Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Travel Guide
Too bad I did not have a copy of Lonely Planet's "Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks" by Bradley Mayhew and Carolyn McCarthy when my husband and I visited a few years ago. I loved the color pictures and descriptions of the top 20 best places to visit in Yellowstone and the Grand Teton National Parks. Highlights include: Wildlife-spotting in the Lamar Valley...
Published 22 months ago by Niki Collins-queen, Author

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor layout - but plenty of information
I ordered this and one and another guide to compare before deciding to send this one back. There was very between the two as far as information and content is concerned; it was layout of this one that put me off. The pages are split into narrow columns (can't remember now but it was either 3 or 4) which break the flow when reading; you only get about 3 or four words on...
Published 23 months ago by Sharon Shinwell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Travel Guide, 16 Jun 2012
By 
Niki Collins-queen, Author "author" (Forsyth, Georgia USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet Yellowstone & Grand Teton National Parks (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Too bad I did not have a copy of Lonely Planet's "Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks" by Bradley Mayhew and Carolyn McCarthy when my husband and I visited a few years ago. I loved the color pictures and descriptions of the top 20 best places to visit in Yellowstone and the Grand Teton National Parks. Highlights include: Wildlife-spotting in the Lamar Valley. Because the valley is home to the densest collection of animals it's also known as the Serengeti of North America. Old Faithful and Upper Geyser Basin, The Teton's Alpine lakes, the Grand Canyon of Yellowstone, Grand Prismatic Spring, the largest, deepest and most beautiful spring in the park. (Best seen from above), Bechler Basin's spectacular collection of waterfalls, Mammoth Terraces and Norris Geyser Basin that has the hottest, most active and tallest geyser in the park.
To make planning a trip simpler the book has included great maps and itineraries and routes to suite every time-frame. To help understand Yellowstone and the Grand Teton's there are chapters about best hikes, places to eat and stay and when to go. Also sections about the history, geology, wildlife, conservation, parks today, a survival guide, transportation, health, safety, clothing and equipment.
I found the maps, charts and comprehensive planning tools easy-to-use. The sections about the month by month activities and the travel with children and pets are also helpful.
Bradley Mayhew's quote sums up my feelings, "There 's nowhere in the world quite like Greater Yellowstone. From its raging geysers to howling wolf packs, the land stands alone as one last pocket of a wild, primeval America."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lonely Planet remains true to its origins: the guide for backpackers..., 26 Mar 2012
By 
John P. Jones III (Albuquerque, NM, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet Yellowstone & Grand Teton National Parks (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This is another one of their superlative guides. It is light on pictures of the National Parks (but you've seen them elsewhere, and intend to take your own anyhow, right?), but packed full of useful information. The book is in a convenient 7 " by 5" format that will easily fit in the side pocket of your "cargo" pants; an indispensable companion as you hike.

The guide commences with the top 20 experiences in the area, some of which you probably had not envisioned (like the Museum of the Rockies, in nearby Bozeman, MT). This is followed by the nitty-gritty details in "need to know" sections: dates, weather, accommodations, pricing, et. al. In terms of activities, there are sections on hiking, cycling, horseback riding, rafting, canoeing, fishing, and for the winter, cross-country skiing, snowshoeing and snowmobiling. There are also sections on how to travel with children and pets.

So many hikes, so little time! There are numerous detailed descriptions of more hikes than one can do in a full season, divided into day and overnight hikes. There are also detailed descriptions of all the "sights" one can reach via an automobile. Numerous useful maps, appropriately placed throughout the book, are provided. The other activities are also covered, perhaps in lesser detail. Each national park in the title is covered separately, in the same format sequence. There are also sections on the towns near the parks, such as Jackson Hole.

Towards the end of the guide there is a 30 page section on the role and history of our national parks. "Loved to Death" is an apt subtitle. Fittingly, the authors cite Edward Abbey's expression, "industrial tourism," since the parks receive 30,000 or so visitors on peak days. It does enhance the appeal of the "off season."

The guide concludes with a section with the infelicitous title: "survival guide." In general, one shouldn't just be "surviving," but enjoying, even being "enthralled." "Precautions" might be a better title. Only for the brief section on pepper spray and bears might the term "survival" be truly appropriate. One should also pay heed to precautions concerning giardia, and certainly cyclists need to be extra alert on the narrow park roads to cars, and the ubiquitous mobile homes, with their far-reaching mirrors. Appropriate layered clothing and sturdy footwear is also essential.

Kudos to Lonely Planet, and the authors Mayhew and McCarthy for another excellent guide. As their advertising blurb in the back says, since the first Lonely Planet guide, the original overland through Asia guide of 1972, over 100 million guides have been sold. In terms of improvements, there could be a more extensive bibliography section. I saw only four books mentioned as a footnote. It is another 5-star effort. And, a destination, for sure, this summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As always excellent, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Yellowstone & Grand Teton National Parks (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
An excellent book, which shows so many additional places to visit - would not be without this type of book when planning a trip.
You obviously have to work at it, but it is sectioned so well that you only need to read the area's that you are visiting.
Delivery was very quick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect guide, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Yellowstone & Grand Teton National Parks (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Thoroughly recommend for anyone travelling to the Yellowstone area. It has lots of suggested daily itineraries which are well worth following.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview of Yellowstone area, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Yellowstone & Grand Teton National Parks (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Planning our trip to Yellowstone is so much easier after receiving this book. Especially since we are about travel at the high season. Good tips for practically everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor layout - but plenty of information, 17 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Yellowstone & Grand Teton National Parks (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I ordered this and one and another guide to compare before deciding to send this one back. There was very between the two as far as information and content is concerned; it was layout of this one that put me off. The pages are split into narrow columns (can't remember now but it was either 3 or 4) which break the flow when reading; you only get about 3 or four words on each line, of which the end word is usually hyphenated to make it "justified". This layout for me was irritating, as I found I kept losing my place! Other than that, as I say, there isn't much between this and the Rough Guide, which I kept. I haven't been on our trip yet, so don't know if either are up to date with the prices of food etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb51e2f60)

This product

Lonely Planet Yellowstone & Grand Teton National Parks (Travel Guide)
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews