Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Guide for a lesser known country
I did not have much luck finding a country guide covering travelling in Mongolia and was pleased to obtain this up-to-date (2011) edition of the Lonely Planet Guide. Gives a good insight on a country that is still hardly known to outsiders and will be useful to me as I plan to go on a trekking trip this year (2012).Maps included of major cities and tourist areas, nature...
Published on 18 Feb. 2012 by Leili

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars but I was a bit disappointed in this book
I can't be too picky, as this is apparently the only guidebook to Mongolia in the market, but I was a bit disappointed in this book. The main reason is that it really doesn't help you to actually plan a trip through Mongolia. It has some nice-ish stuff to say about most places, but it gives no sense of what are the great highlights not to be missed, in which order and...
Published 9 months ago by Thiago Reis Mefano


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Guide for a lesser known country, 18 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Lonely Planet Mongolia (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I did not have much luck finding a country guide covering travelling in Mongolia and was pleased to obtain this up-to-date (2011) edition of the Lonely Planet Guide. Gives a good insight on a country that is still hardly known to outsiders and will be useful to me as I plan to go on a trekking trip this year (2012).Maps included of major cities and tourist areas, nature parks etc, listings of hotels/campsites to stay at which you would be hard-put to find through travel agents and a good book outlining the nature of the Mongollian nation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars but I was a bit disappointed in this book, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Mongolia (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I can't be too picky, as this is apparently the only guidebook to Mongolia in the market, but I was a bit disappointed in this book. The main reason is that it really doesn't help you to actually plan a trip through Mongolia. It has some nice-ish stuff to say about most places, but it gives no sense of what are the great highlights not to be missed, in which order and priority to see them, etc. And with a country that big and that hard to navigate, this information is greatly missed. I ended up deciding on my destinations by asking a bunch of tour compaies what kind of tours they offered and just assuming that if some place was offered by most tour companies, it should be a good place to visit.

The book itself also has some contradictory information. the Terelj national park is described as a bit of a turist trap in the book's introduction, but it is later described as great a beautiful place it the section dedicated to it later in the book. .

The information on UB is good, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars out of date, 23 April 2014
By 
T. Mullan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Mongolia (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I'm not sure when Lonely Planet last visited Mongolia but it surely wasn't this side of 2010. Ulaanbaatar has changed drastically in the intervening time, resistants have closed, hostels have gone bad, Prices have gone up considerably. Honestly, you're better off with Trip Advisor for UB and a map for the rest of the country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mongolia, 29 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Mongolia (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I found the articles very interesting and a helpful and unbiased guide even though I was on an escorted tour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lonely planets Mongolia, 26 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Lonely Planet Mongolia (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
New lay out took a little getting used to but much preffer it now. Proof will be when i get there but at this stage it would seem an excellent guide
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Mongolia (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Good value for money, very pleased with product and service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Mongolia (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
a must before visiting country
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book on mongolia, 26 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Mongolia (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Excellent book on mongolia found it very informative for my trip next year. Will look forward to reading it comepletye
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good, 3 May 2013
By 
Toni Taylor-Munn "toni" (u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Mongolia (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
all good 28 words or more x v b b n h g f d s a r ew qo p l
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Mongolia (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet Mongolia (Travel Guide) by Dean Starnes (Paperback - 23 July 2011)
£16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews