Customer Reviews


3 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction
I don't usually review books but the previous reviews of this book are so unfair that I want to redress the balance.

This book is one of only two in English, which is a shame because Italy is such a great country for cycling holidays.

It presents a selection of routes in different parts of the country. If I have a criticism of the book it's that it...
Published on 15 Oct 2011 by AndyM

versus
11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't expect quiet roads or safe drivers.
Just cycled from UK through France and Switzerland to Italy (Sept 2010). 1000 miles.
This book fails to highlight how unsuitable Italy is for relaxed cycling on Tarmac.
The book helped us find the quiet canal path into The centre of Milan, but when we tried the routes in Tuscany we were shocked at how busy the routes were and how incredibly close vehicles pass...
Published on 28 Sep 2010 by JulesH


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction, 15 Oct 2011
This review is from: Lonely Planet Cycling Italy (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I don't usually review books but the previous reviews of this book are so unfair that I want to redress the balance.

This book is one of only two in English, which is a shame because Italy is such a great country for cycling holidays.

It presents a selection of routes in different parts of the country. If I have a criticism of the book it's that it southern and central Italy is not very well covered - there's no route in the Abruzzo for example even though it has three of Italy's national parks. But that said, no single book could cover the whole of a country. So the book should be treated as a selection of highlights.

The routes included in the book are well-chosen with different levels of difficulty. Choose any of the routes in the book and you will have a rewarding and enjoyable ride, on quiet roads. If you fancy touring in Italy but you don't know where to start this would be a great book to buy.

The routes in the book would I reckon take between three and five days - so if you are planning a longer tour you will need to do some additional research/planning of your own but the routes in this book provide an excellent basis to build on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't expect quiet roads or safe drivers., 28 Sep 2010
This review is from: Lonely Planet Cycling Italy (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Just cycled from UK through France and Switzerland to Italy (Sept 2010). 1000 miles.
This book fails to highlight how unsuitable Italy is for relaxed cycling on Tarmac.
The book helped us find the quiet canal path into The centre of Milan, but when we tried the routes in Tuscany we were shocked at how busy the routes were and how incredibly close vehicles pass you. So much so that after trying different locations over the course of a week we decided to leave Italy.

To be fair to the Author she has tried to make the best of a poor situation... Because many of the little roads you find in UK and France are just dirt tracks (unsuited to road bikes) in Italy this means you end up having to use roads that are busy.

My advice is think hard before buying this book and travelling to Italy to do road riding unless you are well accustomed to traffic coming stunningly close to you as you ride along, or unless you are part of a group that can bunch up peloton style and get some safely that way.

We were riding in late September, so outside of peak season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not very good, 6 Oct 2011
This review is from: Lonely Planet Cycling Italy (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
The guide is showing some of the popular rides across italy, you can find these everywhere on the internet.
It lacks to describe longer rides (1 week +), that are interesting for many of the buyers who want to have A to b ride descriptions these days. The reader still needs to make the plan by puzzling all small rides together. This book is not made for the real trekking biker, but more for the so called 'I take my bike with me on holiday' - biker. The maps are not very detailed, the descriptions not extensive. It lacks to describe bike roads across the Appenijnen mountains, the most spread out mountain range across Italy. Disappointing book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Cycling Italy (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet Cycling Italy (Travel Guide) by Thalheimer (Paperback - 1 July 2009)
Used & New from: £22.61
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews