Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lonely Planet Sardinia - spot on!
Like the person who commented on mariek's review, I too have experience of Sardinia from living here and I too think the guide is spot-on. Other Sardinia travel guidebooks tell you need a guide-person to accompany you to the Gorroppu gorge. The authors of this guide, on the other hand, actually describe accurately two not-difficult walks to this beautiful place, which is...
Published on 22 Feb 2012 by Peter

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but not great
The book seem to have only a handful of useful info (such an overview of the island), but all together I found that lodging info, restaurant info, activities info was quite limited and not that very helpful.
Published on 14 Feb 2012 by mariek


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Handy size, 20 Aug 2013
By 
Mrs. Patricia Howard (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Sardinia (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Very informative and helpful. Gave good information about places to visit and what to expect. Made my visit more enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic source of information!, 12 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Sardinia (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
We took this on our trip and were reading it every night to plan the next day's activities! Excellent source of information that you will not find on your own. Definitely recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars decent, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Sardinia (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
It's not bad, but could be better in terms of places to eat and go out as there are much more alternatives than described there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Detailed information, 8 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Sardinia (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
For someone not knowing anything about Sardinia this is excellent. It covers the whole island with very interesting places to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Dont bother with lonely planet, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Sardinia (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
There are others to choose from that will give a far less opinionated version of the country in question. Whats happened to the balanced honest approach as well as choice. Book was a waste of money and new layout too fiddly. The old style was much better. This will be my last LP purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous guide to a really beautiful island, 21 Nov 2012
This review is from: Lonely Planet Sardinia (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
We used this Lonely Planet guide on a recent trip to Sardinia and really loved some of the suggestions for longer walks in the hills and hidden beaches, which we wouldn't have found otherwise. The way accommodation is given separately is a bit confusing, but it is OK when you get the hang of it. Overall we had a great time at some of the agriturismos and restaurants recommended. The tips were helpful on what can be a pretty expensive island.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Unreliable and badly designed, 14 Nov 2012
This review is from: Lonely Planet Sardinia (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
As seasoned travellers and trusting Lonely Planet, we relied on this guide for a recent visit to Sardinia. It led us completely astray and proved to be unreliable, badly organised, with in some cases bizarre recommendations of places to stay and significant inaccuracies. I would advise anyone to look for a better guide. Hopefully Lonely Planet will also reconsider this new design, which highlights trivia, hides important information in different sections that truly belong together, and crucially, leaves out the maps required! Altogether, a bad buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Could have more, 12 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Sardinia (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
It is rather extensive for a small island but the island lot's of other stuff that are not included in the guide. I could use more informatino on restaurants and beaches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars highly recommended, 23 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Sardinia (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I found this book very helpful and would recommend it to anyone travelling to Sardinia. Recommendations of particular restaurants should be taken with a pinch of salt though, because they don't always match up to expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great but getting out of date, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Sardinia (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I always love lonely planet guides.
Some restaurants did not exist anymore. It is a good thing that there is a new version coming
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Sardinia (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet Sardinia (Travel Guide) by Vesna Maric (Paperback - 13 Jan 2012)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews