Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful guide, didn't put it down!
I struggled to find any books about Montenegro and this looked the most comprehensive. It was really helpful and provided lots of ideas and advice on places to visit. It is clearly split in to different regions, and includes things like the top beaches to visit. There is also info on culture, restaurant advice, maps (though not overly detailed), how to get there, car hire...
Published on 1 Aug 2011 by Rach

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Montenegro guide for self guided tour
Having purchased many 'Lonely Planet' guides before, I found this book rather disappointing, the language irritating at times eg. 'annoy the s*** out of other tourists' , 'in poor nick' etc. There is a good general section on Montenegro's culture, history etc, but individual places are described superficially with too much information on where to eat or sleep - which is...
Published 16 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful guide, didn't put it down!, 1 Aug 2011
This review is from: Montenegro (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
I struggled to find any books about Montenegro and this looked the most comprehensive. It was really helpful and provided lots of ideas and advice on places to visit. It is clearly split in to different regions, and includes things like the top beaches to visit. There is also info on culture, restaurant advice, maps (though not overly detailed), how to get there, car hire etc. I didn't know anything about Montenegro before my trip but combined with a visit and this book I now feel like an expert! Would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Montenegro guide for self guided tour, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Montenegro (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
Having purchased many 'Lonely Planet' guides before, I found this book rather disappointing, the language irritating at times eg. 'annoy the s*** out of other tourists' , 'in poor nick' etc. There is a good general section on Montenegro's culture, history etc, but individual places are described superficially with too much information on where to eat or sleep - which is not necessary if one has booked a tour. However, if you are a backpacker and independent traveller like my son, I am sure it will be helpful. I found a better, more detailed and cheaper guide book in Montenegro itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Irritating style many omissions and errors, 5 July 2010
This review is from: Montenegro (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
This is a very poor guide and I would not recommend its purchase.

1. Of 86 pages of details of places, 7 are devoted to Dubrovnik which is not in Montenegro. If Dubrovnik is to be included, why exclude Cavtat?
2. The style is irritating with too frequent references to unhealthy food options in Montenegro. During a recent visit, I saw no obese Montenegrins and despite large portions of meat featuring on menus they eat lots of fresh fruit.
I thought the sentence "I normally hate 4WD drivers, but I freaking love these ones" (p148) inappropriate and the sentence "Listen up, me hearties, to a swashbuckling tale...." rather condescending.
3. The book is riddled with errors: the date on the clock tower at Stari Bar is 1752, not 1753 (p 114), the Tara bridge is 23km East not West of Zabljak (p 145), the phone number of the British Embassy is incorrect (p 159), the phone number of the accommodation at Rijeka Crnojevica (p 127) is 067479440 not 067478440 - no wonder the owner of the latter phone number was irritated with receiving meaningless phone calls from people wanting accommodation.
4. The colour pictures between pages 53 and 60 don't match the captions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Montenegro, 15 Jun 2009
This review is from: Montenegro (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
Just returned from a trip to Montenegro via Dubrovnik airport.
Guide generally good. Stayed at Becici end of Budva and although there is massive development ongoing, we did not find any traffic problems.
Where we did find a problem is with developers cutting off minor roads and walking paths, eg. from Budva to Becici and from the monastery North of Petrovac into Petrovac.
The guide could do with more specific information on buses from the main airports, eg. how to travel by bus from Dubrovnik into Montenegro.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Montenegro (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
Well worth the money to invest in a Lonely Planet guide before a planned trip. Try to read it before you go though, you don't want to explore the country via these pages when you can do so in person. Great to get you geared up for a holiday to Montenegro.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tourist going to the BEAUTIFUL country of Montenegro for the first time,is a MUST!, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Montenegro (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
We used this book a great deal on our trip to Montenegro.If you haven't been,GO!!!It's a BEAUTIFUL country!The book is very easy to carry around with you,has loads of information and really enhances the enjoyment of your holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Montenegro (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
Lonely Planet Guides never cease to enlighten & this one is no exception. I now have a small library of LPCG`s all of an excellent standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, lots of info., 27 Sep 2010
This review is from: Montenegro (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
This book is really good and very informative. I would have liked some more pics of Montenegro but guess that's not really what Lonely Planets are about. As always there is heaps of info and it also has a section on Dubrovnik which is uselful as most people will probably fly into the airport there. Would recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Montenegro (Lonely Planet Country Guides)
Montenegro (Lonely Planet Country Guides) by Peter Dragicevic (Paperback - 1 April 2009)
Used & New from: £2.20
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews