Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well set-out guide - lonely planet is a must have !
This guide is planned so that you can explore each district as it has its own mini map with attractions listed for these areas. I managed to plan (roughly) what we should aim to see in the weekend we where there so was brilliant before we even got there as it helped us to choose the area to base ourselves (near the Duomo) - a great buy !.
Published on 14 Jan. 2011 by Beavis

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy digestible guide to Florence
This small book had a few positive points: useful maps,quick reference to the main sites and suggestions for visits and food/drinks
It would satisfy readers who like a quick overview and who do not want lengthy explanations. I was disappointed because I felt the book was too superficial. I would have liked to see more explanations about the gallery contents and to...
Published on 27 Mar. 2012 by Coccinelle


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well set-out guide - lonely planet is a must have !, 14 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This guide is planned so that you can explore each district as it has its own mini map with attractions listed for these areas. I managed to plan (roughly) what we should aim to see in the weekend we where there so was brilliant before we even got there as it helped us to choose the area to base ourselves (near the Duomo) - a great buy !.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect pocket guide, 29 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Lonely Planet Florence Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I took three guide books to Florence for a couple of weeks,but this was the one I used most,and found very helpful,with a decent map and good detail;the others I referred to in the evening or morning at the flat,but they were too heavy to carry around;all the essential detail you'll need,including some excellent restaurants,are in here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars extremely satisfied, 9 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Lonely Planet Florence Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Great guide. Planned my week in Florence from it and managed to see everything. also its small so very light to keep it on you all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect guide for a short Florentine break, 21 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Florence Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I recently visited the fantastic city of Florence for the second time and have found this little guide by Lonely planet to be a more than adequate guide to a short break stay. Florence is not a big place and does not require a massive cumbersome guide book to make a successful trip. It is a city best explored on foot.

The book is divided into sections by neighbourhood (Duomo and Piazza Della Signoria, San Lorenzo, San Marco etc.) with highlights from each and a detailed area map at the start. Within each are recommendations for sights, shopping and eating and drinking. I have found the restaurant recommendations particularly useful, as it highlights family run restaurants which serve good food favoured by locals, and mostly shuns the central expensive tourist trap eateries. One of the best things about Florence is the food and there are lots of superb and inexpensive restaurants, but you need to find them. This book helps.

At the rear there is a sort of potted history of Florence as well as references to local cuisine and customs, language and architecture, and other info on transport and the like. Not extensive information, but perfectly adequate and easy to digest, rather than wading through unnecessary irrelevancies. The pull out map at the back is also very decent.

Not a guide with tons of in depth information then, but what it does it does very well; it is discrete, with some excellent tips and recommendations and a focus on local Florentine life to help you get the best out of a short break.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother, 17 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Florence Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Not sure who this guide is aimed at - too little information for anyone hoping to really understand what Florence is about and what is there feels very slapdash and poorly written. I'd buy an Eyewitness guide for some good detail and then go online to find where the best hangouts/things to do are. This guide was neither informative, interesting or up to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great little find., 5 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Florence Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
These pocket sized guidebooks are fantastic. I never leave the house without one for the place I'm visiting as they are easy and lightweight to carry; have great information in them and are extremely useful for guiding you around the city you've chosen to explore with clear maps and relevant, up to date suggestions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy digestible guide to Florence, 27 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Florence Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This small book had a few positive points: useful maps,quick reference to the main sites and suggestions for visits and food/drinks
It would satisfy readers who like a quick overview and who do not want lengthy explanations. I was disappointed because I felt the book was too superficial. I would have liked to see more explanations about the gallery contents and to read more about the history of the city and sites of interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Small, 18 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Florence Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Don't know if it was my fault but the book is tiny
If you are looking for the full version look else where
But for handbag size spot on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Florence in your pocket, 25 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Florence Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
For a short break I feel the "encounter" format provides all the essentials, and fits easily in the pocket. Handy fold out map but would prefer street plans printed inside the front covers -very easy to access
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pocket-Sized Perfection!, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Florence Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
A fab little book to take on your trip to Florence. It divides the city into various different areas and looks at each one in turn. There are maps and recommendations about where to eat and what to do and it's small size means you won't be too conspicuous as you walk about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Florence Encounter (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet Florence Encounter (Travel Guide) by Landon (Paperback - 22 Oct. 2010)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews