Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars16
3.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 July 2011
Its great to know the many little places in UK but it is too brief. Not as much info and details provided as I would have liked. Nevertheless it is compact and useful for visitors.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2012
I love owning this book! I've lived in the North of England since birth and am always disappointed that I've visited more of Australia and the USA than I have of my own country. It's great to have on your shelf so that if you happen to be going somewhere, perhaps for an interview, a concert or to visit a friend, you can plan visits to interesting places along the way and in the area. I think that everyone who lives in Britain and has an interest in seeing more of the country could do worse than picking up a copy to keep as a reference.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2011
The new format is an improvement on what was already very effective setting out. The use of colour helps you find key info quickly. This is typical Lonely Planet- a great overview with lots of detail on less famous places and very helpful for planning. The tips pages at the front and also at the start of each chapter in areas like hiking or interest spots is new and I liked it as it gave me some good ideas.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
I bought this book because I spend quite a few of my holidays in my home country, and I wanted more information about places that I haven't yet visited. This book, despite it's huge size, doesn't have quite the level of detail I was hoping for: the sections covering popular tourist areas eg London, the national parks etc are detailed and quite helpful, but whole counties are sometimes written off with just a short paragraph. Also, I was slightly disappointed that most of the listings for accommodation are expensive hotels and B&Bs, with not much coverage of youth hostels, and the same problem with listings for places to eat. It's a great book to dip into for a quick overview, and I love the coloured section at the beginning which gives highlights of Great Britain, but it's definitely not detailed enough to be the only resource you use to plan a trip.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2012
I guess I should have expected that a single book would offer poor info about the whole of GB. Might be time to stop paying out for these guides and stumping up for the data roaming charges and having everything at your finger tips.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
You cannot really beat the Lonely Planet guides when it comes to describing tourist sites in a country. Comprehensive, detailed and easy to use time and time again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2011
I am a huge fan of lonely planet. But this book is really disappointing. It lacks the depth and research of some of the others. The chapters lack the depth and those little nuggets around the areas. Not enough about things to do, places to stay. It should stick to more exotic regions. May be they didn't employ the tourists to write this book - probably they needed people from the exotic locations such as Africa, China, India or South America to write this book.

Or it could be because UK is too big to be covered by one single edition. I doubt the second reason though
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2012
Great book for doing trips around the UK. Planned several weekend trips already in Scotland, Wales and England. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2011
A really concise, informative book. Having looked at other publications, I decided this one is for me. The only dissapointing area is that there is not enough info regarding accessibility for disabled
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2011
I've never been disappointed with the Lonely Planet books and this one once again gives me everything I hope to find. It's a great companion for a trip anywhere in Britain and provides up-to-date information on hotels, restaurants and places of interest. The clearly presented maps are also very useful. If you like travelling in Britain, I also highly recommend you consider getting "Notes From A Small Island" by Bill Bryson. It's a fun read and a witty look at life here from the point of view of an American.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)