Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good guidebook
A great guide from Lonely Planet - clear, comprehensive, portable, with colour pictures and plenty of useful practical information. I tried a number of guidebooks but found this one provided the best coverage of the entire region, with enough information on the smaller towns as well as the big cities. It has all the features readers expect from Lonely Planet, including...
Published on 30 May 2009 by BookWorm

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lonely Planet, New England
The Lonely Planet publications seem to have deteriorated over the years.

Maybe it is because of competition by Trip Advisor, but the accommodation recommendations are inadequate in both number of locations and details of them. LP failed to assist in finding hotels in any area I visited.

The maps in this book are not particularly helpful, as the...
Published on 7 Nov. 2011 by Bazza


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good guidebook, 30 May 2009
By 
BookWorm "BookWorm" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
A great guide from Lonely Planet - clear, comprehensive, portable, with colour pictures and plenty of useful practical information. I tried a number of guidebooks but found this one provided the best coverage of the entire region, with enough information on the smaller towns as well as the big cities. It has all the features readers expect from Lonely Planet, including reliable information on transport, accommodation, sights, activities, restaurants, health, and dangers. Given the size and content of the area it covers, it is very reasonably sized and can be carried around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lonely Planet, New England, 7 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet New England (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
The Lonely Planet publications seem to have deteriorated over the years.

Maybe it is because of competition by Trip Advisor, but the accommodation recommendations are inadequate in both number of locations and details of them. LP failed to assist in finding hotels in any area I visited.

The maps in this book are not particularly helpful, as the scales seem either too big (covering an insufficient area) or too small (insufficient detail). In particular, few maps display all the hotels, restaurants and important locations, or even all the major road names. Then the small-area large-scale maps are presented almost at random, with no indication where they fit together. Boston was particularly frustrating as it was impossible to see where the maps referred to, and there was no plan of the metro, or anything about parking arrangements. What is needed at the start of each section is a map covering the full area, with the page numbers of where to find the large scale maps.

Worst of all, the overall layout has changed and it has become very difficult to find useful information, such as public or private transport, outlines of tourist spots to visit, and the background to the areas that were once so valuable to the traveller.

Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 4 Aug. 2010
By 
A. E. Finn (Reading) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you travel a lot, you ar probably used to the format of the lonely planet books.
This book gives you the information you need to plan your trip and to enjoy your trip. It lets you know the places to eat, sleep and visit for towns up and down New England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everything I expected from a Lonely Planet Guide, 17 April 2012
By 
Valerie Ann Weston (Terrassa Sapin) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet New England (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I looked through the selection of guides on New England, a couple looked interesting but in the end it came down to Lonely Planet - I know I'll get great information. We've already thumbed through the guide lots of times and it's still 4 months before we make the trip. This guide has given me lots of information, helped plan the route and whet the appetite for a great trip. It also looks good on the bookshelf along with other Lonely planet guides collected over nearly 20 years. Keep up the good work Lonely Planet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for backpackers, 4 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
As a single female traveller travelling around New England, I found this book an absolut must have. I followed the books recomendations about places to stay and things to do. With out it who knows where I would have ended up! I looked after this book as if it was my passport.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Preparation is everything., 10 Feb. 2012
By 
Ian Seddon (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet New England (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
The Lonely Planet guide really helped us with the basic planning for our vacation. We were able to decide where we were going to go and what we could expect. When we took the vacation it was an invaluable travelling companion, helping us every step of the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What you have come to expect from Lonely Planet, 3 Aug. 2013
By 
Nigel Lawrence (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet New England (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
A comprehensive guide. As usual with this series too much emphasis on "quirky" eating & drinking places, high activity sport and not enough about enjoying the scenery, towns etc.
Maps are too small and to large a scale to be of much use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Guy-de, 18 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet New England (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This is an excellent guide and got me round the area very well.

Boston maps were not too hot, no map showing both subways and roads - difficult to locate stations.

Other than that - fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what we wanted, 17 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet New England (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
We had borrowed from the library and knew it was what we wanted. It arrrived in the time frame advertised
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet New England (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet New England (Travel Guide) by Sieg (Paperback - 18 Mar. 2011)
Used & New from: £1.73
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews