Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful and thorough guide book
We took this to Prague and found that it had everything we needed in it - the map section is very extensive and there are countless handy hints contained within it as well as a small vocabulary section with all the basics. On the one occasion that we went out without it we were completely lost. I would advise people to take the tram maps with a pinch of salt as we found...
Published on 13 Dec 2000 by J. E. Breen

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent guide but could be better
I have mixed feelings about this guide.

In terms of practicality, it's small and not too heavy for carrying around - but is still bigger than many other city guides available. The maps are quite useful although their scale can make a short walk look like a ten mile hike! The maps are also all located at the back and there are no maps integrated into the text,...
Published on 24 July 2007 by BookWorm


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Could be better, 25 Jan 2010
By 
C. Mills (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Generally it's not a bad guide book, the recommendations were good but I had two problems with this guide. The first was the information provided for a recommendation as to it's location. It tells you the map page but does not tell you the map Ref. or item number so you have to search an entire map for a street name until you by chance turn over the page to find a key that is not mentioned anywhere. Would be so much better if they provide the map page + ref + item No. together with the main description.
The second gripe is the book fell apart on day one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect companion for a weekend away, 8 Oct 2009
This book is really excellent and useful.

Easy to navigate through the beautiful city using the easy to navigate book. Details of various areas and interests are kept brief in places, but with references to other more indepth material contained in the book.

The food and bar guide was also very useful and accurate.

I would recommend this book to anyone going for a weekend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The 2009 edition, 29 Sep 2009
Overall this is a good guide. It is especially strong on historical and cultural aspects. The descriptions of all sites of interest are well written. Also, the suggested walking tours for each city area (at least those I have followed) are well planned. However, the maps appearing in each of the sections devoted to the different city areas are graphically of low quality. It is very difficult to decipher the street names, and I therefore had to use a magnifying glass. (I happened to see the maps in the Time Out Prague Guide, and these are far superior and easy to follow). Although I visited Prague in September 2009, the 2009 edition of the guide contained some incorrect information, which needs updating. Thus, for example, the Prague Castle short tour ticket, contrary to what is stated in the guide, does not include the Story of Prague Castle exhibition. By the way, the authors' description of this exhibition as the most interesting exhibit in the entire castle will not suit the average tourist, but only those with an unusual interest in Czech history. Another, lighter example, in the restaurants section (which is generally very useful) the authors write that in the Beas Vegetarian Dhaba restaurant "the samosas are excellent". Unfortunately, from my experience, they do not have samosas in their menu.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for Prague, 8 Jun 2009
By 
if you're going to Prague for a short city visit, this guide will set you right!

All the tips and advice were sound, and the restaurant recommendations were just perfect.

We followed most of the recommended walks (although we did them all in reverse!) and found them to be interesting and informative.

I would highly recommend this guide to anyone going to Prague for a short city break.

Alistair
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lonely planet Prague, 31 May 2009
By 
Clockwino (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Useful little book with very good coverage of the main sites to visit and some excellent up front guidance on getting about by public transport- the great tram system and the tubes. have used the rough guides before for Rome and Venice and I think they are still my favoured option. The pull out map that comes with the LPC guide was a definite positive so worth checking that is in place before purchasing second hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very Basic Guide, 23 Jan 2006
This review is from: Lonely Planet Prague (Paperback)
This was my first trip to Prague and the Lonely Planet guide was extremely useful in it's provision of maps. However, I felt that it was lacking in other areas and the author's opinions of certain aspects of the city were, perhaps, outdated. We wanted to seek out Cafe Imperial and no mention of this was in the guide; however if a tourist wished to spend their time in Tesco this, somewhat strangely, was mentioned! If you are spending a couple of days in the city then this guide is adequate. However I would suggest Fodor's for longer stays or a more indepth view of Prague.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars prague - lonely planet guide, 10 April 2009
By 
- very good but almost too much imformation to absorb while on the move
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prague (Lonely Planet City Guides)
Prague (Lonely Planet City Guides) by Neil Wilson (Paperback - 19 Nov 2010)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews