Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent very readable guide
An excellent very readable guide. Thank you.
Not very happy with the Michelin sheet map of the of Baltic States that I purchased, it's wildly out of date. I purchased the Map to compliment the guide so as to plan my travel itinerary.Many thanks as always. John Clarey.
PS Whilst crossing the channel on the Hull/ Zeebrugge ferry I happened to see the Michelin...
Published 21 days ago by mr j.c.clarey

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jumbled and overhyped but at least some of the writing is good
This review is based mainly on the sections covering the cities of Vilnius and Riga.

The maps of both Riga and Vilnius are quite difficult to read, inaccurate, and not very useful. Even the "walking tour" is a jarring mess making the reader jump around the whole chapter trying to get some context. Moreover, the route passes right by some of the "Top Sights"...
Published 12 months ago by Nathan Tift


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jumbled and overhyped but at least some of the writing is good, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Estonia, Latvia & Lithuania (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This review is based mainly on the sections covering the cities of Vilnius and Riga.

The maps of both Riga and Vilnius are quite difficult to read, inaccurate, and not very useful. Even the "walking tour" is a jarring mess making the reader jump around the whole chapter trying to get some context. Moreover, the route passes right by some of the "Top Sights" mentioned elsewhere but fails to point this out or even mark them on the map! It feels like following someone's poor directions to their house.

Despite an overall lack of flow, the book is actually well-written, if prone to hyperbole. (e.g. "Visiting Riga without seeing the Central Market is like going to Paris and not stopping by the Louvre.") There is certainly a tendency by the authors to generally overhype yet fail to provide specific discerning advice about what are essentially mediocre European tourist capitals (Riga and Vilnius).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent very readable guide, 7 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Estonia, Latvia & Lithuania (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
An excellent very readable guide. Thank you.
Not very happy with the Michelin sheet map of the of Baltic States that I purchased, it's wildly out of date. I purchased the Map to compliment the guide so as to plan my travel itinerary.Many thanks as always. John Clarey.
PS Whilst crossing the channel on the Hull/ Zeebrugge ferry I happened to see the Michelin sheet map Number 705 Europe which covers the Baltic Stat.es and is right upto date
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very detailed guide., 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Estonia, Latvia & Lithuania (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I found very useful information in this guide, as it is detailed in every aspect useful for a turist.
I especially appreciated the information regarding the public trasportation, which made easier the search of attractions which were not located in the center of the towns.
The only disadvantage was that the prices of restaurants anf museums were higher than reported.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still usefully up-to-date, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Estonia, Latvia & Lithuania (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I found the background useful and the descriptions of towns and how to move around good. I use other sources nowadays for restaurant info so the fact that this is not the latest edition doesn't matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars L.P. Estonia, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Estonia, Latvia & Lithuania (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Didn't visit Latvia and Lithuania yet but Estonia part was very informative.
Tallin a place to visit, but 3-4 days is enough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good guide but beware of the maps, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Estonia, Latvia & Lithuania (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I often use Lonely Planet guides when traveling and I find them very useful and usually accurate. however this guide to Estonia, Latvia & Lithuania is very good except for the maps for Riga, Latvia, they are terrible. Many of the locations on the maps for sight seeing were completely in the wrong locations on the actual ground. I have used maps my entire career and know when a map is inaccurate, and unfortunately the Riga maps were very inaccurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars No the best of Lonely Planet guides, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Estonia, Latvia & Lithuania (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I was a bit dissaointed about this guied. IMHO not the usual standard to be expected from LP. Too many informations on villages and towns which had almost no interest at all. Some recommendationes were a bit 'soft'. Few indications on what is really interesting and what's not
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The travel guide provides all the basic information you need when visiting the 3 Baltic countries. I like the one day trip information to Helsinki as well.
Kindle version is inconvenient to use in the field. The next time I would buy the paper version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful book!, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Estonia, Latvia & Lithuania (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
It has all you need to know about the 3 countries, and very useful mini-guides on day trips to Helsinki and St-Petersburg. Loved using it during my trip to the Baltic countries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 13 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Estonia, Latvia & Lithuania (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
We visited few restaurants mentioned in book;not in business any more. Maps not very clear. Hardly used the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Estonia, Latvia & Lithuania (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet Estonia, Latvia & Lithuania (Travel Guide) by Andy Symington (Paperback - 15 Jun 2012)
£12.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews