Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars A useful guide
Whilst this might not be the choice for specialist holidays in Poland it covers all the basic very well. It's easy on the eye to read. Its like the rest of these guides. It does all the basics very well.
Published 11 months ago by Dr M. C. Norton

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Basic overview but details innacurate
This guide book provides a good basic overview of the country. However, the descriptions of the cities I visited were in most cases innacurate. The book tended to oversell places, which turned out to be disappointing. A more discerning/realistic writing style would have been more useful.
Published on 24 May 2012 by Anonymous


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Basic overview but details innacurate, 24 May 2012
This review is from: Lonely Planet Poland (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This guide book provides a good basic overview of the country. However, the descriptions of the cities I visited were in most cases innacurate. The book tended to oversell places, which turned out to be disappointing. A more discerning/realistic writing style would have been more useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Little on Tatra hiking, 15 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Poland (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I bought this edition particularly because it highlights the "Special section on hiking in the Tatra Mountain". Sadly this is a half page box which, in a 450 page book, is hardly a special section! Do not buy this book for this section.

The rest may well be fine. However, if arriving on a cruise you are likely to land in Gdynia and this gets barely a mention and there is no description of how to get to Gdansk from here (which is easy - take the train).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I'd hoped, 29 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Poland (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This book is OK- you're better off with it than without it, but I have seen much better guidebooks. The maps are confusing to read and have slight inaccuracies- in every city, the free maps from the tourist information were better. The book is also overenthusiastic about everything, so you can't really pick out what are the most important things to see. Also most of the restaurants and hotels reviewed in the book are quite expensive compared to what is available in Poland. Nine times out of ten, I found a good quality restaurant, hotel, or room for much cheaper than what was listed in the guide. Also I bought this book specifically because of the section about hiking in the Tatras, but it didn't have much detail. Generally, this book is not awful but I was disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but the internet has more information, 12 May 2014
By 
Colin Jenkins (Tomaszow Mazowiecki, Poland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Poland (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I thought the earlier editions had more information, I expected more hotel reviews, and a lot of places I was planning to visit didn't get a mention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A useful guide, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Poland (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Whilst this might not be the choice for specialist holidays in Poland it covers all the basic very well. It's easy on the eye to read. Its like the rest of these guides. It does all the basics very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A excellent guide full of interesting facts about the country, 5 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. Bernard E. Mcguire "Bold Bear" (Berkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Poland (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
A excellent guide full of interesting facts about the country, it certainly made the trip to Poland far more interesting and enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Poland (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet Poland (Travel Guide) by Tim Richards (Paperback - 13 April 2012)
11.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews