite ofter referred to map pages and page numbers for info that was incorrect. Not ideal!
Published 8 months ago by Katrina James


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very detailed, very easy to read., 10 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Thailand (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Thick book, lots of interesting information I did not find through a lot of internet research.
Include pull out detailed Bangkok map.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ... lonely planet guides religiously but found this one quite poor, paper very very thin so tore really easily ..., 26 Nov 2013
By 
Katrina James "Bookworm" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Thailand (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I use lonely planet guides religiously but found this one quite poor, paper very very thin so tore really easily and a lot of the info out of date. Quite ofter referred to map pages and page numbers for info that was incorrect. Not ideal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Farewell to Lonely Planet, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Thailand (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Extremely bulky and cumbersome, badly organised with no proper cross referencing between the unclear maps and the articles in the text, the articles nowhere near the relevant maps in the Bangkok section, the style of writing seemingly aimed at teenage backpackers and often not particularly well-informed, far too much emphasis on massage parlours and bars, rather than cultural heritage, the index incomplete and of little real use.

I travel the world for my work, but Lonely Planet will no longer be my guide book of choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best from Lonely Planet, 30 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Thailand (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Before my trip to thailand I bought this Lonely Planet book as I did in previous trips!

Unfortunatelly this was not the best one I got! (inflation fault?)

The prices indicated in the book are quite different from the reality! This was in fact my biggest frustation. Prices of food, accomodation, transports etc are higher in reality, which is not a good experience for travelers on budget like me :)

Also the accomodation descriptions in the book are quite expensive! I always managed to find cheaper places to stay. Please Lonely Planet don't forget your sucess is due to budget travelers!

Still is in my opinion the best guide available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential and invaluable travel companion, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Thailand (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This was our bible throughout our trip! Inevitably there were one or two entries that were out of date or inaccurate but all in all it gave us invaluable information on unusually good restaurants, hotels, historical sights, as well as planning advice and suggested routes. Our holiday would not have been the same without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Promt, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Thailand (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Detailed and informative! Quite a thick heavy book though. It has some detailed maps and loads of information on Thailand
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pretty s*** really., 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for the Andaman sea section as the whole book was cheaper than buying the one section by itself. It's so limited in what is actually tells you and the reviews for hotels / restaurants are very generic. Wouldn't recommend and doubt I'll use it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book :), 14 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Thailand (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I have just returned from my trip to Asia and used this book for 3 weeks in Thailand. The book was great and helped me pick where to go, what to see, places to stay etc. It's the most up to date book so has all the info you need. I also used the internet to so didn't totally rely on this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 9 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Thailand (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Thailand is one of the most friendly and relaxing countries in the world, but this book totally fails to inspire. It seems very superficial and reads more like a travel brochure - long on superlatives, but short on useful facts. If you want to decide which beach resorts to visit, this book will not give you much help with your choice.
It also seems inaccurate - for Pattaya it says "so many people are drunk that ... fighting, pickpocketing and reckless driving ensues". Well the level of drunkenness and violence at night is a fraction of that which occurred nightly in Nottingham in England where I lived for 24 years; and the drivers are wonderful compared to the French drivers here in the south of France. I have never seen any violence or trouble in 5 visits to Pattaya of more than a week. Of course there are problems everywhere from time to time, but not at the level this book states.
The book does not mention the real problems in Pattaya (possibly elsewhere?), such as the jet ski scam (they claim you scratched it bringing it back on to the beach - give me B20,000). This scam has been going on for years and the tourist police usually back the hire companies! Or if you hire a scooter from one of the cheap hire places be careful you are not grossly over-charged if you have a minor scrape or break a mirror. Better get it fixed yourself or you may pay through the nose. It is not easy to argue when you are dashing off to the airport. None of this is mentioned in the book. Disappointing.
I would give it 4 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Where's the info gone?, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Thailand (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I have a 2005 11th edition and thought I would buy this up to date 14th edition. Mistake!

Very difficult to read the feint print now used, need a magnifying glass, do they save money on ink? The earlier editions were at least legible.

Characterless and bland compared to the 2005 edition, one dull and lifeless feint black and blue printed page following another with very little demarcation to help find the info you want quickly, not that its there anymore! No more glossy pics which helped enliven the earlier guides.

As an example I looked up Krabi Town. In 2005 edition there were 13 places listed for Sleeping, now there are a mere 3!!
In 2005 there were 14 places listed for Eating, now a mere 3 which are an Italian Restaurant, a Night Market and a Day Market. Brilliant.
Krabi is a big town, over 27,000 population!

Then there's Samui. Lamai beach 2005 Edition there were 25 choices for Sleeping, 2012 just 9 of which the Top Choice is Rocky Resort a snip at £100 to £340 per night for a double room and during the quieter months the prices are a 'steal' , looking on their website the steal price is now £130 per night and upwards to £350 and that's in the off season! Of course the prices are out of date anyway and in the peak season it's £165 to £465 a night, so the £100 room in 2012 or time of printing the guide is now £165.

It's also said to be the best place to eat in Lamai being one of the three places listed the other two being Markets. Rocky resort is #1 on Tripadvisor, maybe the LP writers stay in an office and look up the Internet for recommendations these days whilst simultaneously deleting most of the previous listings which were er actually usefull. Who's going to stay at Rocky Resort that needs a guide book?! At those prices? A LP executive maybe!

What's happened to Lonely Planet? Cost cutting rationalisation cloaked as improvement?

About the same number of pages in each of my editions so I can't work out where the emphasis and content has changed yet.

I'm very disappointed and feel I've wasted my money on an inferior book. I will continue to use my 2005 edition and check out the Internet for updates and verification.

RRP of my 2005 11th edition was £15.99.

RRP of my 2012 14th edition £17.99.

RIP Lonely Planet Thailand 2013 it was good knowing you.

Quick addendum. Just taken out the enclosed map of central bangkok, nothing east of sukhumvit soi4 so limited use. Again the print is very feint. I looked for The Democracy Monument a major landmark - its not annotated, zilch ! Its in grid square E5 look on Google Maps. Never mind I will write it in myself. Nice and light in weight but not as good as any free tourist glossy capital wide map you can pick up anywhere.
There's a Phuket map on the reverse. Going to Phuket Town? It's not there! Actually it is Grid Square E6 but you would need to look at another decent map to find it annotated/written in. Schoolboy errors from the once reputable Lonely Planet.

Sooner or later the goodwill of LPs past success will run out if this guide book and 'map' is anything to go by. It's a shame.

Just realised the BBC took over LP a few years ago under whose direction this inferior guide was produced. Now a US based company NC2 has bought it and have said they are going to use less authors on the ground and rely more on social media and other digital sources so..........in other words staring at computer screens and doing online research, replace the scruffy backpacker with the computer geek/researcher who may never leave his desk let alone the country.

HANG ON TO YOUR OLD HARDCOPY LONELY PLANETS AND UPDATE THEM YOURSELF ON TRIPADVISOR because I can't see the guides improving now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Thailand (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet Thailand (Travel Guide) by Brandon Presser (Paperback - 10 Feb 2012)
£13.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews